1. Introducing Channels - a new way to chat with other Android users!
    Dismiss Notice

Media Device, but notSupport


Last Updated:

  1. Nodzarf

    Nodzarf Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    7
    I would like to put some music on my S3 from my PC. When I connect the phone to the pc, it says "Connected as a media device" but only the camera window will pop up, even though Media device is checked. No files or anything else to work with. Any help would be appreciated. Thanks
     

    Advertisement
  2. daddycracker

    daddycracker Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    same issue. if you get an answer PM me please. Thanks!
     
  3. Nodzarf

    Nodzarf Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    7
    uh oh.. either we doing something wrong or lemons for a phone. Hope its us.
     
  4. darkfiregt

    darkfiregt Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2012
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    3
    Haven't been able to bring mine home yet, but pull down the notification menu while connect and see if there's anything about the connection. Usually there is and you can click on it and change the connection to USB storage or mass storage device.
     
  5. Nodzarf

    Nodzarf Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    7
    Pull down from notification bar gives 2 options. Media device, which is checked and Camera, which is unchecked but shows up on "My Computer".
     
  6. dracozny

    dracozny Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2010
    Messages:
    318
    Likes Received:
    23
    in another thread there was mention of some sort of software that needed to be installed on your computer because the mass storage protocol is not used in ICS
     
  7. jerofld

    jerofld Fixing stuff is not easy VIP Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2011
    Messages:
    7,688
    Likes Received:
    4,273
    You must have the Samsung device drivers installed. If you installed Kies, they are automatically installed (even if you don't use Kies). If you just want the drivers, they are available on the Samsung website.
     
  8. Nodzarf

    Nodzarf Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    7
    I finally downloaded kies. Took awhile. That was the problem. I've only had HTC phones and didn't need software
     
  9. Max Johnson

    Max Johnson Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    7
    Wow is it just me or does Kies take its time downloading? I guess the Sammy site is being bombarded today.
     

Share This Page

Loading...