[MetroPCS & T-Mobile] [GUIDE] Unbrick OR Unroot LG Optimus F3 [KDZ]


Last Updated:

  1. duper1

    duper1 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2013
    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    38
    Downloads:


    How to get into emergency mode:
    Powered off the phone, press and hold volume up and connected the usb cable.
    To get out of e-mode, pull battery (do not do this while flashing firmware!)
    Picture of emergency mode (Thanks to dschach):
    [​IMG]

    Before flashing firmware, please make sure your battery is well charged. Flashing does not charge your phone, and flashing can take up to 30 minutes.


    Instructions:

    1. Install phone drivers
    2. Install msxml.msi
    3. Disable antivirus software
    4. If the file you downloaded ends in KDZ, skip to step 12
    5. Open UpTestEX_mod2_marwin.exe
    6. Wait for the program to open
    7. Look for "Encrypt cab file to kdz file"
    8. Click the folder icon
    9. Choose the location of the cab you downloaded for LGVM720 firmware
    10. Encrypt cab -> kdz Program will freeze up. DO NOT EXIT until program says Done!!! Otherwise it won't finish converting.
    11. Close program
    12. Open KDZ_FW_UPD.exe
    13. "Type" choose 3GQCT
    14. Choose in "Phonemode": Emergency
    15. Click the folder icon and choose the kdz file that UpTestEX_mod2_marwin.exe just made.
    16. Click Launch software update and enjoy!

    If you are stuck in a bootloop, do this (it will factory reset by following this):
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by Sepero [​IMG]
    Take out your battery. Put it back in. Power on your phone holding Power+Vol Down.


    Source: http://androidforums.com/motion-4g-all-things-root/610609-guide-unbrick-unroot-lg-motion-4g-kdz.html

    Thanks to: please thank sammyz who posted the method here.

    http://androidforums.com/metropcs-t.../812531-guide-lg-optimus-f3-apps-sd-card.html
    http://androidforums.com/metropcs-t-mobile-optimus-f3-all-things-root/812520-guide-howto-root-lg-optimus-f3.html


    ___________________________
    [​IMG]
    Support my work
     

    Advertisement
    joeyiii57, mateogo, AquaVolt and 6 others like this.
  2. jjrx3

    jjrx3 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2012
    Messages:
    391
    Likes Received:
    58
    any other link i can get the Metro kdz? I get an "Access denied" window... thanks.
     
  3. duper1

    duper1 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2013
    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    38
    I believe this link will work for MetroPCS http://csmgdl.lgmobile.com/dn/downloader.dev?fileKey=FW263386573210987654321

    Remember to convert the cab file to the kdz format.

    You may want to try another method mentioned here on the forums.

    Download: LGMobile Support Tool
     
  4. jjrx3

    jjrx3 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2012
    Messages:
    391
    Likes Received:
    58
    I see that it has this in the title: MS695 it seems its not for the F3 right... A google search tells me its another phone...
     
  5. duper1

    duper1 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2013
    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    38
    - I believe it is for the T-Mobile phone but should work for the MetroPCS phone.

    - You may want to try the other method I previously mentioned or wait for someone to UL MS65910b_02.kdz

    - Sorry I came a few months late to this phone.

     
  6. duper1

    duper1 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2013
    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    38
    - Well after unrooting/unbricking my phone which I really didn't want to do by using the LG Mobile Support Tool I was able to pull this

    MS65910c_00.kdz
     
    w0dan812 and judyq like this.
  7. judyq

    judyq Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2011
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    4
    I just tried to use the .kdz file you posted duper1, when I got to step 15...

    "Click the folder icon and choose the kdz file that UpTestEX_mod2_marwin.exe just made. "

    the file is empty, and doesn't see the upTest ... .exe file that I need to choose. Any ideas? The file is on my computer.
     
  8. latenightzom

    latenightzom Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2013
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    1
    i get an access denied for the vm/sprint filmware. any other links?
     
  9. lldrwormll

    lldrwormll Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2014
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm getting access denied on the T-Mobile link as well. Any other sources?
     
  10. easye0156

    easye0156 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2014
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Does the tmoblie kdz folder work.. i toured type click on it and couldn't download which ones should i use.. im seeing in this forum that the ms659 works for tmobile and metro pcs
     
  11. dazemc

    dazemc Well-Known Member Contributor

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2013
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    7
  12. lldrwormll

    lldrwormll Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2014
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
  13. w0dan812

    w0dan812 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2013
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello. The T-Mobile link is still dead. Can any one please give me a good link for the T-Mobile kdz?
     
  14. w0dan812

    w0dan812 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2013
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    yes the metro kdz worked just fine for me. but now my phone is a metro phone lol (ms659) :(
     
  15. duper1

    duper1 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2013
    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    38
    - Did you try the LGMobile Support Tool?
     
  16. duper1

    duper1 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2013
    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    38
    - If someone with Sprint/VM and TMobile will private message me their IME and Model I will post new links for .kdz files on a better host site.

    - I hope to have Metro up tomorrow.
     
  17. w0dan812

    w0dan812 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2013
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
  18. w0dan812

    w0dan812 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2013
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    yes but now the computer sees the phone as a "ms659"

    i original used this software and info to fix a bootloop that the phone was having.
    the metropcs kdz file did fix the problem. but i am in need of the t-mobile kdz file so it can be flashed back to the original p659 firmware lol
     
  19. lldrwormll

    lldrwormll Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2014
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    I was able to do the same thing by flashing the MetroPCS KDZ. T-mobile SIM still works, but for some reason the home button doesn't.
     
  20. antfarm

    antfarm New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2014
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Does anyone have the T-Mobile firmware? The link is down. I'd like to have T-mobile firmware w/ my T-mobile service.
     
  21. lldrwormll

    lldrwormll Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2014
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've sent my IMEI and model number to the duper1 who said he'll be able to re-upload the KDZ with that information. Hopefully it will be up soon?

    If you need a quick fix though, you can flash the MetroPCS KDZ and your T-mobile service will still work fine. Only difference is the boot screen and slight changes in the interface. Also on my device the home button doesn't work with that firmware.
     
  22. antfarm

    antfarm New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2014
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Perfect! If you hear anything, please let me know. I'll do the same. I'm still searching...

     
  23. Whyzor

    Whyzor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2011
    Messages:
    1,108
    Likes Received:
    966
    I have a question about step 2. Install msxml.msi

    I'd prefer not install extra unnecessary stuff on my PC if I can. After some Googling, looks like this package includes MSXML4, which is an old version. MSXML6 is installed in most newer windows already. So maybe not needed?

    UPDATE: Confirmed to work without need for step 2 on Windows 7 (which already includes MSXML6, an updated version than the one included).
     
  24. lldrwormll

    lldrwormll Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2014
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi duper1, were you able to find a working KDZ file? I haven't heard from you since I last wrote you. Thank you!
     
  25. feelinfroggy34

    feelinfroggy34 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2012
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    0
    on my way to work this morning. phone froze. took battery out. will not power on. trying to load qhusb -dload driver. (HARDBRICKED AGAIN!!!) No factory reset, d/l mode, power on...when i have the battery out and plug it in the home led flashes, really quick.
     

Share This Page

Loading...