Mail problems


Last Updated:

  1. rustynuts

    rustynuts Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    0
    Had my phone a little while now its with t mobile i have set up two emails account on the phone they are tiscali acoounts, when i set the accounts out i had to change the outgoing address to t-email rather than tiscali as mail would not send unless connected to my wifi so when out and about it sends fine but once its connected to wifi i cant send any i have to turn it off and send via mobile internet.

    lol did that make any sense at all:) and is there any solutions for this problem, i imagine its something straight forward that i seem to be missing:eek:
     

    Advertisement
  2. Slug

    Slug Check six! Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009
    Messages:
    20,387
    Likes Received:
    16,494
    It's standard security practice to prevent connection to outgoing mail servers from outwith the 'home' network. I use Google Mail to get round this - my various mailboxes are forwarded to my GMail account and replies are sent via that service.
     
  3. rustynuts

    rustynuts Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    0
    ok mate cheers at least its not me doing something wrong lol i take it i just go to my gmail account and work it out from there then:)
     
  4. rustynuts

    rustynuts Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    0

    :Dcheers for the help that didnt take long too sort out i suppose i have to delete the accounts i set up on the hero and just use the google one otherwise i would get double emails, is that right?
     
  5. Slug

    Slug Check six! Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009
    Messages:
    20,387
    Likes Received:
    16,494
    Set it up from your Google Mail web page, under Settings (I think). There are quite a few options, one of which is for replies to use the original To: address which makes the process transparent to your correspondents.

    You shouldn't have to delete accounts in the Mail app, just disable fetching (or whatever it's called - haven't used it in months). That way you've still got the option to use it manually if required.
     
  6. stryder

    stryder Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    How do I disable the Mail? I use only gmail on my hero and the mail app keeps launching ( seen it a few times in the taskiller app) - I don't have an account configured.
     
  7. DexKen

    DexKen Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    7
    Don't disable Mail, it's a required service even for Gmail. Add it to your ignore list in Taskkiller
     

Share This Page

Loading...