• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Accessories Magnetic Flip Case - Screen Damage!??

vincentieo

Lurker
Jul 18, 2010
Hi all, I have been searching and searching but cant find any conclusive evidence to put my mind at rest.

I have a HTC Desire and it fits nicely inside a flip case, held closed with a magnet. I am no scientist but a good friend of mine, who is a scientist, seems to think that a magnet could damage the phone!

I have heard that they can mess with the internal compas (i didnt even know i had one until yesterday) but what about the motor in the lens, will this be damaged being an electro magnetic motor?

I am most worried about the screen being effected by a magnetic field always being near (even on) it.

Has anyone had any experience of a HTC Desire being messed up with a magnet or can anyone reassure me that the

It would take a strong magnet to damage your phone.

The worst you may see is your phone may go bonkers if you don't power off the screen when it's in the case.

Capacitive Screens can and will react to magnets, but not in a negative way, the magnets will fool the screen into thinking there is a finger touching it somewhere.

Upvote 0
Hi!

I just bought a case yesterday in Sweden (Desire-LCnew2 X 1) and it definitely has bad effects on the phone: When I make or receive a call the screen shuts down completely (it goes black and I cannot reset it). The shop will take it back and inform the manufacturer.

Upvote 0
Hi!

I just bought a case yesterday in Sweden (Desire-LCnew2 X 1) and it definitely has bad effects on the phone: When I make or receive a call the screen shuts down completely (it goes black and I cannot reset it). The shop will take it back and inform the manufacturer.