Love my Captivate but one thing??Support


Last Updated:

  1. Tracer

    Tracer Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    1
    Ok guys or girls this is where I am. Well I'm stuck and dont know where to go or look now. I used Kies to convert a movie and then uploaded on my phone. When I click the movie from my phone, all I have is a pic from the movie and no sound at all. But it shows the movie playing but nothing is happening...I'm so sick. I thought I was doing good until now....please help. What have I done wrong? :confused:
     

    Advertisement
  2. CrimsonPride

    CrimsonPride Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    1,482
    Likes Received:
    200
    try converting with format factory or handbrake, im betting the problem was with kies which i wasntt even aware converted movies
     
  3. Tracer

    Tracer Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    1
    Ok I downloaded handbrake. Is there presets I need to set for the Captivate? I'm new at this sorry for brain dead questions...Just dont know where to go.
     
  4. CrimsonPride

    CrimsonPride Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    1,482
    Likes Received:
    200
    i havent ever used it but ive heard it recommended so ill give it a quick look and see what i can find out. ive been meaning to give it a try just havent got around to it
     
  5. Tracer

    Tracer Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    1
    Ok thank you!!!! Once I get movie issued solved I'm set. I love this phone
     
  6. CrimsonPride

    CrimsonPride Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    1,482
    Likes Received:
    200
  7. Tracer

    Tracer Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    1
    Ok thank you for your help!!! :D
     
  8. BigCiX

    BigCiX Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2010
    Messages:
    3,591
    Likes Received:
    363
    I've been using videora. They have an andriod version but I'm using the iphone 3G version and it works perfect.
     
  9. Tracer

    Tracer Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    1
    Still no luck putting movies on my Captivate. :( I have tried everything I know of and still not having any luck. This is the only draw back I see with this phone. Uploading music no problem....uploading movies dead in the water.
     
  10. sremick

    sremick Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    Messages:
    2,521
    Likes Received:
    356
    The uploading should be as simple as copying a file. It's more the creation of the video which can pose a challenge. Are you having problems creating the video in Handbrake, or uploading an existing video to the phone?
     
  11. Endoran

    Endoran Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    403
    Likes Received:
    24
    Yah the captivate plays many video formats right out of the box. What kind of video are you trying to play? If it's a divx, xvid, avi, etc should just be a drag and drop without going thru any software (via mass storage mode).
     
  12. Tracer

    Tracer Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    1
    I'm trying to mp4 the same is what my iPod plays. I've tried just dragging the file straight over and will not play or sound. Then I tried to covert it using Kies and Handbrake and I get the same results. Maybe I'm leaving something out or have no clue what I'm doing.
     
  13. Endoran

    Endoran Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    403
    Likes Received:
    24
    I've had problems with mp4s myself, although I'm pretty sure the phone is capable of playing them. Maybe apple messes with them. I used a program that I cannot remember the name...I have it on my desktop at home, unfortunately I'm at work. I'll post it when I get home but I imagine someone else will answer before I get back as I'm working a 13hour shift (time and a half baby). Or I'd just search for video converter, and download it off of cnet or something. It will take a while to convert tho.
     
  14. Tracer

    Tracer Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    1
    ok thanks if you can tell me the program that would help out. What do i covert too though?
     
  15. sremick

    sremick Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    Messages:
    2,521
    Likes Received:
    356
    Are you trying to play movies on the Captivate that you purchase via iTunes? These are protected with DRM and won't work.

    Also note that mp4 is just a container and doesn't define the codecs used for audio and video. The ones used need to be supported.

    I'm currently working on instructions for using Handbrake with the Captivate. Still experimenting with some of the advanced quality settings to find the best balance.
     
  16. Tracer

    Tracer Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    1
    Im using the free ones that come with when you buy blu-ray dvds. They are not ones I bought off itunes just the extra disk that comes with your blu-ray copies. So are you guys using handbrake with regular dvds that you put in your disk drive? Thanks for the help everyone.. :)
     
  17. sremick

    sremick Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    Messages:
    2,521
    Likes Received:
    356
    Those won't work. Those "digital copies" are specifically made to only work with iTunes and/or Windows Media Player, or sometimes just the special player that comes on the disc. The DRM prevents them from working on anything else.


    Correct.
     
  18. Tracer

    Tracer Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    1
    Ok thank you everyone for your help. I will try just regular dvds and see if I run into any trouble from there. LoL
     

Share This Page

Loading...