Messaging AppGeneral

1. nexusor

nexusor New Member

Any way to change the appearance of the stock message app on the Droid Maxx, I am new to the phone and have much to learn coming from an iPhone?
    Thanks in advance :)

Advertisement
    :
  2. Outatime

Outatime Well-Known Member Contributor

There really isn't. If you're looking for a very solid, customizable text interface, try Handcent. Tons of options.

P.S. Welcome!
    SNeitzel and Thom like this.
  3. nexusor

nexusor New Member

Thanks Outatime. That is what I was looking for!
  4. Outatime

Don't forget to go to your Active Notifications > Manage notification types and add Handcent so you'll see see them. That is provided you don't use Handcent's popup.
  5. Rumma

Rumma Active Member

Try GoSMS Pro from the Play store
  6. mistermojorizi

mistermojorizi Well-Known Member

i use 8sms...it doesn't replace the stock app, but it's an addon that makes the stock app into the app that's included with clockwordmod roms. so it includes a dark theme and popup notifications. there's a couple settings you'll need to adjust to make it your default messaging app (cause the stock app interface is still installed).
  7. Cincybearcatfan

Cincybearcatfan Well-Known Member

Had not heard of this app. Just installed it, it is still an external app that has to be used in place of the stock app correct? I've disabled the stock app notifications.
  8. mistermojorizi

yep, but it still uses the stock app in some way...tells you not to disable it...i just found it a couple weeks ago, love it so much.
  9. redddog

redddog Well-Known Member

Hey, does the active notifications still bring you to the old text app?
    binaryhermit likes this.
  10. rabidhunter

rabidhunter Well-Known Member Contributor

It does what you tell it to. If you go to Settings > Active Notifications > Manage Notification Types, you can disable the stock messaging app and enable the replacement messinging app.