Making phone calls over wifi only


Last Updated:

  1. cool_as_crap

    cool_as_crap New Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    1
    Basically I live in the middle of no where, and I don't have cell coverage at home. A friend of mine came over to the house with his BlackBerry and was able to connect to our wifi, then make and receive calls.
    Is there an app that can do this? Or a setting on my Captivate?
     

    Advertisement
  2. Ogami Itto

    Ogami Itto Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2010
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    4
    Isn't this what Google Voice does?
     
  3. radi0chik

    radi0chik Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010
    Messages:
    106
    Likes Received:
    16
    ask him what the app was and see if there's an android version. But no, I haven't heard of anything that'll do that.
     
  4. radi0chik

    radi0chik Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010
    Messages:
    106
    Likes Received:
    16
    no it just forwards your phone number to the google voice. It uses regular minutes.
     
  5. Chromag

    Chromag Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010
    Messages:
    149
    Likes Received:
    6
    You can use something like SIPDroid and a service from a SIP provider to do this. Just to play around with it I created a SIPGate account (free phone number and 60 outgoing minutes) and configured SIPDroid to use their service.

    What you can do is create a Google Voice account and forward your Google Voice number to the SIP phone number, which in turn forwards to your cell phone using SIPDroid which runs on your Wifi. Incoming calls are free and outgoing calls after the first 60 are 1.9 cents a minute. Calls from SIPGate user to SIPGate user are free.

    There may be a better SIP provider out there that's cheaper - I didn't look into it much more than setting it up and making a couple calls for fun.

    I hope Google re-releases Gizmo5 soon - which would allow you to do this much easier than forwarding through two services.
     
  6. Sharkonwheels

    Sharkonwheels Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Messages:
    268
    Likes Received:
    12
    I have SIPDroid and Sip Agent/3CX Phone.
    I also have a VoIP account with Versafon.net ($15/mo unlimited USA+Canada) and do it THAT way. Also works just dandy over 3G, so you can have a super-low minutes plan, and use VoIP.

    T
     
  7. Daleon

    Daleon Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2010
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
  8. iMouseOne

    iMouseOne Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    5
    Another option is to see if the Microcell is available where you live. AT&T 3G MicroCell

    7 of us use it in our bunker of an office with no windows, works very well.
     
  9. lourivellini

    lourivellini Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    sorry to bump an old thread, but are you having problems with messages failing to send when connected to your microcell? It happens to me A LOT.

    I havent tried any other phones since ive had the microcell, but i dont have this problem when im not home.
     
  10. ed0810

    ed0810 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    I actually did this exact thing today. I was able to get outgoing calls working no problem (I just typed in my sipgate info into sipdroid).
    But how do I get incoming calls working? Basically, I want to make it so calling my sipgate number rings my phone (running sipdoid). I did set my GV number to forward to my sipgate number but now calling my GV number always goes to google voicemail.
    I'm pretty much a newb at this so I must have missed a step. Any help appreciated. Thanks.
     
  11. Sharkonwheels

    Sharkonwheels Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Messages:
    268
    Likes Received:
    12
    Normally, you would just need to have the SIP client running int he background.
    If SIPDroid, make sure there's the "green light" in the notification bar.

    T
     
  12. ed0810

    ed0810 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Just got this working, I had to have Sipgate "ring on" my "Voip-Phone" (not cell phone/landline). I knew it was some silly misconfig on my part...
     
  13. iMouseOne

    iMouseOne Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    5
    Nope, never had a problem. One time no one was able to make or receive called but it fixed itself the next day.
     

Share This Page

Loading...