Mac users?


Last Updated:

  1. EKG

    EKG Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Messages:
    667
    Likes Received:
    103
    Looking at the instructions for rooting, it seems like it is exclusive for PC users. Is this true? Are us Mac users out of luck?
     

    Advertisement
  2. phobic

    phobic Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Messages:
    258
    Likes Received:
    42
    Boot into Windows via Boot Camp/Virtual Machine for the time being?
     
  3. Fabolous

    Fabolous Superuser VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    3,635
    Likes Received:
    2,126
    Pretty sure you can set up adb on a Mac. Take a look at the Android SDK website, there should be a Mac package to download.

    All the commands will be the same, you just have to get ADB set up.
     
  4. EKG

    EKG Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Messages:
    667
    Likes Received:
    103
    Don't you have to do something with a .exe file? Mac won't recognize those.
     
  5. Fabolous

    Fabolous Superuser VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    3,635
    Likes Received:
    2,126
    No, there's no executable involved in the root process.

    Just pushing a lot of files onto your sdcard, then using the PC as a shell into the phone's command line.

    You can do this on any system (PC, Linux, Mac)
     
  6. Sublimation

    Sublimation Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2010
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    1
    Mac SDK package. That should get ya the Mac SDK package. I'm going to be giving this a shot later... Just use the Terminal in OSX instead of the Command Prompt.

    Edit: Adding a link to the adding SDK components page.
     
  7. djbsquared

    djbsquared New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    This page might be helpful as well: Installing the SDK | Android Developers

    Step 2 is the necessary step for adding the location of the SDK to your PATH so that it works without you having to be in the directory to run ADB.
     
  8. NKT

    NKT Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,571
    Likes Received:
    3,009
    You should just have to get the SDK for Mac, change the extension of the root scripts from .bat to .sh.

    Then to run the scripts, make sure to do a ./
     
  9. Quasse

    Quasse Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    5
    kilofox and NKT like this.

Share This Page

Loading...