Low space


Last Updated:

  1. fhsfish

    fhsfish Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    2
    hello all...i have been running xtrROM 3.0.3 for almost 2 weeks and love it. however in the last few days i have come across an issue...i am now getting a notification that my phone is "LOW ON SPACE phone storage space is getting low" i am currently showing 14.2m free on my phone. My phone is not overclocked. My current apps list is found here: fhsfish's Apps on the HTC Droid Eris

    A2SD and JIT are not enabled

    any insight is appreciated
     

    Advertisement
  2. zutmin

    zutmin Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    164
    Likes Received:
    16
    Enable apps2sd and you will free up lots of RAM.

    Delete any of the stock apps (bloatware) that you never use.

    Clear the cache from all of your apps.

    After performing these steps you will have plenty of space. Apps2SD will solve most of your problem by itself.
     
  3. Frisco

    Frisco =Luceat Lux Vestra= VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Messages:
    22,479
    Likes Received:
    9,225
    Zutmin clued you in about apps2sd, etc, but I just wanted to add that your list of apps contains a lot which can be set to update in the background, which can really load the device up without you knowing much about it.

    I'd advise doing your updating manually and then having a weekly or even daily maintenance regimen which involves cache clearing of each app.

    It's small amount of work with good benefits for your device. ;)
     
  4. Slugdoc

    Slugdoc Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    211
    Likes Received:
    13
    Clearing out stock bloatware doesn't, by itself, free up usable memory for you.
    As i understand it, the stock apps are in system/apps, while the user-installed apps are in data/apps.

    The part that's a little fuzzy to me is what space the system uses as its working RAM. I think it must be data/apps, because the more user-installed apps you put on, the less working memory you seem to have available.

    Can anyone confirm or deny this?
     
  5. JKib

    JKib Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    3
    I'm running into the same problem with xtrSense 3.1 (also without Apps2SD or JIT).

    I have over 15MB left and I'm fine with that, but I can't find a way to clear the warning. I had to uninstall a few apps to get to 17MB free before it would clear.

    It must be a setting he has in his ROMs as I'm running (was until deleting) the same config as before rooting. I've had only 12MB when stock and didn't get any unclearable warnings.

    Edit with my own question: Is there a way to lower the warning threshold (maybe to like 5MB)?
     
  6. E.two.one

    E.two.one Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2010
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    3
    had the same problem here. it started right after i downloaded busybox, and went away as soon as i uninstalled same.
     
  7. IzelTokatl

    IzelTokatl Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    580
    Likes Received:
    90
    simple solution, if you have not yet moved your so apps to system/app directory you should. You use about 50 ram to spare.
     
  8. mistaj33

    mistaj33 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Messages:
    168
    Likes Received:
    32
    Wouldn't that break the market links? And, how would moving an app from /data/app to /system/app free up RAM ? I wouldn't mind checking for app updates manually if it really frees up RAM though.
     
  9. fhsfish

    fhsfish Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    2
    ok so just to update i figured out the problem but im not sure how it happened. i went into application management and was going to clear my cache out. when i did i found the option to sort my applications by size. when i did my contacts storage was showing at over 35mb. i thought this was kind of odd so i went in and cleared all my data and cache from there and then resynced with google. now contacts storage is showing a little over 1mb and everything is back to normal
     
  10. IzelTokatl

    IzelTokatl Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    580
    Likes Received:
    90
    There is an app called cache cleaner, its free.
    [​IMG]

    The system memory is hard set. The data folder is the same hard set. So you can move apps to the system and the market link isn't broken. But you do have to reboot. Each time you update you will have to move it to replace the system app.

    The system memory in most froyo roms you get about 50 + mb to use for moving apps.
     
  11. Hypo Luxa

    Hypo Luxa Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2010
    Messages:
    464
    Likes Received:
    32
    cache cleaner ftw.. I noticed that various caches eat up a good amount of RAM. Your browser defaults at 6MB for example.
     
  12. Bob Cat

    Bob Cat Careful, They're sharp!! Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2010
    Messages:
    7,048
    Likes Received:
    4,288

Share This Page

Loading...