Memory and Force ClosesSupport


Last Updated:

  1. mongofrye

    mongofrye Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    1
    I am running Galaxo 1.6.1. Seems like my phone runs very slow. key presses and app responsiveness is pretty bad especially when i am going between apps like google maps and pandora. at this point it starts to turn into one force close after another)

    I'm not an expert on android, but i installed Estrongs task manager and the max memory i get when i kill all apps is about 20mb. i'm often running at about 10-14 at normal use. (i'm sure its much less when the force closes start)

    Does anyone have any suggestions for freeing up memory? I saw some tweeks for the previous galaxo roms but those don't seem to apply to 1.6

    Thanks!
     

    Advertisement
  2. damuffinman

    damuffinman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2009
    Messages:
    203
    Likes Received:
    13
    I would suggest installing 'AutoKills' from the market and set the memory management to 'aggressive' or 'optimum'. See if that makes a difference.
     
  3. Alonski

    Alonski Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    is autokills 1.6 and up?
     
  4. mrqs

    mrqs Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2009
    Messages:
    1,446
    Likes Received:
    92
    aggressive memory management kinda defeats the whole point of multitasking, no?
     
  5. damuffinman

    damuffinman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2009
    Messages:
    203
    Likes Received:
    13
    I do agree with you on that point, but with Samsung only leaving 20mb of free RAM after boot, that doesn't really allow you to multitask, no? :rolleyes:
     
  6. damuffinman

    damuffinman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2009
    Messages:
    203
    Likes Received:
    13
    Just to add that the responsiveness may not just be linked to the amount of free memory. Try using Overclock Widget or SetCPU from the market to keep your phone at 528Mhz when the screen is on. It does make a difference
     

Share This Page

Loading...