Manual update RC29 to RC33.


Last Updated:

  1. Kennycheng0705

    Kennycheng0705 New Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 20, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    My G1 was up to date and then I go impatient and rooted it to put the Dev version of Cupcake onto my phone. Thinking the release of Cupcake was right around the corner, I reset my phone back to RC29, but didn't complete the whole root access, because I didn't need or really want the root access. I was told that I should get an OTA to update my phone back to RC33, but it's been a week now and I haven't gotten any sort of update.

    With cupcake not coming for another week, I want to update my phone to RC33, so when cupcake does come I am eligible for the OTA. Can someone get me a working link to the update file to RC30 form RC29?
     

    Advertisement
  2. noonehereyet

    noonehereyet No One... VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2008
    Messages:
    3,121
    Likes Received:
    78

    ota RC30 update http://www.getyourdroidon.com/root/signed-RC30-from-RC29-fat.1582cace.zip

    ota RC33 update http://www.getyourdroidon.com/root/signed-PLAT-RC33-from-RC30.zip
     
  3. Kennycheng0705

    Kennycheng0705 New Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 20, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    You are awesome.

    Can I ask for one more thing...

    I know I have to rename the zipefile to 'update' then I put it into my SDCard. After that what do I do again?
     
  4. noonehereyet

    noonehereyet No One... VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2008
    Messages:
    3,121
    Likes Received:
    78
    follow either JustJimJpc's http://androidforums.com/updates-cupcakes/5006-g1-t-mobile-total-newbie-help.html#post32119 or Devolio's rooting guide http://androidforums.com/developer-101/3252-rooting-quick-guide-updated-3-10-09-a.html

    since you are not rooted i would say you just need to do step 4 but since i have never actually un-rooted to test the process this is about as far as i can take you help wise...
     
  5. Kennycheng0705

    Kennycheng0705 New Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 20, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sweet, so I'm updated to RC33... now I just have to wait for Cupcake to be OTA right?
     
  6. noonehereyet

    noonehereyet No One... VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2008
    Messages:
    3,121
    Likes Received:
    78

    correct...
     
  7. justjimjpc

    justjimjpc Premium Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2008
    Messages:
    10,543
    Likes Received:
    210
    Dont forget you may need to reflash the radios for your current build .

    that is Step 5. in the Root procedures in my signature below ...
     
  8. iboombastic

    iboombastic Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    4
    wait do i have to update radio because i updated from RC29 to RC33 on US
     
  9. justjimjpc

    justjimjpc Premium Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2008
    Messages:
    10,543
    Likes Received:
    210
    If you go from 1.1 to 1.5 then you need to update radios...

    If you go from 1.5 to 1.1 then you need to update radios...

    These to major versions have different radio drivers ...
     

Share This Page

Loading...