microsd questionGeneral


Last Updated:

  1. heavydrop

    heavydrop Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    im a noob on the forums so bare with me. how much microsd memory can you put in the incredible? i have seen 2 different specs: one for 32GB. and one for 16GB. THANK YOU FOR ANY HELP
     

    Advertisement
  2. nightfishing

    nightfishing Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    Messages:
    588
    Likes Received:
    111
    32, but few are going that route due to the cost.
     
  3. MisterMixelpix

    MisterMixelpix Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2010
    Messages:
    774
    Likes Received:
    153
    I thought the Dinc could only use a 16?

    Regardless, I'd rather drop $20 on a 16gb card than $90 on a 32.
     
  4. kyler13

    kyler13 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,638
    Likes Received:
    284
    I'd love to pay either of those prices for either of those size cards. The truth is, those prices sound more like regular SD, not micro SD. Multiply those numbers by 2 and that's more realistic.
     
  5. amarryat

    amarryat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2010
    Messages:
    365
    Likes Received:
    41
    So would I!

    To the OP - micro sdhc cards are about $200 for a 32GB. I got a 16GB for about $50 but you could a bit better, maybe $40ish if you are lucky.
     
  6. needtoride

    needtoride Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2010
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    From what I've read, the DI supports up to 32gb.
     
  7. douger

    douger Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    11
    From what I've read, Androids don't really play nice with 32gb yet. You're OK if you can get past formating it.

    I've also read that douger isn't getting 32gb until the price comes waaay down.
     
  8. TKollman88

    TKollman88 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2010
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    1
  9. murdoc158

    murdoc158 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2010
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    9
    Ok a question about SDHC cards. I don't have a card reader on my PC that supports the SDHC format. From what I've read though, the Incredible will mount as a disk drive with both the internal drive and the Mirco SD drive available when you connect with a USB cable. Is this correct? Can I essentially use the Incredible as a SDHC card reader?
     
  10. TKollman88

    TKollman88 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2010
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    1

    As far as I know, you cannot. I tried because I didn't want to keep taking my case off every time I wanted to add music or something but it did not work.:(

    Edit: Nevermind, Yes you can. A notification will pop up on the phone and you have to put it into disk mode. I stand corrected.
     
  11. sirsamuels

    sirsamuels New Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am a nob as well and thought that this would be the best place to ask my question. I have the incredible and wanted to know if there was a way to make the sd card the primary place to store my pictures and music. Basically making it the primary memory?
     
  12. paynomind

    paynomind Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    1
  13. below_radar_00

    below_radar_00 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    125
    Likes Received:
    8
  14. nightfishing

    nightfishing Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    Messages:
    588
    Likes Received:
    111
  15. scott51

    scott51 Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
  16. amarryat

    amarryat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2010
    Messages:
    365
    Likes Received:
    41
    I have learned something from reading these forums, and that is there is little reason to go with a class 6 in a phone - class 2 should easily be sufficient. Class ratings only have to do with write speeds, and unless you are doing something that writes to the card and you need it done in high speed (and the phone could actually handle it), you are probably wasting money.

    That Sandisk looks just like the one I just got - but I paid quite a bit more :(
     
  17. TheCepper

    TheCepper Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Allow me to put the 16/32gb thing to rest. I just got a 32 gig Micro SD in the mail and it is working fine. I didn't have to format anything, just put it in the phone and it recognized it with no problem. As to whether I'll have issues once I get more than 16 gigs of info on the card I can't say, but for now no problem.

    In case anyone's curious, I ordered mine directly from Sandisk, and yes, it was $200 (less 20% for online coupon). And yes, I paid more for the SD card than I did the phone. And yes, I'm aware they'll probably be half that cost in a year.
     
  18. SFBayArea

    SFBayArea Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2010
    Messages:
    270
    Likes Received:
    16
  19. needtoride

    needtoride Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2010
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yeah, I've read the same thing. People get around it by formatting the card on their PC before inserting it into the DI.
     

Share This Page

Loading...