MarketplaceSupport


Last Updated:

  1. celticone

    celticone Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 22, 2010
    Messages:
    130
    Likes Received:
    17
    Hi Received my new Desire today, great piece of kit (a lot slimmer than I thought it would be). Great phone. Question though, how do I connect to the google marketplace? I click the widget and then get prompted to enter my details, which I do but when I press the Enter (return) key after the password nothing happens?? What am I doing wrong? Cheers
     

    Advertisement
  2. kboya

    kboya Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010
    Messages:
    401
    Likes Received:
    72
    R u on WiFi or mobile data when u try?
     
  3. celticone

    celticone Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 22, 2010
    Messages:
    130
    Likes Received:
    17
    I've tried it with both (ie Wifi on then turning it off and using 3G). I enter my google id then the password but then thats when nothing happens, i press enter (return) after enter the password but nothing happens, not even an error message.
     
  4. celticone

    celticone Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 22, 2010
    Messages:
    130
    Likes Received:
    17
    I synced the phone to my yahoo email address, maybe I needed to do it to google mail?? Will that knock off the yahoo address? I only use yahoo not google mail.
     
  5. nx1977

    nx1977 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010
    Messages:
    2,419
    Likes Received:
    172
    You need a google acct to use market
     
  6. celticone

    celticone Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 22, 2010
    Messages:
    130
    Likes Received:
    17
    I have a google account, but don't use it, had it for years. So when I clicked the google market place wedget it prompted me to enter my id and password (which i did) but nothing happens after entering the password. Should i synch the phone to my google mail account rather than yahoo??
     
  7. nx1977

    nx1977 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010
    Messages:
    2,419
    Likes Received:
    172
    What happens if you run the Gmail app when connected to wifi?
     
  8. celticone

    celticone Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 22, 2010
    Messages:
    130
    Likes Received:
    17
    If I click the google app it shows my email in my google mail account. Very strange. I go through the google mail Id set up an (ie Sign in with your google account) yet nothing happens. Should i make up a new account and see what happens? Will that **** up my current account? I'd rather stay with my same nameID I have a google.com account rather than gmail does that matter??
     
  9. nx1977

    nx1977 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010
    Messages:
    2,419
    Likes Received:
    172
    If you can see your mail, then should be OK.

    Market uses your google ID and talk app also has an effect.
     
  10. celticone

    celticone Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 22, 2010
    Messages:
    130
    Likes Received:
    17
    Nah I'm stuck in a loop, enter details, details fine then back to beginning create account, might try creating brand new gmail details, but don't want to be stuck with shit account though.
     
  11. nx1977

    nx1977 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010
    Messages:
    2,419
    Likes Received:
    172
    Have you change from googlemail to gmail since setting the phone up? If so, either change back, or you need to factory reset (loose data) and set up again with your new gmail ID
     
  12. celticone

    celticone Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 22, 2010
    Messages:
    130
    Likes Received:
    17
    Brand new phone, haven't used gmail in years. Had an account when gmail first started but never really used it, now brand new phone can get emails to that address but can't access marketplace. Think i'll try a new id, be shit if i'm stuck with it though :D
     
  13. celticone

    celticone Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 22, 2010
    Messages:
    130
    Likes Received:
    17
    Im about to kill myself at the number of ids that are already taken, **** no way there are that many mes in the world :D
     
  14. celticone

    celticone Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 22, 2010
    Messages:
    130
    Likes Received:
    17
    **** this, set up new account, entered security question "A problem occured while communicating with google servers" :cool::cool:
     
  15. celticone

    celticone Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 22, 2010
    Messages:
    130
    Likes Received:
    17
    Any one else having trouble connecting to the google servers :rolleyes:
     
  16. nx1977

    nx1977 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010
    Messages:
    2,419
    Likes Received:
    172
    Fine here. How about if using your mobile network? Could be an ISP issue
     
  17. celticone

    celticone Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 22, 2010
    Messages:
    130
    Likes Received:
    17
    Can I add/download wedgits via PC then onto the phone, bypassing all this piss above????
     
  18. celticone

    celticone Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 22, 2010
    Messages:
    130
    Likes Received:
    17
    Nah turned off Wii fii, can connect to internet using 3G but still come up with google servers busy. So annoying.
     
  19. nx1977

    nx1977 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010
    Messages:
    2,419
    Likes Received:
    172
    Not always no. Many apps are only in market
     
  20. celticone

    celticone Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 22, 2010
    Messages:
    130
    Likes Received:
    17
    **** nice phone but this had tilted me, i have to go out and kil someone :D Tell the Daily Mail about me :cool:
     
  21. lekky

    lekky Lover VIP Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    5,252
    Likes Received:
    1,266
    Have you created a new account on your pc?

    If you haven't done anything on hte phone yet then do a hard reset, and enter your google email (your original one) during the phone setup.
     
  22. celticone

    celticone Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 22, 2010
    Messages:
    130
    Likes Received:
    17
    Thanks Lekky, once i'd sobered up I reset the phone and used my google account when prompted, worked a charm. Cheers
     

Share This Page

Loading...