Magic/Rogers radio problemSupport


Last Updated:

  1. Forts

    Forts Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2010
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    3
    I'm having an odd problem with my Magic and I'm wondering if anyone can shed any light on it for me. I've got an HTC Magic on Rogers that I rooted and flashed to CM5 stable about a month ago. Everything runs great, except occasionally (sometimes once a day, sometimes more) the radio seems to go into la-la land. The 3G icon will disappear, but I still show bars.... however there is no connectivity. Once it falls into this state it seems to kill the battery quite quickly. The only way to wake it back up is to reboot the phone or to toggle airplane mode on then back off. When CM6 stable came out a few days ago, I thought I would give that a shot and see if it made any difference... unfortunately it didn't (runs great otherwise though!). I'm currently using radio version 3.22.26.17... is there perhaps another version I can try?

    Any suggestions greatly appreciated!!

    Update: I just got looking thru my Network settings and I had 3 APN's listed (Rogers 1, Rogers 2 and Rogers MMS I think). With Rogers 1 selected, it would register and I would get the 3G icon. With Rogers 2, it wouldn't... so I've deleted the Rogers 2 entry. Perhaps that was my issue.
     

    Advertisement
  2. Forts

    Forts Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2010
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    3
    Ok tinkering with the APN settings didn't help. The phone just did it again a few minutes ago.
     
  3. GreatBigDog

    GreatBigDog Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    495
    Likes Received:
    46
    You can use the pre E911 magic radio 3.22.20.17

    Be warned though that if you haven't filled out the Rogers Waiver, they will cut your data off when (not if) they detect your phone with this radio. I don't have a link to the waiver, maybe someone else does.

    gbd
     
  4. mjschmidt

    mjschmidt Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2009
    Messages:
    1,272
    Likes Received:
    113
    GBD: Is there not a radio that fools the scan so that you do not have to sign the waiver? a newer version of the radio that will pass the sniff test?
     
  5. GreatBigDog

    GreatBigDog Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    495
    Likes Received:
    46
    Hi Mike,

    That's the radio that OP listed in his post, it's actually the most recent Dream radio. He says he is having problems and wants to try a different radio. The only other one that will work with CM is the one I linked for him. It's the actual 3.x magic radio from before the E911 upgrade
     
  6. GreatBigDog

    GreatBigDog Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    495
    Likes Received:
    46
    I just thought of it, you could try the APN settings from post# 21 in this thread.

    http://androidforums.com/rogers/160964-cyanogenmod-6-0-stable-froyo-2-2-out.html

    gbd
     
  7. Forts

    Forts Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2010
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    3
    Thanks for the suggestions. I'll give those APN settings a whirl before I try anything else.
     
  8. MoreYummy

    MoreYummy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2009
    Messages:
    311
    Likes Received:
    1
    Did your problem fix?

    I have similar issue on htc magic.

    im using 6.00 DS

    What is the current radio for all the roger's magic after the 2.1 upgrade?
     

Share This Page

Loading...