m.youtube.com GIMPED on the Droid IncredibleGeneral


Last Updated:

  1. mrspeedmaster

    mrspeedmaster Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 16, 2010
    Messages:
    902
    Likes Received:
    256
    Guys, are you seeing the new m.youtube.com? It is AMAZING on the iPhone 4.
    It is better than the built in app. Their commercial shows the Nexus One with the same features.

    I can't see it the new site on my Incredible.



    I wonder if they GIMPED it on the HTC Sense Devices because it isn't using the stock Android browser. Could it be sniffing the user agent of the browser?

    Are you guys seeing the new layout, HD button, comments, features, etc on the new m.youtube.com

    YouTube - Introducing the New YouTube Mobile Website
     

    Advertisement
  2. CarbineGuy

    CarbineGuy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2010
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    6
    I am actually able to see it just fine
     
  3. drivie

    drivie Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2010
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    3
    When I navigate to the site, it looks the same as it does in the video you've posted however I do not see the HQ button. Also, when I click the video, it opens into the YouTube app rather than playing in the browser.

    I just did a quick search and apparently the HTC EVO users are experiencing the same. I found one Moto Droid user running Froyo that claims it played perfectly from within the browser and with the HQ button present so it would seem that maybe we're out in the cold until Froyo. Might be too early to say.
     
  4. drivie

    drivie Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2010
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    3
    So you see the HQ button and you can play the video within the browser?
     
  5. jayefef

    jayefef Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2010
    Messages:
    433
    Likes Received:
    77
    Yes but not the HQ button
     
  6. mrspeedmaster

    mrspeedmaster Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 16, 2010
    Messages:
    902
    Likes Received:
    256
    OK. I figured something out. You have to go to settings and set your browser to mobile view. That will give you the new site but it is still missing some stuff. I guess it has to do with html5 which will be in Froyo.
     
  7. greenrolaids

    greenrolaids Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    484
    Likes Received:
    78
    over at xda i downloaded the evo youtube player..

    Its been a month.. so i think its the evo youtube player.

    It has a button on the main screen that allows you to switch to HQ without digging into the menu to enable HQ.
     
  8. contagous

    contagous Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2010
    Messages:
    966
    Likes Received:
    132
    Yup this works great, but there is no HQ button, but tbh, the videos ive tested are HQ anyways.,
     
  9. windycity

    windycity Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2010
    Messages:
    145
    Likes Received:
    42
    How about in Opera or Dolphin? Any difference?
     
  10. KennyC

    KennyC Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    3
    Definitely seems like they just don't have the HQ feature turned on for Android. If you switch the brower's UAString to "iPhone" using about:debug, it shows the button. But then it won't play that video (gives the message "In order to watch videos, please enable plugins in Safari Settings.").

    It's also strange they've chosen to disable it since the stock YouTube app on the phone has a "Watch in High Quality" option.

    Come on Google, take care of your own first, eh? [​IMG]
     
  11. rapidsandroid

    rapidsandroid Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2010
    Messages:
    402
    Likes Received:
    27
    I see m.youtube just fine on my Incredible. And, actually I prefer it better than the stock app since it seems to buffer faster and cleaner view.
     
  12. waynester

    waynester Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2008
    Messages:
    677
    Likes Received:
    65
    tried dolphin hd, stock, skyfire and xScope no hq button
    as mentioned , in "play in youtube " you can go to menu and select hq
     
  13. Red Leader

    Red Leader Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2010
    Messages:
    271
    Likes Received:
    157
    It would be nice if we could play videos in portrait like on the iphone, why the heck can't we do this on the incredible?
     
  14. Opivyattack

    Opivyattack Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    2
    It doesn't work great in the stock browser for me either. The videos are in terrible quality and pressing menu doesnt even pull up any options for HQ or anything. FYI, I ran the optimization but that probably made it worse. So my workaround is that I use the youtube mobile site in xScope. It opens up the videos via the youtube app and keeps the HQ setting on at all times (i'm using the EVO youtube app). I actually like it. The videos are nice quality but comments and navigating the site is much easier.
     
  15. null_soup

    null_soup New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    The problem for me is that the videos are still playing with Flash Lite. Is there any way to disable this so as to access html5 video playback?
     
  16. sabrewings

    sabrewings Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2010
    Messages:
    895
    Likes Received:
    104
    I like the EVO's youtube app better.
     
  17. xScope

    xScope Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009
    Messages:
    426
    Likes Received:
    55
    With xScope, change user agent = android 1.6. You can either set your global useragent = android1.6 or just youtube domain (advanced users).
    You will have all the HQ and download options.
     
  18. null_soup

    null_soup New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    It's definitely sniffing the user agent. In the built-in Incredible browser, I can set UAString to (iPhone and Desktop) but neither seems to result in html5 video. For Desktop, the site displays differently, but video is still flash. With iPhone, video playback fails with an error message telling you to enable plugins in Safari.
     

Share This Page

Loading...