Make phone "look" unrooted


Last Updated:

  1. sitlet

    sitlet Banned This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Messages:
    5,867
    Likes Received:
    633
    I thought I remember seeing a thread about this, but couldnt find it.

    I got a new replacement from sprint a few weeks ago. Ever since, the internet (3g) is horribly slow. Speed tests confirm the 3g will not get above 200kbps ever, no matter where I am. So obviously, I know this is a hardware problem, as sprint has already refreshed my network, and made me do a hard reset.

    They want me to take it into a store so they can "check it out" before they send me a new one. Problem is, I'm rooted. I used unrevoked, and am still on the stock rom, so it should look normal. The only thing I rooted for is to be able to use wireless tether.

    So the question is, can I just remove the superuser app and wireless tether temporarily while they check it out? Or should (can) I flash S-on first too? I know how to unroot, but I really dont want to have to spend a few hours re-installing all my apps and settings after.
     

    Advertisement
  2. flyjbaker

    flyjbaker Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,192
    Likes Received:
    266
    You should probably unroot. With due respect to you and everybody else that fears the dreaded "few hours re-installing all my apps and settings"......GET TITANIUM BACKUP!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!.......It is worth every bit of the 5 bucks(or whatever it is) and it is especially worth it to somebody like you who fears this eventuality so much so that you are willing to risk (the warranty) your $500 phone. With one press of a button, Titanium Backup Pro(the paid version) will restore your phone to EXACTLY HOW IT WAS WHEN YOU BACKED IT UP.....homescreens and all. Hell, you will even still be signed into services like Pandora,etc!!!! ANd if it takes you a "few hours", I would certainly hope your time is worth more than $2 an hour....the cost of this app.

    Sorry for the rant, my friend. You have obviously been around quite awhile from your post count. I would unroot. Just isn't worth it. As you said, it is likely an issue to where they will have to give you a new phone anyway so you will have to go through this anyway. Don't give them a reason to deny you warranty protection because they will if they can.
     
  3. akazabam

    akazabam Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    Messages:
    4,418
    Likes Received:
    1,387
    If you really want to be 100% sure they can't tell, your best option is to unroot. I assume you saw this:

    [GUIDE] How to Unroot the EVO in 2 STEPS - xda-developers

    Don't blame me if this doesn't work, but what I would do is make a nandroid backup, use titanium backup to backup apps and settings (just in case), unroot with the above method, let them look at the phone, root again using unrevoked, then nandroid restore. I don't see any reason why that shouldn't work (unless you messed with hboot versions). It won't take hours either.
     
  4. sitlet

    sitlet Banned This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Messages:
    5,867
    Likes Received:
    633
    yea, like I said, I know how to unroot, and thats the method I used before. I forgot about doing a nandroid backup though.

    But, to save me the hassle of that, could I just flash the S-on tool and remove the superuser app, let them check the phone, then just flash the s-off and reinstall superuser? Or would that mess with the root?
     
  5. akazabam

    akazabam Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    Messages:
    4,418
    Likes Received:
    1,387
    Not sure, but I think most people will not recommend partially unrooting like that. Not only could you have problems later, but like flyjbaker said, why give them a reason to deny you your warranty?

    EDIT: Have you ever done a nandroid backup, by the way? It's not hard at all, and only takes ~10 minutes to either backup or restore.
     
  6. flyjbaker

    flyjbaker Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,192
    Likes Received:
    266
    As an aside...let's assume you backed up via Titanium Backup Pro and assume they gave you a new phone. Would Titanium backup restore your settings and apps on the new phone??? I am thinking it would. Does Titanium backup identify your phone based on your gmail account??? ANd then I reckon they store your settings and apps on their servers??? Anyway, just I thought. I would think, if you used Titanium backup and got a new phone that you would still be able to restore everything on your new phone....just me thinking out loud...sorry if it is off topic.
     
  7. akazabam

    akazabam Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    Messages:
    4,418
    Likes Received:
    1,387
    Yes, I think you would need titanium backup if switching phones. Don't quote me, but I think nandroid will only work if using the same phone.
     
  8. flyjbaker

    flyjbaker Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,192
    Likes Received:
    266
    So you are saying Titanium Backup WILL backup your apps and settings on a different phone(since that is stored on their servers) but the nandroid will be lost since that is stored on your SD Card?
     
  9. akazabam

    akazabam Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    Messages:
    4,418
    Likes Received:
    1,387
    No, it's all stored on your sd card. If you get a new phone, remember to keep your sd card, or back it up, first. Nandroid will fail md5 checks on a different phone, I believe. Titanium backup will store your apps and settings separately so that they can be restored anywhere. You *might* have issues with restoring settings, but that's usually only an issue when switching roms. It sounds like you won't be messing with that too much.

    EDIT: Actually the pro version of titanium backup has dropbox sync, I think, but, ultimately, it gets backed up to your sd card. You can manually back that up easily enough.
     
  10. FestoKGB

    FestoKGB Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2010
    Messages:
    290
    Likes Received:
    61
    The Titanium Backup files are stored on your SD card as well as the nanadroid. I would connect the EVO to my computer and copy the entire SD card to the computer. When I get the new phone I would copy the old SD card info to the new card. That way your nandroid and your TB backups are there.

    Just make sure that your new recovery image is the same as the one with which you made the nandroid or you might not be able to recover it.


    **EDIT** sniped by azkabam :)
     
  11. sitlet

    sitlet Banned This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Messages:
    5,867
    Likes Received:
    633
    Ok, sorry for the newbness, but I just want to clarify a couple things.

    Obviously I cant Nandroid from one phone to another, as it will mess up the phones connection with the network. But If I make a Nandroid on my phone now, unroot and flash stock, how would I go about restoring that on the same phone? Do I have to root again first to be able to restore it? Or just install clockwork?

    As for Titanium Backup, I was going to buy it anyway. The question here is, I know it can backup all apps with data, and system settings. Does anyone know for sure if I can restore everything if they give me a new phone? Obviously I will have to root first, and install Titanium on the new phone.
     
  12. akazabam

    akazabam Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    Messages:
    4,418
    Likes Received:
    1,387
    1) You need full root to nandroid backup/restore, so run unrevoked again like you did the first time, then nandroid restore.

    2) I don't see any reason why you wouldn't be able to get everything restored with titanium backup, but I would take a few precautions anyway. Use an SMS backup app to manually backup SMS/MMS, use something like appbrain to make a list of your apps, etc.
     
  13. pinoy724

    pinoy724 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2010
    Messages:
    124
    Likes Received:
    18
    Here are the steps I would do.

    1. Buy Titanium Backup and do a backup.
    2. Do a Nandroid backup.
    3. Let it reboot, then copy all contents of your sdcard onto your computer.
    4. Unroot. There was a post with a 2 step unroot method a few posts up.
    5. Turn phone in. Let them do their thing.
    *Note* If they give you a new phone, check if it's version 3.29 or lower so you can reroot, if it's 3.30+ then you'll have to wait for a root method.
    6. If it is 3.29, reroot. I recommend using Matlock's rooting for dummies.
    7. After everythings rooted, copy what you need from the the sdcard back up from your computer to your current sdcard. More importantly your Nandroids. If you used Clockwork to backup then it should be under a folder named Clockworkmod. If using Amon Ra, then it's under Nandroid folder.
    8. Now do a nandroid of your stock rom incase something goes wrong.
    9. After nandroid completes. Do a nand restore of the last rom that you were on before turning your phone in. If successful, then you should be back to where you were at with a new phone.

    Hope this helps you, and good luck.
     
  14. akazabam

    akazabam Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    Messages:
    4,418
    Likes Received:
    1,387
  15. pinoy724

    pinoy724 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2010
    Messages:
    124
    Likes Received:
    18
  16. akazabam

    akazabam Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    Messages:
    4,418
    Likes Received:
    1,387
    How could you load custom roms but not nandroid? Once you have s-off, you can flash a custom recovery (check the second post). As far as the camera is concerned, it probably has to do with people with this h-boot flashing roms based on the wrong ota. Granted, this rooting method is more complicated, and makes it easier to brick your phone, it's still possible to get root.
     
  17. pinoy724

    pinoy724 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2010
    Messages:
    124
    Likes Received:
    18
    Thank you for correcting me. Like I said, I never tried this, so I don't know. Just read up on it, and it is very risky. So just be careful.
     
  18. akazabam

    akazabam Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    Messages:
    4,418
    Likes Received:
    1,387
    NP :). I definitely agree that it is not as simple, and those that aren't comfortable with it should wait for something like unrevoked to get an update.
     
  19. sitlet

    sitlet Banned This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Messages:
    5,867
    Likes Received:
    633
    Who has version 3.30? I have all the updates according to Sprint, and Im still on 3.29?
     
  20. akazabam

    akazabam Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    Messages:
    4,418
    Likes Received:
    1,387
    It's based on hw version. If your evo was manufactured after 11/4, you have 3.30.651.2/3, or, if you're rooted, most devs are using that ota for sense based roms. It doesn't make much of a difference if you're on older hw. For reference, the newer evos are hw version 0004 (and maybe some 0003 from what I've read).

    HTC EVO 4G:11/11 - HTC Evo Maintenance Release -...
     

Share This Page

Loading...