lost my root when i installed 2.2 leak. is there anyway to downgrade to 2.1 that is simple?


Last Updated:

  1. incrediblenotinstock

    incrediblenotinstock Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 31, 2010
    Messages:
    396
    Likes Received:
    18
    i want to be able to do wireless tether but for some reason when i installed 2.2 leak i cant do things that i usually do with root. i need a way to downgrade back to 2.1 easily
     

    Advertisement
  2. D13

    D13 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2010
    Messages:
    2,088
    Likes Received:
    234
  3. incrediblenotinstock

    incrediblenotinstock Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 31, 2010
    Messages:
    396
    Likes Received:
    18
    thank you :) is it easy?
     
  4. D13

    D13 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2010
    Messages:
    2,088
    Likes Received:
    234
    yeah I just walked someone through it. Its not that much different than rooting the X on 2.1
     
    incrediblenotinstock likes this.
  5. incrediblenotinstock

    incrediblenotinstock Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 31, 2010
    Messages:
    396
    Likes Received:
    18
    I used to 1 click root for 2.1 because im stupid and dont know how to use command prompt. Think you could gimme a walkthrough?
     
  6. D13

    D13 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2010
    Messages:
    2,088
    Likes Received:
    234
    uh yeah
    turn off debugging on your phone then plug it in and put it in media sync mode when its done installing the drivers turn on debugging and let it install the drivers again
     
  7. incrediblenotinstock

    incrediblenotinstock Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 31, 2010
    Messages:
    396
    Likes Received:
    18
    alrightt done
     
  8. D13

    D13 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2010
    Messages:
    2,088
    Likes Received:
    234
    download the sdk
    here and put the tools folder from it on your desktop
     
  9. incrediblenotinstock

    incrediblenotinstock Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 31, 2010
    Messages:
    396
    Likes Received:
    18
    alright gotcha sorry for being a hassle btw
     
  10. D13

    D13 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2010
    Messages:
    2,088
    Likes Received:
    234
    open up a cmd and do
    "cd location"
    where location is where you paste the address of your tools folder, mine is like

    cd C:\Users\Jeff\Desktop\tools

    and then press enter and then do "adb devices" enter and what happens
     
  11. incrediblenotinstock

    incrediblenotinstock Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 31, 2010
    Messages:
    396
    Likes Received:
    18
    you lost me :/
     
  12. D13

    D13 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2010
    Messages:
    2,088
    Likes Received:
    234
    open up the tools folder and copy the address bar

    open up a command prompt and do
    "cd pastehere" press enter
    then do
    "adb devices" enter
     
  13. incrediblenotinstock

    incrediblenotinstock Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 31, 2010
    Messages:
    396
    Likes Received:
    18
    it says the system cannot find the path specified
     
  14. D13

    D13 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2010
    Messages:
    2,088
    Likes Received:
    234
    if you put the tools folder on your desktop then do "cd location" then type "adb" what happens
     
  15. incrediblenotinstock

    incrediblenotinstock Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 31, 2010
    Messages:
    396
    Likes Received:
    18
    i have the tools folder on my desktop. what do you mean by cd location? type it in command prompt?cause when i do that it just says " the system cannot find the path specified "
     
  16. D13

    D13 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2010
    Messages:
    2,088
    Likes Received:
    234
    for me I do
    cd C:\Users\Jeff\Desktop\tools
     
  17. incrediblenotinstock

    incrediblenotinstock Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 31, 2010
    Messages:
    396
    Likes Received:
    18
    what does cd stand for? and when i type in C:\User\Marc\Desktop\tools, it says it is not a recognizable internal or external command
     
  18. D13

    D13 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2010
    Messages:
    2,088
    Likes Received:
    234
    change directory, you need to point it at the tools folder

    so do
    cd C:\User\Marc\Desktop\tools

    then
    adb devices
     
  19. incrediblenotinstock

    incrediblenotinstock Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 31, 2010
    Messages:
    396
    Likes Received:
    18
    the system cannot find the path specified =[
     
  20. D13

    D13 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2010
    Messages:
    2,088
    Likes Received:
    234
    are you copying and pasting the address bar from your tools folder
     
  21. incrediblenotinstock

    incrediblenotinstock Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 31, 2010
    Messages:
    396
    Likes Received:
    18
    hey i think i got it! is it supposed to say "list of devices attached" then a bunch of letters and numbers?
     
  22. D13

    D13 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2010
    Messages:
    2,088
    Likes Received:
    234
    yes you did it:D:D
    now take the contents of this file and put them all in the tools folder
    Here

    and then start doing these commands

    - adb push Superuser.apk /sdcard/Superuser.apk
    - adb push su /sdcard/su
    - adb push busybox /sdcard/busybox
    - adb push rageagainstthecage-arm5.bin /data/local/tmp/rageagainstthecage-arm5.bin
    - adb shell
    - cd data/local/tmp
    - chmod 0755 rageagainstthecage-arm5.bin
    - ./rageagainstthecage-arm5.bin
    - let the process run until it 'kicks' you out (may take a minute or two)
    - cd c:/wherever-your-sdk-tools-folder-is
    - adb devices (to verify the connection)
    - adb shell (you should now have a # prompt, if not return to ./rage step above)
    - mount -o rw,remount -t ext3 /dev/block/mmcblk1p21 /system
    - cp /sdcard/Superuser.apk /system/app/Superuser.apk
    - cp /sdcard/su /system/bin/su
    - cp /sdcard/busybox /system/bin/busybox
    - chmod 4755 /system/bin/su
    - chmod 4755 /system/bin/busybox
    - mount -o ro,remount -t ext3 /dev/block/mmcblk1p21 /system
    - exit
    - exit
     
    crentist likes this.
  23. incrediblenotinstock

    incrediblenotinstock Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 31, 2010
    Messages:
    396
    Likes Received:
    18
    so move droid2root.rar into my tools folder?
     
  24. D13

    D13 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2010
    Messages:
    2,088
    Likes Received:
    234
  25. incrediblenotinstock

    incrediblenotinstock Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 31, 2010
    Messages:
    396
    Likes Received:
    18
    it says windows cannot open the file.
     

Share This Page

Loading...