Message "force close"


Last Updated:

  1. joeb

    joeb Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2009
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have searched but couldn't find anything so decided to start a new thread and ask.

    Basically 75% of the time i try to read or write a message it says an error has occured and its needs to close then the "force close" option appears.

    Also last night my phone was getting messages but when i went to read them they were not there.

    Anyone got any idea's on how to sort?
     

    Advertisement
  2. joeb

    joeb Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2009
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    anyone??
     
  3. justjimjpc

    justjimjpc Premium Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2008
    Messages:
    10,543
    Likes Received:
    210

    Try this ...

    PHone On .. got to Main Home Screen ..

    Pull the battery and the Sim Card ... Wait 3 to 4 minutes

    Re-install SIM and battery and reboot ... give it a whirl and see that sorts it out ...
     
  4. joeb

    joeb Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2009
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0

    Tried that, but when you say reboot what do you mean switch it on normally?
     
  5. justjimjpc

    justjimjpc Premium Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2008
    Messages:
    10,543
    Likes Received:
    210
    Yes reboot ... turn the phone on ...Power up... boot it ... nothing exotic ... ;)
     
  6. joeb

    joeb Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2009
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0

    Well i have taken the sim card out and battery out and switched it on, but not left it for 4 mins.
     
  7. JoeC

    JoeC Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2009
    Messages:
    216
    Likes Received:
    1
    If that doesn't work, I hate to say it, but it may call for the factory reset. It does fix a lot of problems, but it's a pain to configure everything again.
     
  8. justjimjpc

    justjimjpc Premium Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2008
    Messages:
    10,543
    Likes Received:
    210
    If the battey was out ...How could you turn it On?

    ===================================
    You need to :
    Try this ...

    PHone On .. got to Main Home Screen ..
    with the POWER still ON !! (do not use the power button)

    Pull the battery and the Sim Card ... Wait 3 to 4 minutes

    Re-install SIM and battery and Power the phone back on

    .. give it a whirl and see that sorts it out ...
     
  9. joeb

    joeb Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2009
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    yeah have been tempted to do that, but now it seems like the Force to close error i get is popping up frequently, about 75% of the time i do something, might have to take it into an orange shop or something.
     
  10. JoeC

    JoeC Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2009
    Messages:
    216
    Likes Received:
    1
    Do the system reset before taking it in...
     
  11. justjimjpc

    justjimjpc Premium Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2008
    Messages:
    10,543
    Likes Received:
    210

    Then next thing is to do a Factory Reset ...

    If you have valuable stuff on the phone i would back it up before doing the following :

    MENU | Settings | SdCard & phone storage | Factory Reset ...
     
  12. joeb

    joeb Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2009
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    The only valuble stuff i have on there are current messages and some of them are up to 100 messages long, and my contacts, but they will be on the memory card yeah.

    Also this new update my s/n is not recognised when i go to update.

    Firmware 1.5
    Build - 1.76
    Software 1.0.0
     
  13. justjimjpc

    justjimjpc Premium Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2008
    Messages:
    10,543
    Likes Received:
    210
    No your SMS messages will need to off loaded ..
    you can Use an app called aTxtract or MyBackups Pro will do both the sms and contacts ..
     
  14. joeb

    joeb Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2009
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    The texts aren't worth
     
  15. justjimjpc

    justjimjpc Premium Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2008
    Messages:
    10,543
    Likes Received:
    210
  16. joeb

    joeb Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2009
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have a google mail account, so they will all be in there then?
     
  17. justjimjpc

    justjimjpc Premium Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2008
    Messages:
    10,543
    Likes Received:
    210

    Yes ... so if you Factory Reset or eventually get a new phone .. you just need to register my using the Gmail account and password you use for this phone ...

    Turn Sync on and the phone and google will do the rest to sync your Web Gmail contacts down to your phone ...
     
  18. joeb

    joeb Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2009
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Installed the new update and thats helped a little bit but not as much!
     
  19. joeb

    joeb Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2009
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    been doing it quite a few times and i aint been getting messages, Orange has told me to monitor it and get back to them!
     
  20. drwinston

    drwinston Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2009
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've been getting the same message poo up occassionally since I did the Orange update. Thing is it doesn't appear to actually do anything. I says "force close" so I click ok and the message just goes away and I carry on with whatever I was doing before. Android is good but it would be nice to have a phone that just works, nice and simple and doesn't have bugs all over the place. I have enough of them with my Windows run PC.
     
  21. joeb

    joeb Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2009
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    been happening all over my phone today!

    Was even in call to orange towards the end of my break, and halfway through i got the force error thing and it closed the call down! lol

    Then i wrote a nice long text to this girl ;) ;) and it forced closed it! Was not happy lol.

    Going to ring and complain major style 2mora!
     
  22. joeb

    joeb Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2009
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    got a new phone and its still happening, maybe its the Sim Card?
     

Share This Page

Loading...