May have bricked my phone. Fix possible but need help!


Last Updated:

  1. buckshotfacelift

    buckshotfacelift Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2010
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have searched and searched and have found nothing.

    Here's my problem:

    I have a 3.5mm jack T-mobile mytouch. I had successfully rooted it and installed one of the cyanogen roms; 5.something. Can't remember the exact version, but it was the 2.1 eclair clone. I had it running very nicely and then one night I was poking around the clockwork mod app and saw the "fix permissions" option, so I clicked on it.

    After it was done a lot of my programs started to force close, including clockwork mod itself. I reinstalled the effected apps and it worked temporarily. Soon the previously effected apps started to force close again.

    So being frustrated I decided to install the rom update that was available under clockwork mod. It was listed as v. 6.0.0.

    Then the phone started to reboot.

    The first time it hung on the green "mytouch 3g" screen for a long time. I had to pull the battery.

    The second time it booted past the green screen, but this time it got stuck on the boot animation screen (the one that is an animated "X" with the droid in the middle). So I pulled the battery again and it yielded the same result; stuck on the boot animation screen. I thought I would just give it some time and see if it would self-resolve any issues.

    It has been on that screen for three days now.

    It won't boot into recovery mode. Period.

    I can get it to boot into "Hboot".

    I have emailed koush 4 days ago, but he has not replied.

    Is there anything I can do to salvage my phone, or should I just run it over with my car and take the insurance?
     

    Advertisement
  2. Stinky Stinky

    Stinky Stinky Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    4,178
    Likes Received:
    2,072
    Hey buckshotfacelift!

    Welcome to the forums dude / dudette!

    Hmm.....

    Did you make a "Gold Card" by anychance dude?
     
  3. Xyro

    Xyro 4 8 15 16 23 42 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    12,759
    Likes Received:
    8,894
    Moved your thread to the MyTouch 3G forum for you.
     
  4. buckshotfacelift

    buckshotfacelift Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2010
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0

    No. I started to, but then stopped. I got confused and just rooted and installed CM 5 using the "easy method" that did not require a gold card.
     
  5. Stinky Stinky

    Stinky Stinky Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    4,178
    Likes Received:
    2,072
    Hmm.... that is not good news my friend...

    Plz tell me that you have an HTC Tattoo?

    I have one. I can make you a gold card and try help you. :)
    I can send you the CID corrected file to help you

    Sorry i did not read your post peroperly sorry!

    I do this sometimes :)

    Try this to make a gold card for the "my touch 3g".

    http://theunlockr.com/2009/08/14/how-to-root-your-mytouch-3g/
     
  6. buckshotfacelift

    buckshotfacelift Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2010
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Wow I just realized that my wife has the identical phone, but hers is not rooted - still running the stock 1.6.

    What to do?

    Sorry I am a noob. I'll probably need my hand held through this process.
     
  7. Stinky Stinky

    Stinky Stinky Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    4,178
    Likes Received:
    2,072
    Yeeeeessss!!!! That is very good news!
     
  8. Stinky Stinky

    Stinky Stinky Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    4,178
    Likes Received:
    2,072
    Okay first things first:

    Take ur wife's phone..... plug into computer and choose "USB FLASH DRIVE MODE"

    THEN

    format the sd card

    !!!!!WARNING!!!!!

    This has the potential to destroy ur SD / Transflash card dude so be careful

    Hmm hang on a sec.... i think i can do it for you buddy

    No wait i remeber now i cannot i will have to guide through the process...
     
  9. buckshotfacelift

    buckshotfacelift Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2010
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    I couldn't find USB FLASH DRIVE MODE, but I did format the card. There is a USB connection option though.

    OK, card formatted. Now what?
     
  10. Stinky Stinky

    Stinky Stinky Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    4,178
    Likes Received:
    2,072
    Let me reboot into windows i will need this to use the CID hacker hang on a sec as i reboot dude...
     
  11. Stinky Stinky

    Stinky Stinky Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    4,178
    Likes Received:
    2,072
    Hang i need windows for yoy now dude hang on dude.... i promise i will be back.

    :)

    But i have not done this in a while so bear with me here
     
  12. Stinky Stinky

    Stinky Stinky Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    4,178
    Likes Received:
    2,072
    okay...i have rebooted into windows now... remeber this is not 100% bullet proof.... there is a chance it is bricked forever... however let's stay positive :)

    You must get QMAT also known as PSAS:

    Get it here:

    http://psas.revskills.de/?q=node/6

    download the free version
     
  13. buckshotfacelift

    buckshotfacelift Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2010
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0

    I hope it works!
     
  14. Stinky Stinky

    Stinky Stinky Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    4,178
    Likes Received:
    2,072
    Me too :)

    Did you install Phone System Analyisis Software dude?
     
  15. buckshotfacelift

    buckshotfacelift Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2010
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
  16. Stinky Stinky

    Stinky Stinky Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    4,178
    Likes Received:
    2,072
    Good :)

    Hmm i have forgotten what to do next.... okay hang on dude give me 5 minutes to see what to do again lol hahah i am getting slow :)
     
  17. buckshotfacelift

    buckshotfacelift Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2010
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    It's cool. I got all night.
     
  18. Stinky Stinky

    Stinky Stinky Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    4,178
    Likes Received:
    2,072
    Okay i just want to make sure pof this:

    When you formatted..... did you use FAT 32?

    Make sure it is fat 32
     
  19. buckshotfacelift

    buckshotfacelift Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2010
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0

    Ummmmm....

    What's that?
     
  20. Stinky Stinky

    Stinky Stinky Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    4,178
    Likes Received:
    2,072
    File Alocation Table 32 this is a type of file system

    Make sure it has been formatted to file system 32
     
  21. buckshotfacelift

    buckshotfacelift Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2010
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    OK. When I formatted I just used the "format sd card" option on the phone. I realized what you meant earlier about connecting THEN formatting.

    OK. FAT32 done correctly this time.
     
  22. Stinky Stinky

    Stinky Stinky Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    4,178
    Likes Received:
    2,072
    Download HxD setup from me here:

    And install it....
     
  23. Stinky Stinky

    Stinky Stinky Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    4,178
    Likes Received:
    2,072
    It's cool dude ;)
     
  24. buckshotfacelift

    buckshotfacelift Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2010
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
  25. Stinky Stinky

    Stinky Stinky Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    4,178
    Likes Received:
    2,072
    Okay... good.

    Now run / open HxD editor....

    WAIT HOLD ON I FORGOT SOMETHING!!

    I just want to see if you need "Debugging off" on ur device setup or not
     

Share This Page

Loading...