Manual update 2.01, when I open the keyboard, all home icons disappear


Last Updated:

  1. dakster

    dakster Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    176
    Ok, just manually updated to 2.01, and everything went fine on the upgrade, no errors.

    Seems rather zippy, however now when I open the keyboard and the home screen shift to a horizontal layout, all my home screen icons (and widgets) disappear. On all three home screens.

    Everything is still there in the "all items" menu on the bottom.

    I'm not getting any kind of crash indicator, or force close or anything. A reboot brings it back, at least until I open the keyboard again. It's pretty consistent, although it seems I can avoid the problem by not opening the keyboard when it's on the home screen (only doing so when in an app).

    Never saw this with 2.0.

    I've googled around and seen other folks having similar problems, but no fixes mentioned, and none specifically referring to 2.0.1.
     

    Advertisement
  2. Tabs

    Tabs Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    I had some weird issues with certain large widgets like Beautiful Home not showing up right in landscape. I went through and just readded all my icons to the home screen and it's fine now, try that.
     
  3. dakster

    dakster Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    176
    The only widget I have is the wifi/bluetooth/sync/etc stock one, and the mototorch one. I think I'll just avoid opening the keyboard for now on the homescreen, and submit a bug or something. Thanks for the tip, I'll keep that in mind.
     
  4. DoYouDroid

    DoYouDroid Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    hahahaha DAMN, as i was reading this i was like "huh, weird"

    tried it myself, and all my icons disappeared too!!!!!
     
  5. DoYouDroid

    DoYouDroid Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    anyone else?
     
  6. Redflea

    Redflea Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,623
    Likes Received:
    289
    Not seeing any problems like you describe with either the stock home screen or Home++...

    Try turning your Droid off and on again. Can't hurt, might help.

    Try deleting and re-creating a few of the disappearing icons to see if that has any affect.
     
  7. dakster

    dakster Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    176
  8. breadnatty08

    breadnatty08 pain rustique VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    19,890
    Likes Received:
    6,118
    No problems here. I'm running Home++ FWIW. Forced install went very smoothly.
     
  9. DoYouDroid

    DoYouDroid Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    hahaha i can't believe it. i always read posts about people having issues, and i always think "Ha, newb prob did something wrong"

    then bamb, read this thread, slid out my keyboard, and all my icons flew away
     
  10. dakster

    dakster Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    176
    Just don't open your keyboard on the homescreen :)

    I tried opening a program like gmail, and using the keyboard, and then going back to the homescreen while still in horizontal layout, and the icons where still there.

    Won't be hard to avoid the problem until there's a patch later I suppose.
     
  11. DoYouDroid

    DoYouDroid Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    just downloaded home++ and icons stay when keyboard is opened

    this must be a bug that only effects stock home screen
     
  12. DoYouDroid

    DoYouDroid Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    so if you download home++, you can still use your stock homepage, but it fixes the bug for some reason
     
  13. dakster

    dakster Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    176
  14. dakster

    dakster Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    176
    So you just download home++ and don't do anything else with it (run it, configure it, etc), and it fixes the bug?
     
  15. DoYouDroid

    DoYouDroid Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    i downloaded home++ beta, it auto installed, i opened it, and the bug was fixed :)

    I just used the "home chooser" to choose my default home screen.
     
  16. dakster

    dakster Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    176
    Thanks for the tip. I installed it as well, and set the stock home app as the default (and updated the bug report to list this info).

    So far the problem hasn't happened yet.
     
  17. kg6epf

    kg6epf Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    199
    Likes Received:
    99
    No home programs installed, no such problems here.

    Force installed 2.0.1. last night and no issues for me so far. :)
     
  18. Redflea

    Redflea Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,623
    Likes Received:
    289
    Home++ is better than the stock home screen...you guys are lucky you have to install it to fix this issue 'cause now you get to try it. ;)
     
  19. DoYouDroid

    DoYouDroid Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    hahaha i like the stock home
     
  20. finerrecliner

    finerrecliner New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    I also had this problem when I upgraded to 2.0.1, but I may have solved it:

    I removed, and re-added all the widgets on my homescreen(s). in my case this was the music player (out-of-the-box), brightness level app, and the wifi on/off app. I didn't touch the shortcuts.

    The problem seems to have gone away for me, so I hope this helps some of the rest of you :)
     

Share This Page

Loading...