Lost Super User Permissions - Again


Last Updated:

  1. mslisaj

    mslisaj Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    Messages:
    367
    Likes Received:
    6
    I have been working on my phone and had to use my Nandroid Back Up to get going again. Phone is working fine now but my ChainsDD Super User program is not working now. I have run into this before I would just go to the market and uninstall it and then reinstall it and I would be up and running again. BUT this time it's not listed in my list of apps in the Market. I went to Settings>Applications and while it's listed, there is no provision there to uninstall it. So I went back to the market and was tried to install a fresh copy of it and I get a error message "Applications is not signed correctly" or something close to that.

    Any suggestions, without my SU working I can't use my root explorer and other programs...........

    Help!
     

    Advertisement
  2. DonB

    DonB ♡ Spidey Sense !! ♡ ™ Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,274
    Likes Received:
    7,880
    Try installing it from here, Superuser - Android app on AppBrain Make sure you put your nandropid back up on your PC i case of an issue, and if you need to uninstyall it use this, Uninstaller - Android app on AppBrain


     
  3. mslisaj

    mslisaj Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    Messages:
    367
    Likes Received:
    6
    Hi Don.........

    Thanks for the advice but no go. First I installed the uninstaller and it didn't see ChainDD SU on my phone either. I can activate the program so it's on the phone but it's corrupted some how and while it will come on it doesn't work so I couldn't use that uninstaller. Then I registered with AppBrain and tried downloading it from there and same thing as the market. So for now I have gone back to a Nandroid that I have from three weeks ago and when my memory gets low I just Nandroid back to my last back up and keep going. My phone is just weird. It's been a pain in the ass from the beginning. I'm afraid of everything now as the phone just chokes on everything. But I think I get A for effort. I can dump Cache Cleaner, Titanium Back up, My back up Pro and root explorer. All those programs have to have Root access and without SU they don't work so I will gain memory with those programs gone. Root was fun while I could use it but this phone makes my heart race when it coughs.

    So thanks for the ideas but Im just stuck.........

    Lisa
     
  4. DonB

    DonB ♡ Spidey Sense !! ♡ ™ Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,274
    Likes Received:
    7,880
    Sorry to hear that, if I think of anything else I will post here, also did you try to post over @ XDA, they may have others there that can help you, some very smart peeps over there as well as here


     
  5. MahaloCat

    MahaloCat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Messages:
    1,934
    Likes Received:
    460
    Well - If you are ever in Hawaii I would be happy to look at it...
    : (
     
  6. mslisaj

    mslisaj Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    Messages:
    367
    Likes Received:
    6
    Yes I have run all over XDA also. Got some ideas to use adb but I was there yesterday and couldn't really get adb to work. I was checking for apps2sd and couldn't "pull" the directories. I just can't make any of this work. I just don't want to screw the phone up where it won't work at all. I had it boot looping last night and was lucky to get out of that. So this is just a sick and wounded phone. But it was fun to play with while it lasted. Now I just need to nurse it along 'till I can upgrade or it finally dies. But it's a hopeless mess now............

    And if I ever get to Hawaii I'll bring it along.............

    Thanks guys........

    Lisa
     
  7. DonB

    DonB ♡ Spidey Sense !! ♡ ™ Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,274
    Likes Received:
    7,880
    Well since you have a Nandroid backup of your stock root, you may not want to here this, but why not flash the Sprint stock .6 build back on your phone, then use the one click universal root, and restore your rooted Rom and see what happens worth a try, you have back ups so won't hurt

    Or if ever your in Florida I can look at it also :)


     
  8. mslisaj

    mslisaj Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    Messages:
    367
    Likes Received:
    6
    Interesting idea but there is something really wrong with this phone. It's like it's loaded with registry errors. I know I'm talking about Windows but this phone is just sick. The only good thing about it is the Nandroid Back up and the fact I can still boot into that recovery mode. That is the only thing I have left. I'm scared to death to loose that and then I have lost everything. I'm thinking I could just do the sprint OTA update couldn't I? But then I would loose the root recovery access. Frankly I don't think this phone can handle it. I'm sure it would choke on the one click root method. I'm sorry to be so pessimistic when you guys are really trying to help me but NOTHING I have done with this phone was easy or worked the first time. I have battled every little thing with it. I have contacts with pictures, my calendar is here. My photos work, my weather widgets work and the phone is okay in that respect with basic funtions. It's not smooth and never has been smooth. I just made a bad choice with the rom. I picked a developer that abandoned it. I'm so heavily invested into this rom with time I hate to think that all I did will be lost. I'm just loosing a piece of it at a time.

    What I need to do is study the adb language. I used to be able to work with DOS years ago and windows just spoiled us all. If there is any salvaging this mess the secrete lies in the adb. I guess you don't need root if you can do adb do you? But I need to really understand what's going on with this phone. I have flashed this and that and this is where that got me. It's just not as easy as you guys make it sound. I don't know if you have ever had your phone lock up on your or get into a loop of force close and you can't get back to where you were to undo what you did but it's a hell of a feeling. You folks have always pulled me back from the edge but I have been following the directions on a sick phone and I'm afraid I have fallen off the edge this time.

    But Time will tell. I'm going to learn some adb. I'm going to research that language and see if I can make it work. If I could find that ChainDD Super User apk in the apps directory with adb and get rid of it at least I may get that working again. Never did get the apps2sd working either and that was the quest I started because my memory was going away. Its a viscous circle. So I'll just stand down on this for awhile and learn some adb and maybe then I'll get serious about becoming the master of this phone again. But for now it just makes me sick to pick it up...........

    Enjoy your weekend Don.........

    Lisa
     
  9. DonB

    DonB ♡ Spidey Sense !! ♡ ™ Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,274
    Likes Received:
    7,880
    Lisa, I am telling you that you are letting this get to you, like I mentioned you have nothing to loose if your done with the phone, you say you have a good Nandroid back up, store that on your PC, so you have zippo to loose, then get the official 2.1 >>>>>.6 build from HTC site, click HERE , then set your accounts all up, install all your programs, update your Profile and PRL, then download the Universal Androot one click V 1.6.1 APK to your desktop from HERE and put it on your SD card, then once your phone is all set up, then also download from the market Rom Manager, and also download Apps Installer HERE and make sure in menu/settings/applications that you check mark Unknown Sources, the apps installer will allow you to install the One click root APK easily without having to look for it. Now I would use the Universal One Click and root the phone, once done follow the whole process as showed in the You Tube posted below, then check your phone to make sure you have SU permission in your apps. Then click on the Rom Manager and give it a little time to open, then create a back up of your rooted stock ROM, now you can play with different ROMS, I am sure this will resolve your issue if something is missing on your phone by restoring your phone back to stock you will have all that is missing again. Also check my rooted post HERE there are 2 great links in there on how to Nandroid back up and flash ROMS.

    Guys if I missed anything chime in, lets get her phone back to where she can enjoy it again, I am sure this will work!!!!! Please give it a shot, do not be gun shy, you have nothing to loose again


    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QPB2itfpPqE
     
  10. mslisaj

    mslisaj Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    Messages:
    367
    Likes Received:
    6
    Dear DonB,
    I sent you a note this AM and I see it wasn't posted. At any rate you and Chromiumleaf from xda have really supported me to not give up. With your support I can get this job done. I am working this weekend and can't do it now but I am going to root and Rom again. I will figure out how to get my email address to and then I'm going to follow your instructions and go for it. With you guys behind me I'll get root access and a new and supported Rom.

    Thank you for your support.

    Sincerely.....

    Lisa
     
  11. andygu3

    andygu3 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2010
    Messages:
    4,699
    Likes Received:
    2,081
    Good luck!!!:D:D:D
     
  12. mslisaj

    mslisaj Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    Messages:
    367
    Likes Received:
    6
    Okay I just read everything and watched the video.........

    Looks way too simple and I can't wait to try it. Why not, I have you guys to support and I'm sure you want to hear it done.........

    I have a few questions before I get down to do it and I will send them off to you here so thanks for your help.........

    Lisa ;)
     
  13. DonB

    DonB ♡ Spidey Sense !! ♡ ™ Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,274
    Likes Received:
    7,880
    NP we are here for you, and say hi to Chromiumleaf for me he has help me a few times a while back, a good guy


     
  14. mslisaj

    mslisaj Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    Messages:
    367
    Likes Received:
    6
    I need a little clarification on your instructions from yesterday. The first thing I have to do is download and install the Sprint .6 Rom. When I click on the blue HERE that you have highlighted in your message I get a .exe file and my pc won't let me download it. Will a .exe file run on the Hero? If I click that link "here" though my Hero does that automatically open the door to the whole process?? I have checked out the other links and even downloaded them to my phone to look at the m but I haven't changed anything yet. I have to do the first thing first. So could you give me a little more detail on that first step?

    Thank you DonB........

    Lisa :confused:
     
  15. DonB

    DonB ♡ Spidey Sense !! ♡ ™ Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,274
    Likes Received:
    7,880
    Yes it is the .6 build for you phone it comes from the HTC website, you can get it from there website, you have to download that from your PC and then install it while your phone is hooked up to the PC, same way you upgraded from 1.5 to 2.1, here you go and download only the .6 build not the .7 one below it

    Installation instructions

    1. Download and install the HTC Sync software available here: HTC Mobile Phone Support - HTC Hero? (Sprint) - Downloads
    2. Download the update file for the HTC Hero available here: HTC Mobile Phone Support - HTC Hero? (Sprint) - Downloads
    3. Connect your HTC Hero to your PC using the supplied USB cable
      1. If the HTC Sync application appears on the screen of your PC, you may simply dismiss the wizard by pressing the Cancel button
    4. Run the RUU update file for the HTC Hero
    5. Follow the on-screen prompts to install the update for your HTC Hero

    WARNING: During the upgrade process, do not attempt to make/receive calls, press any buttons on your device or disconnect the device from the USB cable as this will stop the update and your device may be rendered inoperable!



     
  16. mslisaj

    mslisaj Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    Messages:
    367
    Likes Received:
    6
    Looking at there website I don't see a choice for the .6 I even get the impression that it may be the .7

    Okay, I think I get it. Download number one and NOT the update for that which is 2. Correct??


    No that's not right either....... Just looked at it again and the #1 is the updated sync software. The #2 is the actual update..............

    Couldn't I just do the one click root on what I have? The devil you know is better then the devil you don't know........... See, these are my issues, I read to much I guess. I can't even get out of the gate on this..............
     
  17. mslisaj

    mslisaj Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    Messages:
    367
    Likes Received:
    6
    I understand that you want to get me away from the defective Damage Control rom and get me into something good to fall back on but isn't the .7 the version that hasn't been "cracked" yet? Isn't Sprint/HTC constantly fighting the rooters with new versions? I hate sprints bloatware more then I hate the DC Rom at this point. Hugh.........................
     
  18. DonB

    DonB ♡ Spidey Sense !! ♡ ™ Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,274
    Likes Received:
    7,880
    You click on the first link, and look for this'

    HTC Hero (Sprint) 2.1 Software Update | 05.19.2010


    2.27.651.6

    WARNING: Installing this software will erase your current user data. Please see instructions below for details. more
    The software upgrade posted below provides several key enhancements for your HTC Hero:

    • Upgraded OS to Android 2.1
     
  19. DonB

    DonB ♡ Spidey Sense !! ♡ ™ Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,274
    Likes Received:
    7,880
    I think you need to take one thing at a time or you are going to be overwhelmed, simply load the .6 build that was released on May 19 2010 and bring you phone back to stock. when I gave you the link to HTC they have both files there, the last one is the .7 build which you do not want. If you still don't understand let me know, don't do anything unless you are certain. We will get you through this, once you get your phone back to stock you will be fine, trust me, but you need to do that first IMO
     
  20. mslisaj

    mslisaj Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    Messages:
    367
    Likes Received:
    6
    Okay I believe I got it now. I'll give it a go later this morning. I'll back up the sd to the pc and hopefully I can get the stock OS installed without a lot of drama. We'll either have success or tears.
    Wish me good luck.........

    Lisa
     
  21. mslisaj

    mslisaj Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    Messages:
    367
    Likes Received:
    6
    And yes one step at a time.
    I will follow the instructions to the letter.
    I do understand our goal and the steps to get there. That's why I ask so many questions first.
    Lisa
     
  22. DonB

    DonB ♡ Spidey Sense !! ♡ ™ Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,274
    Likes Received:
    7,880
  23. DonB

    DonB ♡ Spidey Sense !! ♡ ™ Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,274
    Likes Received:
    7,880
    NP, once you have the stock ROM back on you will be fine, I realized that the best is one step at a time, will avoid issues down the road, LOL


     
  24. mslisaj

    mslisaj Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    Messages:
    367
    Likes Received:
    6
    Okay, here I go. I have everything backed up and the files downloaded. I have the HTC sync latest software install on this computer and I have the .6 zip file. I'm going to follow your printed instructions as they seem to be the most straight forward...................

    I'll report back........ Wish me luck..

    Lisa :eek:
     
  25. mslisaj

    mslisaj Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    Messages:
    367
    Likes Received:
    6
    Well I'm sitting here with my hands shaking. It's amazing what this stuff does to me but here is where we are. It took all of maybe three minutes to install the software. Then it took maybe two minutes for it to reboot. But all this went smoothly. Right now I am working through the first screens where you set up the initial stuff. But it appears to be working fine. When I get the email stuff set up I will go into Settings>Phone> and check the information there. But I believe I have a new phone right now.

    I'll be setting stuff and putting some programs on it and if all goes well I'll be ready for phase II which is the one click root and a full back up of the phone at that point.............. But as you cautioned, one baby step at a time. I'll get the phone all worked out and set up and I'll check back in here before I start Phase II............

    All good so far............ :eek:

    Lisa
     

Share This Page

Loading...