market & app problems. need help plz!


Last Updated:

  1. gixxalicious

    gixxalicious Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2010
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    I downloaded and installed a new rom. I love the rom but when I search my market for craigsphone gang wars and a few others it shows no results... how come? When I revert back to stock root they show up but not with this rom... is there some sort of hack I need to perform??
    Thanks!
     

    Advertisement
  2. istolvampire

    istolvampire Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    503
    Likes Received:
    35
    usually clearing cache in market app clears this up. Also force close it after clear cache. Then all should be well
     
  3. gixxalicious

    gixxalicious Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2010
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    How do I do that??
     
  4. gixxalicious

    gixxalicious Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2010
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    I cleared it but it didn't work... it only happens when I install a custom rom =/
     
  5. istolvampire

    istolvampire Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    503
    Likes Received:
    35
    this is a known issue. can't find the thread right now. Try going into recovery and just delete cache not data.
     
  6. gixxalicious

    gixxalicious Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2010
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    I just did the cache thing but it didn't work either =/ I miss my apps lol
     
  7. istolvampire

    istolvampire Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    503
    Likes Received:
    35
    Backup first: You could try to delete the market apk (in system/apps) from rootexplorer (reboot)and extract market apk from any rom out there(on pc). Load on sd card and install with astro file manager or equivalent. Maybe reloading the apk will solve the problem.
     
  8. gixxalicious

    gixxalicious Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2010
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    That sounds waaaay too complicated for me lol. I think illl just restore to my original root... it sucks but I don't want to brick my phone in the process of trying to fix my market =( so long beautiful red theme!
     
  9. publicanimal

    publicanimal Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    Messages:
    545
    Likes Received:
    88
    What ROM are you using? I could try to create a patch for you... it might not fix your problem but it won't hurt your phone.
     
  10. gixxalicious

    gixxalicious Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2010
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Every rom I try besides lithium mod roms from rom manager do this. Right now I have the GSXRDON red/black rom and theme. If I download lithium mod roms from rom manager it gives me the option for a market hack. I always check it and nvr have that problem. Any other ones I do have this problem lol
     
  11. istolvampire

    istolvampire Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    503
    Likes Received:
    35
    If you made a backup as I suggested restoring back to what you had before would not have been a problem. It was not as complicated as you are making it out to be but if you don't feel confident then I understand.
     
  12. gixxalicious

    gixxalicious Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2010
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm really not that confident in deleting the market bc I'm not sure where to download it again. I mean I don't know what all that means up there lol. I'm kinda new to being rooted.
     
  13. istolvampire

    istolvampire Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    503
    Likes Received:
    35
    I truly understand. Sorry I couldn't be more helpful.
     
  14. publicanimal

    publicanimal Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    Messages:
    545
    Likes Received:
    88
    I can't help either... have you considered that the apps you're looking for might have been pulled from the market?

    EDIT: Nevermind, if they show up in stock that doesn't make sense. Still I can't help you, I've never had that issue and what's baffling is that it is occurring on multiple ROMs
     
  15. istolvampire

    istolvampire Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    503
    Likes Received:
    35
    Reloading the app might or might not cure the problem but if he won't try it then there is not much else to say.
     
  16. publicanimal

    publicanimal Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    Messages:
    545
    Likes Received:
    88
    gixxalicious: Are you doing data/cache wipes before you install new ROMs?
     
  17. gixxalicious

    gixxalicious Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2010
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    She. I'm a girl lol =P. Its not that I won't try it... I'm affraid ill mess something up. But ill give it a shot if someone can walk me thru it tomorrow sometime...
    Yes I do data and cache wipe everytime I install a rom. I saw someone else having a similar problem somewhere but don't really remember where.
     
  18. istolvampire

    istolvampire Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    503
    Likes Received:
    35
    Sorry gixxalicious, I meant no offense.

    If I get time I will write you some instructions Miss/Mrs. Gixxalicious.
     
  19. publicanimal

    publicanimal Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    Messages:
    545
    Likes Received:
    88
    LOL, not a lot of girls around here so it's almost natural to assume that it's a he... but you know what they say about assuming.

    gixxalicious I really wish I could help but your issue just has me scratching my head.
     
  20. istolvampire

    istolvampire Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    503
    Likes Received:
    35
    gixxalicious have you gone into Rom Manager-download rom-cyan(i believe this is the rom you are using with the monster theme) and flashing the google apps for Froyo? If not try that.

    If you have or that doesn't work then post a link to the stock rom that the market works for you and I will extract the apk for you.
     
  21. publicanimal

    publicanimal Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    Messages:
    545
    Likes Received:
    88
    This tidbit might help, courtesy of GirLuvsDroid:

    The easiest way to make an update.zip file for loading an app in /system/app (the "cheater's method") is as follows:
    -On your PC, take one of the theme files compatible with the ROM you're using, right click on it and open it as an archive using 7zip or WinRar (don't ever unzip this file!)
    -Inside the zip archive, you'll see 2 folders: META-INF and system
    -Don't touch the META-INF folder
    -Open the system folder and delete the framework folder
    -Open the app folder and delete all the apps in there, then drag the stock .apk you're getting into that app folder
    -Close the zip archive and rename it something descriptive.
     
  22. istolvampire

    istolvampire Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    503
    Likes Received:
    35
    Might confuse her with the phone.apk when she needs the marketupdater.apk

    Just saying. Otherwise nice steps.
     
  23. publicanimal

    publicanimal Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    Messages:
    545
    Likes Received:
    88
    Oops. copied and pasted without regard to file name. my bad. That was also directed at you if you didn't know how to make an update.zip / patch file. Might be easier for her to just flash a .zip than moving files around in root explorer.
     
  24. istolvampire

    istolvampire Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    503
    Likes Received:
    35
    Thanks, good to know but I prefer the manual way. Heck I even load my roms the manual way.lol Probably the last person who still does it that way.lol
     
  25. publicanimal

    publicanimal Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    Messages:
    545
    Likes Received:
    88
    It's still the manual way, just a different manual way. Some apps can only be safely replaced by flashing in recovery.
     

Share This Page

Loading...