Market Apps missing - aka - how to save/restore your apps to the HTC EVO 3DSupport


Last Updated:

  1. EarlyMon

    EarlyMon The PearlyMon Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010
    Messages:
    57,630
    Likes Received:
    70,296
    Yep. But - maybe not the system apps. Hate it when I misspeak (nice euphemism for screw up) =- checking now.

    Astro will do most of them - all of the downloaded ones, a few from the system pre-installs.
     

    Advertisement
    drexappeal and marctronixx like this.
  2. ImpulsebuyerNy

    ImpulsebuyerNy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2011
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    13
    If so can you explain to others how you are doing it? Also what will be saved in terms of when you sync up the 3D for the first time (google contacts, does that include facebook information as well) I am wondering if i should or not prior to tomorrow mornings big release -

    Also whats on our mem cards right now that would be worth transferring over ..
    Sorry but never had some much on a phone until the 4G and want to make sure i dont loose anything - (have music, photos, apps etc..)
     
  3. EarlyMon

    EarlyMon The PearlyMon Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010
    Messages:
    57,630
    Likes Received:
    70,296
    I've moved your thread over here - a few posts up discusses the ins and outs of getting your apps from one phone to the other.

    To wipe your phone to ensure it's blank, perform a factory reset (settings, SD & phone storage) then unmount and format your SD card. (Be sure to back that up to your PC first!!)

    Personally, I'd grab the whole SD card - you can always toss away later what you don't need, but you can't get back anything once you've formatted the new one.

    Hope this helps!
     
  4. blingeorkl

    blingeorkl Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2011
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    25
    Does Astro save app data to your sdcard or just the applications? If not, is there a way to save data?
     
  5. EarlyMon

    EarlyMon The PearlyMon Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010
    Messages:
    57,630
    Likes Received:
    70,296
    I believe just the app, without root methods, not sure how to advise saving and restoring data.
     
  6. blingeorkl

    blingeorkl Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2011
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    25
    Dang. Phone came with 2.3 and I've only had it for a week so I didn't really have a chance to root it.
     
  7. ArtGuy

    ArtGuy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2010
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    14
    Success!

    Thanks to all for the help!

    -Brad
     
    EarlyMon likes this.
  8. o0adam0o

    o0adam0o New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    I just went from a Evo 4G to a Evo 3D.

    I dont remember what i did on my Evo but in the end i had all my contacts in one gmail acct (Email #1). Then i had my market apps on a different gmail acct (Email #2).

    When i got my Evo 3D at the Sprint store the guy asked for my gmail account to sync my contacts.. so i gave him the account i had my contacts on (Email #1). I dont know how he set it up but he gave me back the phone with my contacts showing. Which was fine.

    I later got on market and started downloading apps. Thats when i realised that my market was tied to the same account i had my contacts on (Email #1) and not the one i had my apps on (Email #2).

    I need market to be synced to my other gmail account (Email #2) because i purchased some apps on that account.. what can i do?

    I hope i make sense lol

    Any help is appreciated!
     
  9. ninja_reject

    ninja_reject Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2011
    Messages:
    536
    Likes Received:
    82
    Factory reset, before you waste time on widgets and wallpapers, or money on apps. Then set up your market Gmail account first, as your primary account. Then just go to accounts and sync, and hit "add account".
     
  10. o0adam0o

    o0adam0o New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0

    Thanks for the response! Well if i have to reset in order to get my other gmail account on my market then i will just wait a few months to see if root comes out for Evo 3D.


    Thanks again!
     
  11. EarlyMon

    EarlyMon The PearlyMon Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010
    Messages:
    57,630
    Likes Received:
    70,296
    Try running Setup in the app drawer, top hat icon.
     
  12. O1PewterWS6

    O1PewterWS6 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2010
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    7
    On my wife's EVO the market app like others have experienced don't have all of her apps showing so she can't update them. I have tried the different techniques of: Force stopping the Market, Clearing the Cache, and I cannot clear the data because the button is always grayed out even though I have stopped the updater, or google frameworks. The other technique people have said that worked was downloading and uninstalling a free app, but did no use.

    Anybody know a way to get the apps to show back up or how to get my Clear data button not grayed out?
     
  13. sbillard

    sbillard Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2010
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    3
    Make sure the content filter settings allow all aps. Some apps seem mis-clasified and do not show up when there are restrictions.
     
  14. O1PewterWS6

    O1PewterWS6 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2010
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    7
    I tried that and I have it on show all apps.
     
  15. marctronixx

    marctronixx Moderator Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2009
    Messages:
    5,689
    Likes Received:
    3,484
    why dont you go to the website of market and re-download to the device?
     
    EarlyMon likes this.
  16. O1PewterWS6

    O1PewterWS6 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2010
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    7
    I'll try that tonight.
     
    marctronixx likes this.
  17. labunjef

    labunjef New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    1
    I had this same problem after I downloaded the new market also couldn't get any of my apps to show up my apps once I got the new market. I tried lots of different options and couldn't get it to work so I just put the old market back on my phone and will wait for the OTA update for the new market-
     
    marctronixx likes this.
  18. tflb

    tflb Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2010
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    23
    I'm drawing a blank, any help would be appreciated. Thx
     
  19. wake69

    wake69 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2010
    Messages:
    1,808
    Likes Received:
    513
    They are linked to ur gmail, amazon or slideme account and will be available for download once you switch since this is the root thread root, use titanium back up or my backup root and save then restore
     
  20. Knewz

    Knewz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2010
    Messages:
    821
    Likes Received:
    72
    back them up to your sd card via third party app(appmonster,appbrain,astro file manager) on the Evo then move your card to your 3D and used the same app to restore them
     
  21. jerofld

    jerofld Fixing stuff is not easy VIP Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2011
    Messages:
    7,688
    Likes Received:
    4,273
    Market > Settings > My Apps.

    Assuming you used the same Google / Gmail account to buy apps on your 4G as you did on your 3D. If not, make sure you get the new market and put your old Gmail in the accounts section. Then you can switch to your old account and use the apps you bought with that Gmail. I have 2 Google accounts and I do this. Really easy.

    But, if you want to back up save games and such, yeah, TB will do that. Mybackup Root will probably do it, too.
     
  22. tflb

    tflb Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2010
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    23
    I'm not rooted, sorry about putting this in here. So if I install appbrain on my new phone will my apps come with me?
     
  23. NeoteriX

    NeoteriX Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    905
    Likes Received:
    734
    Your apps are always linked to your Google account. If you go to the Android Market, you'll see "purchased" and "download" for the paid apps you've already purchased.
     
  24. libai8268

    libai8268 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2010
    Messages:
    137
    Likes Received:
    9
    Restoring the apps from astro but the apps don't show up at the market. Just wondering if there's anyway I can relink them? I search the forum and some people said astro has fixed the issue but some said not. According to my situation, it's not fixed.....
     
  25. standardevo

    standardevo Active Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2012
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    2
    I know that contacts sync but do app sync? A example would be if I do a factory reset will mylst of all my apps I had downloaded before I reset my phone be able to be redownloaded without having to write down a huge list of all my current apps, this is not to be confused with the complete list that includes all my downloads on the gmail account, because of course I deleted a lot of apps I didn't like and don't want to redownload all the apps I uninstalled in the past
     

Share This Page

Loading...