Minimizing data use


Last Updated:

  1. pkulak

    pkulak Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm thinking of getting a G2 with a prepaid data plan, which means I'd like to use as little data as possible. I spend the majority of my time where I have wifi access, yet me iPhone will still use 6-10 megs in a week if it never even leaves the house. I assume this is because when it's locked, it checks for new mail, events, etc over 3G, not wifi. How is the situation on Android? Can I still expect to use 40 megs a month even if I never browse the web away from home? Are there ways to get that number down? I plan on setting up gmail and my calendar on my phone. I'm not likely to set up sycing to Facebook, Twitter, etc.
     

    Advertisement
  2. copestag

    copestag Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2010
    Messages:
    1,355
    Likes Received:
    247
    you can turn 3G off and it will only use wifi..... to simplify it since you may want to do it often you can put a widget on one of your screens to toggle it off and on
     
    pkulak likes this.
  3. dan330

    dan330 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2010
    Messages:
    11,598
    Likes Received:
    3,221
    you can set.. "mobile data" to off!
     
    pkulak likes this.
  4. pkulak

    pkulak Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    I didn't know that was an option. I know when I had my Nexus on with 2.1 on it, it wasn't. Is it a new option for 2.2?
     
  5. X10iUser

    X10iUser Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2010
    Messages:
    1,328
    Likes Received:
    332
    Hi.

    It's an option in 1.6 so not sure why they would have left it out of 2.1.
     
    pkulak likes this.
  6. pkulak

    pkulak Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    Oh wow. I must have missed it.
     
  7. dan330

    dan330 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2010
    Messages:
    11,598
    Likes Received:
    3,221

    well... i have always seen some way to turn it off.

    on CM 2.2..
    menu > settings > wireless & networks > mobile networks >

    uncheck both options: Data enabled, data roaming
     
    pkulak likes this.

Share This Page

Loading...