Lousy coverage w/ HTC Eris


Rate your level of satisfaction with coverage on your Eris

  1. 1 = Very satisfied

    58.1%
  2. 2 = So-so

    19.4%
  3. 3= Not too satisfied

    12.9%
  4. 4 = Very dissatisfied

    9.7%

Last Updated:

  1. jmw3025

    jmw3025 Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    1
    In all respects but one, I love my new HTC Eris. Problem is poor coverage. I can be standing next to someone with a different Verizon phone & he can have 3 bars while I have zero or 1. I've been various places that should have great service (e.g. downtown Oakland or Berkeley) and have no coverage. At home, my wife's "plain Jane" Samsung has better service than my "smart" Eris! Anybody have any tips, suggestions, comments? Or do I just need to get a different phone?
     

    Advertisement
  2. ChiTownJim

    ChiTownJim Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    2,380
    Likes Received:
    286
    I have an Eris and a Blackberry Curve and the Eris always has better coverage
     
  3. Frisco

    Frisco =Luceat Lux Vestra= VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Messages:
    22,479
    Likes Received:
    9,225
    Same here.

    It's a great signal catcher, it appears.
     
  4. jmw3025

    jmw3025 Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    1
    Any idea, then, why mine sucks?
     
  5. Frisco

    Frisco =Luceat Lux Vestra= VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Messages:
    22,479
    Likes Received:
    9,225
    We see so many varying reports in here pointing out how terrible some hardware or software aspect of the Eris is, then how wonderful that same aspect of it is from another user's experience, that I am beginning to really question the quality control at the factories where they're made.
     
  6. nathanirwin311

    nathanirwin311 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    16
    Try *228 option 2 to update roaming.
     
  7. jreed2560

    jreed2560 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3,922
    Likes Received:
    439
    I've had two different Eris phones (both brand new out of the box) BOTH have been really crappy at holding on to a signal. I've stated before that I've had fewer than 10 dropped calls in the previous 5 years with Verizon. Since I've had my eris I've had atleast 50. I still love it tho! :D ;)
     
  8. ChiTownJim

    ChiTownJim Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    2,380
    Likes Received:
    286
    Wow really I haven't had one dropped call on my eris that I can remember , but I maybe get 1-2 dropped calls a year with Verizon and about the same with my Sprint phone
     
  9. 3devious

    3devious Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    1,362
    Likes Received:
    115
    I wish I knew. Years ago, my husband and I had the Kyocera SE45 slider and his got a great signal in our house but mine got a great signal everywhere BUT our house. When the counterfeit battery drama happened, I dumped that phone and got a Samsung Glyde.

    Sometimes, you just get a stinker. If you're within your 30 days, you might want to see what they can do for you.
     
  10. emerica243

    emerica243 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2010
    Messages:
    199
    Likes Received:
    11
    The signal bars are glitched, they dont show accurately, this is a known bug, just look at your network status, it will give u a correct signal quality ratio
     
  11. Jayse

    Jayse Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2010
    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    8
    I only get a relatively bad signal on 3G in my house. Anywhere from 1 bar to 0 depending on which window I'm holding it out of. Which is no big deal because I have wifi at home, so 3G isn't that important (and yes, under network status, mine currently reads -96 dBm, and that's after a fresh *228 option 2). However, when it switches to 1x for calls, I get a great signal. Almost full bars. I'm not really sure why there is such a HUGE difference, but it's no big deal to me.
     
  12. tomato88

    tomato88 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    252
    Likes Received:
    131
    My sister has an Eris and she says she's getting better reception than her previous phone -- Samsung Gleam.
     
  13. gruss

    gruss Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    Messages:
    1,411
    Likes Received:
    116
    Don't worry about bars. Try making a call. The Eris so far outperforms my storm2 in reception although the bars typically are "lower" get somewhere with little signal and try. If ur dropping calls the phone is borked, take it back
     
  14. Frisco

    Frisco =Luceat Lux Vestra= VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Messages:
    22,479
    Likes Received:
    9,225
    Well no wonder, Samsung Gleam is Korean tooth paste. What kind of reception are you going to get with a tube of tooth paste.

    Your sister isn't around here, is she?
     
  15. gruss

    gruss Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    Messages:
    1,411
    Likes Received:
    116
    I don't know. I think me tube of crest works better as a phone than the last Sammy I had ;)
     
  16. Frisco

    Frisco =Luceat Lux Vestra= VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Messages:
    22,479
    Likes Received:
    9,225
    Crest and Ipana, great reception. Ipana is so expensive though.

    Yuck-yuck..

    Say, this isn't a thread-jacking is it? Tee-hee.
     
  17. gruss

    gruss Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    Messages:
    1,411
    Likes Received:
    116
    Were still talking about reception right?
     
  18. Frisco

    Frisco =Luceat Lux Vestra= VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Messages:
    22,479
    Likes Received:
    9,225
    Yeah.

    I think they should have the reception in the garden behind the church.

    But the lobby at the Aruba motel is ok I guess. Open bar, you know.
     
  19. gruss

    gruss Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    Messages:
    1,411
    Likes Received:
    116
    Open bar = I'm there!
     
  20. jreed2560

    jreed2560 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3,922
    Likes Received:
    439
    When I'm at home, my phone usually shows one to two bars. Right now I have two. But my signal strength is dancing between -84 and -92 dBm. When I talk to my wife, I can hear every word she says perfectly fine. But she says I cut out about 40 % of the time. Does this happen to anyone else? I have never had this problem with any other phone. Its driving me banana sandwhich ....Again!
     
  21. Foxcow

    Foxcow Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2010
    Messages:
    206
    Likes Received:
    31
    I'm a pilot and fly all over the country. The only place I had mediocre coverage was Tulsa, OK. I was able to get 3g there but the GPS was hit or miss.
     

Share This Page

Loading...