Market Updates.General


Last Updated:

  1. ludist210

    ludist210 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    396
    Likes Received:
    41
    Hey guys.

    I can open up My Downloads in the Market and see that I have two updates available, but I don't get a notification like I used to. The only way I can see that I have updates is to check in the Market. Any reason why this would be happening? Did I turn off a setting by accident?
     

    Advertisement
  2. Caddyman

    Caddyman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    3,216
    Likes Received:
    638
    it seems there is a delay with them getting to the notification bar, have noticed this.
     
  3. ludist210

    ludist210 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    396
    Likes Received:
    41
    All right, so it isn't just me. Maybe this will get fixed in a future update. Thanks for the info!
     
  4. Solitary

    Solitary Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Messages:
    329
    Likes Received:
    0
    my phone is the same way
     
  5. Caddyman

    Caddyman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    3,216
    Likes Received:
    638
    maybe not even a delay but they just dont, until you open the market app, seems if you open the market app they pop right into the notif bar.
     
  6. ludist210

    ludist210 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    396
    Likes Received:
    41
    Not for me. I even double-checked the "Notify Me When Updates Are Available" option. I can be staring at updates and I still won't get the notification icon.
     
  7. jdub71

    jdub71 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    1
    I've noticed similar action, but last night got notfication of updates. Odd.
     
  8. Frisco

    Frisco =Luceat Lux Vestra= VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Messages:
    22,479
    Likes Received:
    9,225
    Maybe it's a selective roll-out of updates. :D
     
  9. jdub71

    jdub71 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    1
    :D funny
     
  10. DaWeav

    DaWeav Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    343
    Likes Received:
    53
    I have the Sprint HTC Hero which is the distant cousin to the Verizon Droid HTC Eris and it has never (ever) provided any Market Update Notifications at all...ever! So, I consider your guys fortunate that your HTC Eris at least tries to do this.
     
  11. Frisco

    Frisco =Luceat Lux Vestra= VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Messages:
    22,479
    Likes Received:
    9,225
    Me, too. But I've noticed a lot of junk in there. I know that one person's junk is another person's treasure, but some of that stuff looks like it's kind of spammy with ads, not to mention just low-grade graphics.

    Also, a good portion of the news and weather apps available in Market just give you headlines which, when you click the headline, takes you to the news entity's home page instead of to the article.

    Most of those are free, but I'm just saying that you might have to spend a lot of time scrolling through the junk to find something worth either the money or your time testing it out and maybe keeping it.
     
  12. thetomlin2

    thetomlin2 Guest

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009
    Messages:
    1,292
    Likes Received:
    242
    I hate to beat this drum, but do you use a task killer? If you kill the market, you wont get updates.
     
  13. mc48

    mc48 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    480
    Likes Received:
    36
    I have a question about pay apps and updates to them. I've only purchased one app, Better Cut, and yesterday I got notification of an update so I downloaded it. During the download process, it indicated that it was verifying my credit card info again. I haven't checked my bank balance yet to see, but every time I update it, I'm not getting charged again am I?
     
  14. OfTheDamned

    OfTheDamned The Friendly Undead VIP Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    9,691
    Likes Received:
    8,364
    You shouldn't be. I will have to look at that next time I get an update for one of my paid apps. Although I have never noticed anything on my bank statement and I am pretty anal about my accounts.
     
  15. thetomlin2

    thetomlin2 Guest

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009
    Messages:
    1,292
    Likes Received:
    242
    I havent noticed either, and I have better cut
     
  16. ludist210

    ludist210 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    396
    Likes Received:
    41
    I was using Advanced Task Manager.

    Let me rephrase that. I downloaded Advanced Task Manager, but was not running it. I uninstalled it to see if that was part of the problem. Nothing to update as of yet.
     

Share This Page

Loading...