Manually update PRL?


Last Updated:

  1. Jeffery

    Jeffery Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    526
    Likes Received:
    61
    Does anyone know a way to manually update your phone's PRL (not *228)? My PRL was updated and now I am not getting 3G where I live.

    I tried ##PROGRAM, but there was no place to change the PRL.
    Dialing ##778# does not work either for me.

    Any help would be appreciated.

    Thanks
     

    Advertisement
  2. nevergonnauseth

    nevergonnauseth Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2010
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    6
    Why not *228?
     
  3. Jeffery

    Jeffery Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    526
    Likes Received:
    61
    *228 is how I lost my 3G and Verizon can't seem to help me get my old PRL back or get 3G working for me again.
     
  4. defkorn

    defkorn Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2009
    Messages:
    270
    Likes Received:
    25
    Go to settings > about phone > status. What is your PRL Version? I don't think you can "lose" it, it will just upgrade it if there is an updated list.
     
  5. ENIGMAFIED

    ENIGMAFIED New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    I know something similar happened to me with my Incredible, Verizon was of very little help. I talked directly with HTC, and asked them if a PRL update could cause menu's to change on my phone, symbols to change, and for my reception to suck. They said yep.

    For me, the stock PRL that was loaded onto the phone was the one that worked well. HTC told me if I do a hardware reset, I will have that PRL back. Did that, got my old PRL back, and used a program called QPST to save that PRL to my comp, and to my Incredible. On the incredible, you can switch PRL's on the phone. On the Moto Droid, it is quite a bit harder to do that.

    This is the forum for you if you want to do that:
    service programming on the moto droid

    I would definitely recommend calling Motorola though for their take on the situation. I am changing the PRL on my nephews droid right now, and let me tell you it is a decent amount of work so far! lol

    Hope it helps :)
     
  6. digdug1

    digdug1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010
    Messages:
    1,965
    Likes Received:
    309
    *22899 will update your prl
     

Share This Page

Loading...