Messaging Someone - My Contacts Don't Show Up In To FieldSupport


Last Updated:

  1. phaze3131

    phaze3131 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    179
    Likes Received:
    1
    Hey guys I am really trying to figure this out. So I go into Messaging and I'd like to type in the "to" field a contacts name, like facebook does it and it starts to list matches and then you just pick the one you want. Like it searches your contacts, but I can't figure out how to do this.


    Like I can only type in a number but I don't have anyones number memorized that's the point of having a saved phone book so am I missing something here?
     

    Advertisement
  2. dmgabe

    dmgabe Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    0
    I couldn't figure that out in the default messaging app either. My solution was to download handcent from the marketplace. It is a free app and has loads o customizable features. You can even dictate messages instead of typing. At the very least, give it a try, it is free after all.:)
     
  3. ohvzwguy

    ohvzwguy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    1
    re-check your contacts....
    if the numbers are not stored as "mobile" this feature will not work..
    yes the core messaging app does support this.
     
  4. dmgabe

    dmgabe Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    0
    Either way handcent is a great app and allows you to do so much more. I did retry this using the default app though and it does work now. Last I tried it was before I did an overhaul on my contacts list.
     
  5. phaze3131

    phaze3131 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    179
    Likes Received:
    1
    OK so whats the easiest way to change 515 contacts to mobile instead of home?

    Any ideas would be great!
     
  6. ohvzwguy

    ohvzwguy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    1
    Export to an excell file. Rearrange collunms and import back to gmail. That's how I would do it atleast.

    Delete gmail contacts once your sure it exported ok (so you don't end up with duplicates)
     
  7. clos1084

    clos1084 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    187
    Likes Received:
    8
    well Id use a PC and log into your GMAIL acct. Export all contacts to a .csv file and edit the appropriate column in Excel to Mobile. Upload back into GMail
     
  8. phaze3131

    phaze3131 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    179
    Likes Received:
    1
    I can't do that because all my contacts are on my phone not gmail, and there is no way to get them on my gmail account that I can figure out.

    Syncing only takes my empty gmail contacts and erases everything on my phone.
     
  9. ohvzwguy

    ohvzwguy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    1
    From the phone goto your contacts. There is an option to export. It will create the excel file on your sd card.
     
  10. clos1084

    clos1084 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    187
    Likes Received:
    8
    Contacts>menu>export to SD card. View the export onto your PC and see what file type it is. and Try to edit them again

    I dont have a Droid til tonight so this is just a guess.

    Edit: haha vzwguy just keeps getting his post in before me
     

Share This Page

Loading...