Low Memory Warning Message...Now What?General


Last Updated:

  1. Fairfax22032

    Fairfax22032 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    I received a 'low memory' message last night and my first action was to dump some unneeded apps which seemed to relieve the problem, but I figure that it is just a matter of time until it comes back. I am not using the SD card for anything right now and was wondering if that could be a path to avoiding this in the future. If so, what can I move there and how do I do it? Can I run apps from the SD card?

    I have a couple of large 3rd party apps including Grocery iQ (9.25MB), Touchdown (7.98MB), Documents to Go (7.59MB) and Trapster (4.61MB) along with a bunch that are in the 3-4MB range.
     

    Advertisement
  2. xx_bishop_xx

    xx_bishop_xx Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    1,311
    Likes Received:
    172
    You could try clearing some of the caches of the applications. Menu>Settings>Applications>Manage Applications - (takes some time to load the detail), then you can press Menu>Sort by size - to see what the largest apps are. Select an application, and you will see the "Application Info", from there you can clear the caches if you wish. May be a good place to start.
     
  3. schmunkey

    schmunkey Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    If you download Astro File Manager from the market you can use that to back up apps and run them from your SD card. The only downside would be that they won't receive updates from the market like they normally do.
     
  4. Fairfax22032

    Fairfax22032 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have Astro, but have never used it. Do I 'install' the apps on the SD card? Can I put some of the stock applications like Internet or Maps which should not update often? When I use Astro does that move the application out of the phone memory onto the SD card, or is there another step to delete one of the versions?
     
  5. maddog015

    maddog015 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    I thought you couldn't run apps from your SD unless it's rooted.
     
  6. Houstatlanavegas

    Houstatlanavegas Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2010
    Messages:
    235
    Likes Received:
    5
    No, I dont believe that the Eris allows you to save your apps to your SD card.

    I have Astro and yes it backs them up but it doesnt allow you to run the application off the Sd card in your phone

    I wish though...:eek:
     
  7. cornbreadfarts

    cornbreadfarts Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2010
    Messages:
    429
    Likes Received:
    21
    true.
     
  8. Fairfax22032

    Fairfax22032 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    OK, so if I cannot run apps from the SD card and I cleared the cache as suggested above, what next? I don't consider myself a 'power user' and never expected to run into a memory issue with my phone.
     
  9. Houstatlanavegas

    Houstatlanavegas Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2010
    Messages:
    235
    Likes Received:
    5
    do you have alot of apps on your phone?

    Also, you may wanna look into a different launcher, ADW Launcher usually is the premium pick for this kinda thing

    [​IMG]
    if you wanna download it, scan it let me know if anyother questions arise
     

Share This Page

Loading...