Milestone not as fast as E71Support


Last Updated:

  1. fekish

    fekish Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010
    Messages:
    113
    Likes Received:
    1
    Hello,

    i had an E71 before... What i miss is how fast it was in entering sms program or dialing for someone...

    On Milestone:
    i hit contact - then blank screen for a sec or two - and then loads contacts. If i try it again now, of course it goes immediately in because i suppose the programs are still open. However always at the first time i use contacts or dialler after some time, there is this lag.

    Do you have also this lag at sometimes?
     

    Advertisement
  2. mixpix

    mixpix Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2010
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    5
    Mine takes a second or two to load the first time as well, but I have a lot of contacts.

    You can always place a direct dial shortcut on the home to call someone in 1 tap.
     
  3. fejker

    fejker Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010
    Messages:
    248
    Likes Received:
    50
    You don't need to open contacts to dial ... just start typing the contacts name or part of the name and the phone will find it for you quicker than you open the contacts and select it from the list.

    I find my Milestone waaay faster than my previous e71. The only thing I think is a bit of an obstacle is that if I want to use the instant type to search I have to open the keyboard - on the e71 I could just start typing straight away but on the Milestone I need to open the keyboard first and then type ... I could press the search button in the lower right corner of the device and then start typing on the virtual keyboard but I'm still very clumsy with the virtual keyboard and prefer the hard keys.
     
  4. fekish

    fekish Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010
    Messages:
    113
    Likes Received:
    1
    Even with the search button, it takes 1-2 seconds to open the search box...

    With E71 i was impressed in that as soon as i unlocked it there was no lag at all until i find the contact i wanted... Everything was smooth on this aspect compared to Milestone.
     
  5. Szadzik

    Szadzik Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010
    Messages:
    5,413
    Likes Received:
    715
    These are two completely different phones. E71 is a simple device. A phone with some extra capabilities of installing apps and not too complicated OS.

    Milestone is a PDA with phone functionality. It has a big scree which requires a lot of CPU to drive and lots of apps running in the background.
     
  6. jonmorris

    jonmorris Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010
    Messages:
    388
    Likes Received:
    70
    You could speed things up by always having the search app loaded in memory. This is the same problem on Symbian devices, but you can pre-load certain apps and keep them in memory to save time. Modern Symbian devices, like the E71, would do this and make sure you don't wait to open the messages app, the phonebook etc.
     
  7. fekish

    fekish Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010
    Messages:
    113
    Likes Received:
    1
    ok cool thanks.

    how can i load any app in memory? this would be very nice as the apps i use all the time wont stop working and would load in less than a sec...
     
  8. fejker

    fejker Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010
    Messages:
    248
    Likes Received:
    50
    The apps you use all the time always stay in your memory. Android has a very nice and efficient way of managing memory. To roughly explain it - each app you open and then close stays in the memory for a certain time period, if you don't relaunch that app it will get swapped by another app that needs free memory. That's how I understand memory management on the Android system.

    As I've said, my Milestone is "miles" faster than my e71.
     
  9. jonmorris

    jonmorris Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010
    Messages:
    388
    Likes Received:
    70
    It would be good if someone developed an app that let you pre-load certain applications so they were able to load instantly. I am not sure how that would mess up Android's own app/memory management - but having a camera app that was preloaded, thus only needing to activate the sensor when 'selected', would allow very quick picture taking.

    Ditto with things like the phonebook, call log, messaging etc.

    An inactive app should not consume power unnecessarily either.

    Food for thought for any developers reading this!
     
  10. fekish

    fekish Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010
    Messages:
    113
    Likes Received:
    1
    the issue is with Helix launcher.... If i dont use it too much time, when i hit hoe button takes some time to load it...

    I think i will install again a task manager... 3 days without one, starts to be frustrating. There should have been a way to chose which apps shouldnt be killed...
     
  11. Szadzik

    Szadzik Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010
    Messages:
    5,413
    Likes Received:
    715
    Try Advanced Task Manager and it has an Exclude list.
     
  12. fekish

    fekish Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010
    Messages:
    113
    Likes Received:
    1
    yes i know i will go back to that...

    I was reading in another topic that we shouldnt have a task killer in android, but in the end it seems that we need it...
     
  13. fekish

    fekish Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010
    Messages:
    113
    Likes Received:
    1
    i just stopped using helix launcher and now everything work perfect...
     
  14. Szadzik

    Szadzik Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010
    Messages:
    5,413
    Likes Received:
    715
    I have been using it for some time now and on my phone it seems faster than the built-in launcher. I do not know if I would want to get rid of the app drawer too.
     
  15. Richdog

    Richdog Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    1
    The 2.1 launcher really screwed things up for me too, removed it and all was dandy.
     

Share This Page

Loading...