memory question!?! any help would be great!!Support


Last Updated:

  1. WhoDeyFan

    WhoDeyFan Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    after 3 years of being an iphone user ive decided to go with the captivate! Ive had it for a couple days and I am loving it! I dont know what happened though. I recorded one video that was about :30 seconds and took two pictures. Now when I open my camera I get a "warning low memory" message. I checked the sd and phone storage from the settings and its showing 1.68gb available? any ideas?! also when i go to gallery i cannot look at pictures or watch the video I recorded. PLEASE HELP!!!:confused:
     

    Advertisement
  2. getDange

    getDange Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2010
    Messages:
    252
    Likes Received:
    29
    You sure it is "low memory" and not "low battery"?
    Make sure in settings the default destination for pics/vids you shoot is set to SD card (internal SD card, not the optional swappable one)
     
  3. BigCiX

    BigCiX Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2010
    Messages:
    3,591
    Likes Received:
    363
    make sure when you take your pictures it goes to your sd or sd card and not the phone memory.
     
  4. WhoDeyFan

    WhoDeyFan Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    ok i went into camera settings and storage it says phone but its gray where i cannot change it? how else would i change? oh and it is saying low memory nothing about the battery..
     
  5. RavenFox

    RavenFox VIP Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2010
    Messages:
    342
    Likes Received:
    30
    It will be grayed out unless you have an external SD card installed. Then and only then will you be able to select an alternate save location.
     
  6. WhoDeyFan

    WhoDeyFan Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    i put in an old micro sd card 1gb that i had laying around and my phone says it cannot mount it?? I am starting to get frustrated!!
     
  7. BigCiX

    BigCiX Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2010
    Messages:
    3,591
    Likes Received:
    363
    try inserting the micro sd then restarting your phone. Make sure you leave the card in.
     
  8. Rhiannon224

    Rhiannon224 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2010
    Messages:
    157
    Likes Received:
    15
    You may need to format it and 1gb isn't gonna get you very far.
    I picked up a class 2 16gb micro sd from Sandisk on Amazon for $28 with free shipping, works like a charm, I have pictures, music and videos on it works like a champ.
     
  9. WhoDeyFan

    WhoDeyFan Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am picking up a 16gb card but.just wondering if something is wrong with my phone it shouldn't already be outta memory should it?
     
  10. alphadog00

    alphadog00 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2010
    Messages:
    181
    Likes Received:
    12
    No something else is going on with your phone. Movies and photos are stored on your INTERNAL SD card - the onboard memory. You have about 13.5 GB free when you get the phone. Apps are stored with the OS in its memory area - about 1.5GB minus the OS.

    If you add a memory card, your options for saving video will be phone and memory card - both will have a little memory card icon. If you use a file manager (MyFiles is built in) you will start in/SDCard and you can browse to Camera and see all your pics and video. If you add an external card it will be located at /SDCard/SD

    Also if you go to settings->SD card and phone storage-> youc an see how much space you have on the External SD card; Internal SD card; and Internal phone storage. You can also format the internal and external memory by unmounting.

    You may have something wrong with your phone, or you may have filled up 13.5 GB without knowing it.
     
  11. Rhiannon224

    Rhiannon224 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2010
    Messages:
    157
    Likes Received:
    15
    Depends on what kind of chip it is, it may be the chip. 1gb of memeory is nothing for this phone. Go to menu--settings--sd card and phone storage, that will tell you how much available memory you have in your internal and when you get a new external. The old chip is probably fill, like I said 1gb is not much memory and could be filled quickly.
     
  12. WhoDeyFan

    WhoDeyFan Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    I think there is something wrong with my phone, when I go into settings to check the memory for the internal SD card it says unavailable and cannot be full already I have only downloaded 5or 6 Apps
     
  13. nicktooch

    nicktooch New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    if i just got a larger memory card than the one that came with my phone, how would i go about transferring the files? can i move them to my internal storage then back to the larger SD card? I have ASTRO file manager but can't seem to figure this out.
     
  14. Rhiannon224

    Rhiannon224 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2010
    Messages:
    157
    Likes Received:
    15
    Connect your phone to your computer with USB, mount the phone to the computer and you can simply move the files you want to move manually, be careful you don't move the wrong folders or files.
     
    nicktooch likes this.
  15. ageros

    ageros Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2010
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    15
    Is the internal card mounted? If you click "Unmount SD card" under the internal card settings then total space and available space will change to "unavailable." If this is the case press the "Mount SD card" button and it should start back up. If this doesn't work you may have a bad internal sd memory.
     
    borgesi likes this.
  16. borgesi

    borgesi New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thank you so much for this information,I thought I had a major problem until I saw your answer to WhoDeyFan (I had the same problem and had no idea what to do)I had a load of photos I really didnt want to lose,and was really grateful when they all appeared again in my 'Gallery'!
    Thanks again
    borgesi
     

Share This Page

Loading...