Milestone RAM?


Last Updated:

  1. sushibowl

    sushibowl Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey guys recently obtained a milestone for myself but just a small niggle is making me a little worried.

    On my Milestone, i realised that i have never gotten above 110MB of free RAM, even on a fresh reset to factory settings. Which after googling around, seems possible to get about 130mb of ram even after installing apps etc.

    I thought that was pretty odd so i went and downloaded Device Information from the Android Market and when i went to check on the memory...

    Total Usable RAM : Shown as 225MB. Shouldnt it be 250MB or 256MB? Can anyone shed light on this?

    Thank you!
     

    Advertisement
  2. sushibowl

    sushibowl Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Guy still waiting for a reply on this. Im worried that my RAM may be faulty, although it most likely doesnt have a problem
     
  3. Croak

    Croak Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    29
    It's just the way RAM is advertised, vs the way it is calculated. Generally, they round up when advertising, or use some combination of 1000 bits to a byte, 1000 bytes to a megabyte, 1000 megabytes to a gigabyte.

    When you view it via your hardware (be it phone or computer or whatever), it calculates it the proper way, where there are 1024 bits to a byte, and so on. So what you see on your device is almost always lower than what was advertised. This is pretty common with drives and memory, and the larger the storage, the more extreme the disparity becomes (my "2 terabyte" drive is actually only 1.81 terabytes, for instance, I've "lost" almost 200Gb).

    The method in which the storage is formatted also has an impact, there's some overhead for this which uses space, once again the larger the storage, the more that is wasted/lost for this overhead.

    Long story short, there's nothing wrong with your Milestone. :)
     
  4. Szadzik

    Szadzik Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010
    Messages:
    5,413
    Likes Received:
    715
    Are you sure you are talking about RAM and not ROM? I think you are talking about ROM - the memory used to install apps and stuff right?
     
  5. sushibowl

    sushibowl Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes i am talking about RAM. RAM is memory used in running the OS and apps and ROM is used for storing them if i am not mistaken.

    Thank you for your post Croak but i do understand that manufacturers take 1000kb to be 1mb of RAM. However no matter how i calculate it i cant get to the figure of 235mb i get using the device information app from android.

    It should be 244mb but device information shows it as 235mb. The easiest way to confirm is by someone getting device information on their droid and checking if its the same. Just a little paranoid about the phone :)
     
  6. fejker

    fejker Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010
    Messages:
    248
    Likes Received:
    50
    Paranoia will destroy ya :)

    Fired up Device information and I'm getting Total Free RAM: 35 MB, Total Usable RAM: 225 MB, Free RAM: 3 MB, Buffers. 0 MB, Cached: 32 MB.

    I think your RAM as well as mine is OK.
     
  7. Szadzik

    Szadzik Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010
    Messages:
    5,413
    Likes Received:
    715
    Same values here.
     

Share This Page

Loading...