Market app crashes when I attempt to open...


Last Updated:

  1. riggsAndroid

    riggsAndroid Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    6
    My market app keeps crashing when I click the icon. Only option is to force close. I removed some apps the other night, but just some games, and such.

    I have searched and haven't found any solution to this problem. I have done a soft reset (battery out for 3 minutes) but it still happens. I'm going to call Sprint to see if they know what is up.

    Any insights are appreciated.

    -Riggs
     

    Advertisement
  2. tatonka_Hero

    tatonka_Hero Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,566
    Likes Received:
    86
    make sure you don't have 70+ apps, as that seems to cause problems.

    Also, go into settings, manage applications, and clear the cache for the market...that might help
     
  3. riggsAndroid

    riggsAndroid Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    6
    I only have ~10apps installed from what was on it out of the box. I don't think its the 70 apps thing.

    There is no cache to clear for the market...could that be an indication?

    Thanks for the help. Calling Sprint now...
     
  4. tatonka_Hero

    tatonka_Hero Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,566
    Likes Received:
    86
    Really? No cache on the market? You're probably right, I'm running 2.1 so I have a hard time verifying any advice I give with 1.5, and my memory is freaking terrible. I know there's cache with the market on the 2.1 ROM's (at least DamageControl).

    Sprint will likely have you do a hard reset after making you do all the stuff you've already done lol
     
    riggsAndroid likes this.
  5. riggsAndroid

    riggsAndroid Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    6
    Yea, they gave me my ID, etc. I'm wondering if I should just root and put a custom ROM on. If I am going to have to do a hard reset, might as well make the best of it.

    BTW, the "HTC Guru" as the tech. rep. said, has said April the 2.1 release will be out, and she has heard April 2nd, but the tech rep. said that is unlikely because those type of updates are usually released toward the end of the month.

    Just wanted to throw some fuel on the fire about it.

    Thanks for your help tatonka. Would you recommend DamageControl over the other 2.1 roms?

    Thanks again!
     
  6. tatonka_Hero

    tatonka_Hero Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,566
    Likes Received:
    86
    I just read in the "clearing searches in marketplace" thread that the ability to clear cache in the market app requires root, which explains why it's on my phone and not yours lol.

    I'm a big fan of DamageControl at the moment, at least until the official 2.1 comes out and there's a dozen 2.1 ROM's at that point. But, as far as I know, the facebook friendstream like on the 1.5 ROM's doesn't exist on our 2.1's...yet. And the facebook sync, while it does work, syncs ALL of your friends from facebook into your contacts...sort of. They don't show up in your actual contacts, but when sending a text or something along those lines, they're in the list of contacts there. I'm not sure if there's a fix for that yet as I haven't been keeping up on the thread on XDA lately (although, Damageless is working on an update for it, likely today).
     
  7. uminchu

    uminchu Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2009
    Messages:
    525
    Likes Received:
    134
    DarchLegend v4.2, adapted from the HTC Legend, has Friendstream working. Very nice ROM, but it doesn't show all protected market apps. For now, I'm back to DamageControl.
     
  8. tatonka_Hero

    tatonka_Hero Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,566
    Likes Received:
    86
    Yeah, they've each got their little quirks, and none will be perfect until we get either a leak of the Hero 2.1, or the actual update
     

Share This Page

Loading...