Milestone Camera ProblemsSupport


Last Updated:

  1. astronut01

    astronut01 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi all

    Been having some problems with my Milestone. It's a UK phone running the latest official 2.1 update 1 software, included the most recent one supposedly fixing a number of bugs.

    About 6 weeks ago, I started having problems with the phones camera. The application would start ok but the display would be black. After a couple of seconds, i'd get a force close on the camera app. When the app is then restarted i'd get an error message, unable to connect to camera.

    I'd then start getting other problems, such as sd card unmounting randomly and the phone rebooting randomly.

    I've hard reset and still same problems. After 5 weeks, i'd had enough and the phone went back for repair (under warranty). Got the phone back today, the repair slip said that a replacement flex and case has been fitted.

    Turned the phone on, all okay, tried to take picture, okay, then 2 secs later got the force close message again and since then only get blank screen again!

    Any body any ideas? I think this is software related, not hardware.

    Phone'll be going back again soon otherwise!!!!!!
     

    Advertisement
  2. TelusMilestone

    TelusMilestone Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    Messages:
    663
    Likes Received:
    35
    If you know how I would try a reset of the whole phone (backing everythign up of course). The pictures coming out black is a known issue and they are working on it. As for the force close that should not be happening. Have you modified your phone in anyway?
     
    vladimirov likes this.
  3. astronut01

    astronut01 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks, yes I've reset back to factory settings and still have the same problems. No, phone not been modified.

    Suppose it'll have to go back again.
     
  4. TelusMilestone

    TelusMilestone Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    Messages:
    663
    Likes Received:
    35
    Well there is another couple options to try. You can try if you have sufficient light is to turn the flash off, kill all other background running services and last resort flash the original SBF file. When the battery is 100% my camera works awesome and in daylight. When the battery is low and in low light it always seems to give me the black screen photos either half black or almost fully.
     
  5. astronut01

    astronut01 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks once again. Camera worked ok for a while with the flash switched off. Thought I'd try it with flash on, nothing. Now, the cam app won't even load, just get the force close message, even after reflashing and rebuilding.

    This is really starting to wind me up now!
     
  6. TelusMilestone

    TelusMilestone Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    Messages:
    663
    Likes Received:
    35
    That's really odd that it would crash the app. I would try re-flashing the SBF file for your region and start fresh. Seems something is definitely going on thats out of the ordinary!
     
  7. astronut01

    astronut01 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well, reflashed the service SBF. App doesn't crash now, but still now picture. Thought I'd try Froyo, so flashed GOT2.2.1 and camera now works!

    Seems to me like there is a software conflict. Any ideas?
     
  8. astronut01

    astronut01 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Famous last words, blank screen again!
     
  9. Szadzik

    Szadzik Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010
    Messages:
    5,413
    Likes Received:
    715
    Have you tried an alternative camera app?
     
  10. astronut01

    astronut01 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well, am running the GOT Rom with the OR bug fixes and camera has been okay for most of the day now. Fingers crossed!!!!!
     
  11. astronut01

    astronut01 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    It seems a lot more stable now. Blank screen only when battery is very low.
    Can't wait for the official UK froyo, hopefully will suit out these cam problems once and for all.
     
  12. astronut01

    astronut01 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Another update. Camera has been ok since yesterday, except when I run setcpu. When I uninstall and restart, the cam is back. Have tried this 3 times now, with the same result. Interesting.
     

Share This Page

Loading...