Micro SD card ??


Last Updated:

  1. Rcecarbldr

    Rcecarbldr Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2010
    Messages:
    136
    Likes Received:
    9
    Can you use any size GB card in the Hero's? Also can you use an HC card? I want to upgrade to a larger GB card than stock but want to make sure what I get is compatible. Thanks.
     

    Advertisement
  2. LBPHeretic

    LBPHeretic Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2010
    Messages:
    2,368
    Likes Received:
    507
    The Sprint HTC Hero will accept any microSD card size up to 32GB. Also, yes, any microSD card above 4GB is a high capacity (SDHC) card, so your handset does use them.

    I am currently using an 8GB microSD card that I pulled from my last smartphone. A 16GB card is starting to become the norm these days though, while the price of a 32GB card is still fairly high.
     
  3. Sixxx

    Sixxx Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2010
    Messages:
    401
    Likes Received:
    18
    I'm using a 4GB that a dude sold me for 5 bucks. It's sweet. I always said i wanted a 8 gig to be able to hold enough music for me to be happy but it seems like the 4G is doing the trick with like 500MB to spare
     
  4. RoboPhoneII

    RoboPhoneII Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2010
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    2
    Up to 32 GB. Above 32GB Android OS can not format. Its a known issue. I believe Google has acknowledged this.
     
  5. Sixxx

    Sixxx Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2010
    Messages:
    401
    Likes Received:
    18
    But hell... What could you possibly have to put on anything bigger than a 32G card?
     
  6. Little Darwin

    Little Darwin Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2010
    Messages:
    349
    Likes Received:
    37
    Were you joking? that sounds like an old quote. I understand he never said it, but there was the rhetorical question attributed to Bill Gates, "Why would anyone ever need more than 640K of RAM?"

    I thought similarly when 100 MB hard drives came out... there would never be a real reason to go bigger. Now I have to be cautious to keep my usage down on the 160 GB drive on my netbook, even though it is 1,600 times larger (and a small hard drive by today's standards). :)

    32 GB would hold most of my music library, and several books to read, but if someone wants to store video, 32GB could disappear pretty quickly.
     
  7. LBPHeretic

    LBPHeretic Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2010
    Messages:
    2,368
    Likes Received:
    507
    Do 64GB microSD cards even exist yet? I am pretty sure if they do, then they are of the SDXC variety and not SDHC, which requires different hardware.

    Our Sprint HTC Hero handsets probably would not support anything over 32GB even if the software was rewritten to support it. The physical hardware would need to be updated.
     
  8. dominicanyor

    dominicanyor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2010
    Messages:
    321
    Likes Received:
    3
    I still have the microsd card that came with the phone, i have download a couple of songs and i have a many pics on my phone. Now by having to much pics and songs will it slow down my phone?
     
  9. Mike6453

    Mike6453 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    1
    I purchased a 16GB card on ebay back around January for about $45.00. I use sailen(sp?) software to transfer my itunes playlists to my phone and it couldn't be easier. I transfer or refresh around 8.5GB of music in about 5 minutes using a free version of the software.

    With photos, music, video, and my work emails I'm only using about 11GB.

    Yeah, I could get by with a smaller card and way less music, but for the ease and the price why bother? I just load it and let it play!
     
  10. FreaKnNuts

    FreaKnNuts New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    I was told to try and get at least a class6 or higher on the micro sd cards. I was told it was faster accessing. Is this true?
     
  11. LBPHeretic

    LBPHeretic Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2010
    Messages:
    2,368
    Likes Received:
    507
    I am currently using a Class 6 microSD card that is 8GB in capacity. From what I have read, Class 6 is certainly the way to go, but Class 4 will be alright too. By the way, the Class X speed measures the writing speed in megabytes per second. It has nothing to do with the reading speed of the microSD card.

    I am not saying Class 2 is impossible to use, but that it is quite a bit slower to write data to a microSD card of that speed. Can anyone with a Class 2 micro SD card chime in and regale us with your experiences?
     
  12. Mike6453

    Mike6453 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    1
    Curiosity got the better of me so I popped open my Hero and check which card I have. I have a class 4 16GB card which has worked fine for me since day one. I've had no speed issues, but then I also don't have a way to compare against a class 2 or 6.

    I had initially purchased a 16GB card online not knowing anything about C2 or C4 or C6. The card I purchased turned out to be a C2. That card failed immediately so I called the vendor to request a replacement card at that time I also asked him to check his stock for C4 or C6 cards and I asked for the highest one. Turns out he did have a couple that were C4 so he sent me one of those. I've been using it ever since with no issues.

    Look in the corner of the card and there should be a letter "C" with a number inside of it. That number is the speed.
     
  13. tatonka_Hero

    tatonka_Hero Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,566
    Likes Received:
    86
    I just upgraded from the stock 2gig class 2 to an 8gig class 6, and it certainly "feels" faster than it did before. I haven't put much on it (yet), but I'm sure it'll fill up in a hurry (just like my laptop's old 80gig, my 160 external, and my 250 external that's getting full lol).

    On a side note, at work I've got 2 500gig hard drives, and am wondering why in the hell they put such huge drives on there when everything I'll do is on the network. Then yesterday I installed a 15 gig program and realized in about a year I'm going to want an upgrade, especially if I just back everything up to the server and run of the hard drive for faster speed (which I plan to get running on Monday)
     

Share This Page

Loading...