mail helpSupport


Last Updated:

  1. stenobeagle

    stenobeagle Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Having problems with the non-gmail mail accts with my Captivate. I have an att.net acct. When I press the "mail" icon it asks me to enter manually. Is there a guide somewhere that can help me with setting up the e-mail? Gmail works fine but the mail handler on the phone leaves a lot to be desired...
     

    Advertisement
  2. dmp316

    dmp316 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    1
    If it is an ATT account you do not have to enter it manually it does it for you automatically. My ATT email account was setup automatically once i put in my email and password
     
  3. james27007

    james27007 Look into my Eye VIP Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010
    Messages:
    1,150
    Likes Received:
    445
    I had the same issue. Here are the settings:

    Username@att.net
    POP3 Server: pop.att.yahoo.com
    Port: 995
    Security Type: SSL (Accept all certigicates)

    Smtp: smtp.att.yahoo.com
    Port: 465
    Security Type: SSL (Accept all certigicates)

    And yes this is yahoo mail not really AT&T
     
  4. NJR

    NJR Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010
    Messages:
    157
    Likes Received:
    23
    The issue is it does not know what type of AT&T acccounts you have since they wereconsolidated from various sources. If, for example you have an old WorldNet Account the settings above for Yahoo will not work.

    You need to go into you mail app on the PC and find out the settiings to use on a POP3 client. If you need the WN ones let me know and I will post them for you.
     
  5. jsyep

    jsyep New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Help! I'm trying to migrate from the stock email program to K-9. I've an att worldnet account. I have tried configuring it but it doesn't work. I'm not sure which pop3 server to use (ipostoffice.worldnet.att.net?), what security type I should choose, the port number etc. Can someone help me with this? The stock email program seems balky and turns itself off in random and annoying moments. Thanks.
     
  6. NJR

    NJR Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010
    Messages:
    157
    Likes Received:
    23
    incoming POP3:

    ipostoffice.worldnet.att.net
    995
    ssl

    outgoing smtp:

    imailhost.worldnet.att.net
    465
    ssl

    l
     

Share This Page

Loading...