Might buy a new router today need help


Last Updated:

  1. xxteargodxx

    xxteargodxx Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2010
    Messages:
    140
    Likes Received:
    8
    Looking to stay around the $50 dollar range on a bit of a budget here. Looking to replace our old Linksys Wireless G WRT54G router seeing as when I plugged the power cable back into it, it gave off sparks (But is still working).

    Here are a few I'm considering. And feel free to make recommendations if you want.

    Netgear 4-Port Web Safe Router with 10/100 Mbps Switch.
    Linksys Ultra RangePlus Wireless-N Broadband Router.
    Netgear WNR1000 RangeMax 150 Wireless Router.

    Also not sure if it matters but most of us in my house use Wireless G Adapters to pick up the Wireless signal.
     

    Advertisement
  2. nyydynasty

    nyydynasty Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2010
    Messages:
    956
    Likes Received:
    171
    i'm partial to linksys, especially since cisco owns them. netgear are good, too. You really can't go wrong with either of them
     
  3. SoulTerror

    SoulTerror Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010
    Messages:
    724
    Likes Received:
    48
    I'd stick with linksys as well. Cisco is pretty much the head honcho of networking.
     
  4. NYCHitman1

    NYCHitman1 Gun for Hire Developer

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009
    Messages:
    6,537
    Likes Received:
    1,738
    Linksys is the way to go imo. Whatever you do.. never buy D-Link lol
     
  5. Martimus

    Martimus One bite at a time... Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2010
    Messages:
    19,535
    Likes Received:
    4,045
    Linksys FTW!
     
  6. OMJ

    OMJ Bazinga VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,288
    Likes Received:
    825
    I have owned a lot of linksys and netgear routers. They are all pretty much the same. Especially when you put DD-WRT on them. They are much more functional with DD-WRT too.
     
  7. Poloki

    Poloki Well-Known Member Contributor

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    154
    Likes Received:
    27
    I picked up a CISCO LynkSys E2000 about a month or so ago. It's can handle N but all but one of my devices are G. The one N I have connects at 144Mbps, the G's connect at 54 Mbps.

    I replaced a Belkin, which I had to reboot every week. I have yet to reboot the the Cisco.
     
  8. xxteargodxx

    xxteargodxx Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2010
    Messages:
    140
    Likes Received:
    8
    I will most likely go Linksys cause our router we have now has never given us any issues in the past. I'm just concerned about the one I listed because some reviews for it on Staples website say it has poor connectivity.
     
  9. Martimus

    Martimus One bite at a time... Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2010
    Messages:
    19,535
    Likes Received:
    4,045
    A lot of the connectivity issues are typically caused by the composition of your home. If your home has block or older plaster walls then wireless signals have more difficulty getting through them.
     
  10. CodeMonkey

    CodeMonkey Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2008
    Messages:
    570
    Likes Received:
    110
    The WRT160N (for cable connections) is pretty good.
    I replaced my WRT54G with it because we were getting swamped by a nearby MIMO router - no longer a problem :)
     
  11. foo

    foo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2008
    Messages:
    483
    Likes Received:
    105
    WRT54GL ftw
     
  12. Isthmus

    Isthmus Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Messages:
    772
    Likes Received:
    119
    I have a question for those familiar with routers. The wireless-N car in my netbook can be configured to run at max transfer rate all the time (300MPS). If I do this on the netbook, would I need to adjust a setting in the router? I'm pretty sure the answer is no, But just wanted to make sure I wasn't missing anything.
     
  13. Martimus

    Martimus One bite at a time... Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2010
    Messages:
    19,535
    Likes Received:
    4,045
    Getting the maximum data rate consistently on a wireless router, nearly any wireless router, is nearly impossible. There are so many variables involved that we have no control over like RF interference, signal attenuation, compatibility between the radios on the router and the computer, etc.
     
  14. Isthmus

    Isthmus Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Messages:
    772
    Likes Received:
    119
    Yeah I get that, but that wasn't the question. The question was that if I max out the setting on the card (even if means that the card won't necessarily be operating at that transfer rate), would I need to adjust setting on the router as well? I'm pretty sure the answer is no, but wanted to verify.
     
  15. johnlgalt

    johnlgalt Antidisestablishmentarian VIP Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    9,416
    Likes Received:
    1,919
    It depends upon the router - I have a D-Link GamerLounge 4500 and in order to assure that you get as close to 300 Mbps on your router, you need to understand and implement the following:

    You'll need to verify the wireless N card in your laptop is compatible with the router to achieve this full throughput that you are trying to get. More than likely the wireless card in your laptop is not made by LinkSys / Cisco / D-Link.

    And while I agree that LinkSys is top brand, it also depends upon what you want to do, and how well you can configure your router. I stuck with D-Link b/c every router I have bought from them works - to this very day (going back 10+ years now). I have both of my DI524s, my DGL 4300 and my new DGL4500. But you cannot beat the rock-hard stability of the LinkSys routers, and being able to use DD-WRT is a triple bonus on those routers.

    My current setup is G/N on my 4500, and I can connect to it on my DROID from the other end of the house....and I get amazing throughput halfway down the house in my bedroom. On your Android phone, check out the app WiFi Analyzer - it will open your eyes as to who is around you broadcasting on which channels (typically, most are using 6) so if you opt for alternate channels, like I did, your signal strength (and thus receptivity on your device) will go through the roof, particularly if you find a channel no one is using....
     
    Isthmus likes this.
  16. Jhors2

    Jhors2 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Get the Linksys E2000, Target has them on sale currently for 79.99. You can flash it with the mega build of DD-WRT which is rock solid. I deploy them for business and they have been able to handle a lot of users and DD-WRT adds a ton of features not found in your off the shelf firmwares.
     
  17. zoxxo

    zoxxo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010
    Messages:
    528
    Likes Received:
    75
    I replaced a bad Netgear router with a Linksys WRT54GS, and swore I would never use Netgear again. Over time I flashed my router with DD-WRT and swore that I was in router heaven.

    This weekend I went to Fry's with the intention of upgrading to the Linksys E3000. The sales guy talked me into a Netgear WNDR37AV which happened to be on sale. Against my better judgment, I bought the router, and so far I have been quite impressed.

    I had to jump through some hoops with my ISP (Frontier, formerly Verizon) to get the old router MAC address cleared from my modem, and I had some issues with a Windows Home Server, but once I got those cleared, everything has been great!

    One positive side effect that I've noticed is that my DroidX and iPod Touch have stopped disconnecting from the wireless network. Under the old router, I would connect the devices, set them down, and later when I picked them, they woud be disconnected. Now I find them still connected the next day.

    I still think Linksys is an awesome brand, but Netgear has wowed me back...
     
  18. Isthmus

    Isthmus Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Messages:
    772
    Likes Received:
    119
    I just bought a linksys E3000 and it should be delivered tomorrow, so I hope to have it hooked up by the weekend.
     
  19. NOLA_Droid

    NOLA_Droid Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    393
    Likes Received:
    189
    Linksys WRT54GL, and then install Tomato on it. :D
     
  20. Isthmus

    Isthmus Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Messages:
    772
    Likes Received:
    119
    well I hooked up the router over the weekend. WOW, what a difference. This thing looks tiny and discrete, but it packs a wallop. It has 6 (yes I said six) internal antenas, can run in multiband mode at both 2.4ghz and 5ghz (and automatically defaults to multiband mode), supports onboard usb storage for a network drive (but oddly does not support a similar set up for a network printer, sets up a 1 GBT LAN, and includes a very handy password protected guest account that allows up to 5 devices to log into it without logging onto your main section (or having to share your log in and password).

    Set up was easy, but could have been a bit clearer. the router did not come packed with any instructions. All instructions where on the CD provided. The problem with using the CD is that it only runs on Mac or Windows (not Linux compatible), and is set up for what linksys considers you want as default. for power users who want deep configuration of their router, you have to access the configuration website and work from there, but that disables the ability to use the disk again. Anyhow, installation wasn't too painful. The mac and the windows rig were able to be configured automatically, while the Linux rig and the Android devices had to be configure manually.

    The performance difference is stunning.

    Oddly though, the linux rig, which has a wireless N card did not experience as big a performance boost as I expected. I think I need to configure the wireless card on that to boost the transfer rate.

    All in all, I am extremely please with this router thus far.
     
  21. NYCHitman1

    NYCHitman1 Gun for Hire Developer

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009
    Messages:
    6,537
    Likes Received:
    1,738
    That's funny. I just picked up the Linksys E2000 this week as well to replace my WRT54G2. The performance like you said is stellar.

    My only problem is that I'm having some issues configuring it so I can open NAT for two 360's to connect to Xbox Live. Linksys said it's not possible but I've done it before with previous routers including my WRT54G2 and GS. I was able to open NAT on my console but not for the other.
     
  22. chrisinsocalif

    chrisinsocalif Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2010
    Messages:
    217
    Likes Received:
    45
    I am going to go against everyone else who suggested linksys and actually promote the WNDR3700 by Netgear. It has better throughput than the Linksys E3000, and you can also install DD-WRT, a third party firmware which has many advanced options.
    Check out the reviews from MaximumPC:
    Netgear Review
    Linksys E3000 Review
    DD-WRT 3rd party firmware
     
  23. Eugene

    Eugene Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2009
    Messages:
    781
    Likes Received:
    41
    I picked up an e200 last week and cannot connect my droid. I enter my ssid and password but it just keeps saying not in range. I can connect to the guest access but then I don't recall what password their silly software set it to. I'm about to switch to dd-wrt or return it.
     
  24. johnlgalt

    johnlgalt Antidisestablishmentarian VIP Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    9,416
    Likes Received:
    1,919
    dd-wrt ftw.

    I love my GamerLounge too much, but if I had had the chance to make the decision again, I'd go with a DD-WRT powered router for absolute control for the win.
     
  25. mschmid5

    mschmid5 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2010
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    1

    I aggree with you linksys all the way i love my linksys equiptment d-link sucks so much i had one it didnt last more then a week :mad:
     

Share This Page

Loading...