Manual Install of Froyo on Vibrant?Support


Last Updated:

  1. Bob Loblaw1

    Bob Loblaw1 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    Messages:
    372
    Likes Received:
    24
    A buddy of mine just got the Vibrant and he was asking me if there is a way to do a manual install of Froyo rather than wait for the update. Could somebody direct me to step by step instructions if they are available? Would he have to root? I searched for a bit but didn't find anything specifically for the Vibrant. Thanks.
     

    Advertisement
  2. spiz

    spiz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010
    Messages:
    920
    Likes Received:
    128
    eceryda and Bob Loblaw1 like this.
  3. refillkit

    refillkit New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Cool
     
  4. vamp6x6x6x

    vamp6x6x6x Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2010
    Messages:
    309
    Likes Received:
    12
  5. codypilot

    codypilot New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    No, no, no. I installed Froyo. It worked amazingly, until I went back to 2.1 I thought I bricked my phone until I finally got it into Download mode and flashed the stock 2.1 rom back onto it. I'm very lucky I still have my kick-ass phone and I will never do that AGAIN.
     
  6. howetechnical

    howetechnical Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2010
    Messages:
    455
    Likes Received:
    88
    Just install a custom rom like Axura and be done with it. This device will never have 2.3 or higher, so what's the point of waiting for the official 2.2 update just to have to do a custom load for gingerbread? Go custom right off the bat.
     
    Hurracayne_dre likes this.
  7. Hurracayne_dre

    Hurracayne_dre Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    95
    Likes Received:
    2
    That is the best advice I heard someone give in a while
     
  8. SamsungVibrant

    SamsungVibrant Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010
    Messages:
    1,613
    Likes Received:
    165

    Stock Froyo JK2 has been leaked and is available for download!

    I installed it, loving it!
     
  9. psz

    psz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Messages:
    315
    Likes Received:
    27
    Stock JK6 was leaked and released, too.
     
  10. VegasTouch

    VegasTouch Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010
    Messages:
    687
    Likes Received:
    31
    Axura 2.1 is running JK6
     
  11. RaymondP

    RaymondP Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2010
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    23
    Yes, learn how to download a custom rom. I gave up an Samsung. Sombionix released JK6, Stock Froyo. It works great! I slapped the Touchwiz mod from the Galaxy tab over the top of this Rom. The landscape screen rotates automatically really nice without too much lag. Gonna see if a lagfix will improve this. Go to XDA developers and do your homework first!:D
     
  12. psz

    psz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Messages:
    315
    Likes Received:
    27
    I'm currently running TeamWhiskey's Nero 2 beta (2.2 based on JL1) combined with Eugene's Super IO (no lagfix needed) Kernel (also JL-based), and I must say.... The Vibrant is an amazing phone.
     
  13. miqal

    miqal Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2009
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    I was getting ready to get rid of my Vibrant, but yesterday I rooted and installed FroYo. So happy I did. The Vibrant will stay around now.
     
  14. mwisemiu

    mwisemiu New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
  15. RUDEBOI.LOYAL

    RUDEBOI.LOYAL Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Is there an easier way to do dis
     

Share This Page

Loading...