[MetroPCS] More "COMPLETE" backup than nandroid?


Last Updated:

  1. exitprogram

    exitprogram Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2012
    Messages:
    113
    Likes Received:
    15
    I am worried that my phone will lose 4G (as it had happened on my MetroPCS S3 and i couldn't get it back) after flashing a custom ROM to it and I couldn't find a fix and an NANDROID returning to stock did nothing to fix the problem.

    I know there are other backups (like nvbackup) but i need to see what other types are out there to ensure i can revert back to the true original state.

    A complete list of all types of backups would be great. No detail, just what i can backup in addition to NANDROID. I can look up a how-to if I know what i need to back up.

    FYI i also performed an ODIN flash of the .tar image for the MetroPCS S3 and still the 4G did not return so i am looking for something more than just flashing the actual image back, as well.

    Phone Info: M919N (For metro but will be using w/Tmobile)
     

    Advertisement
  2. Rukbat

    Rukbat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2012
    Messages:
    10,398
    Likes Received:
    2,891
    There are two things that will determine whether you'll get LTE (assuming the phone does LTE, your account is provisioned for LTE and you're on a tower that does TE).

    Your baseband (that's the firmware for the radio

    The radio itself.

    If the Nandroid didn't back up the baseband, and the ROM replaced it, you're still running the ROM's radio firmware. If you can get the radio firmware and flash or Odin it, you;ll orobably fix that problem.

    Or the ROM may have done something to damage or turn off LTE in the radio. If it's damaged it's a hardware problem and has to be replaced. (Repairing the insides of chips isn't something that's done, because the labor to fix a $2 chip is probably hundreds of dollars.) If it turned LTE off for some reasson, you'd have to find out what and get software that would turn it on - and that would probably be something you'd have to discuss with the ROM dev.

    I'm betting on the first one - that your baseband is one that doesn't do LTE.

    Did you try SamMobile Firmwares for a stock ROM for your model of the S4?

    Another possibility is to take it to the Samsung kiosk at a Best Buy and ask them to reflash it for you. Don't mention the custom ROM, just that it stopped doing LTE all of sudden.
     
  3. exitprogram

    exitprogram Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2012
    Messages:
    113
    Likes Received:
    15
    The phone that had that problem was the R530M (MetroPCS S3) and that one was actually CDMA. I paid SIX hundred (!!!!!) when it first came out and they gave me the crappiest version of it. I was pretty upset.

    What's weird is that i flashed CM10.2.1 and it had LTE when it first came up, Play Store downloaded all my apps and installed them... And then LTE disappeared for good afterwards. I just dont understand. I will keep in mind the stuff that you mentioned so that i can try it out. I lost that phone and am waiting on my MetroPCS S4 to get here.
     
  4. danyvw

    danyvw Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2010
    Messages:
    685
    Likes Received:
    208
    99.9 % of ROMs do not have the GSM and NON-HLOS (LTE) modems included. You can flash almost any ROM without loosing your modems but in a case you loose them you can always flash them back using Odin. What you can loose is your EFS and I recommend you to back it up. Nandroid backups include the EFS backup option.
     
    exitprogram and ARocker like this.
  5. exitprogram

    exitprogram Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2012
    Messages:
    113
    Likes Received:
    15
    Good info. Thanks for that. I got the s4 and so far I was able to root it just fine. Still making a decision on which rom. Any recommendations? I prefer one with the high stability. I need to look to see if there are any good kernels out there :D
     
  6. exitprogram

    exitprogram Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2012
    Messages:
    113
    Likes Received:
    15
    I don't recall seeing an ERA backup option in the nandroid backup that I did after installing recovery (twrp). I'll check it again.

    Do you use twrp?
     
  7. danyvw

    danyvw Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2010
    Messages:
    685
    Likes Received:
    208
    If you mean EFS, there is an option in TWR on the backup menu.
     
  8. exitprogram

    exitprogram Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2012
    Messages:
    113
    Likes Received:
    15
    Lol. Must have been an auto correct typo.

    But yes I actually did it last night and it is there so thanks for that. Now I Know What it is and what it does.

    Thanks for da help :D:thumbup:
     
  9. danyvw

    danyvw Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2010
    Messages:
    685
    Likes Received:
    208
    You are welcome. Good luck with your new GS4.
     
    exitprogram likes this.

Share This Page

Loading...