Missing sms fix: 1x solution?

Last Updated:

1. ron

ron Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

The below from another forum. It would be great to have some others test this and see if it can be replicated:

"I had never had a problem receiving my text messages - that is until I started playing around with my phone.

This is what I have noticed:

When I am on EVDO, I cannot get my texts. When I switch to 1x-Only, I can get all of my texts, even those that were sent while on EDVO.

The reason I never noticed this was a problem is because I live in southern Idaho, and we don't have fancy networks here. I was on 1x the entire time, but switched it from Hybrid to EVDO yesterday to see if I could get 3G (yes, I received EVDO Rev 0). Then I could not receive any text messages. Restart the phone, no go. Sent myself 10 text messages from google voice in numbered order, and two from my phone. I left it overnight and no text showed up. Turned it back to Hybrid so that it went back to 1x, and those texts came pouring in. Sent myself several more messages while at 1x, and they all came through. Moved back to EVDO, and no messages came through. Back to 1x and all messages showed immediately.

Anyone else try this? Anyone know how to fix it so I can EVDO and text?"

================

The ugly truth:
    1xRTT: 50Kbps - 100Kbps Upload and Download (bursts to 144Kbps)
    EVDO Rev 0: 400kbps-700kbps Download (bursts up to 2.0Mbps), 50kbps-100kbps Upload (bursts to 144Kbps)
    EVDO Rev A: 600Kbps-1,400Kbps Download (bursts to 2.0Mbps), 500Kbps-800Kbps Upload (bursts to 1.8Mbps)

1x operates at around 8% of the evdo speed which we are paying for :-(

Advertisement
  2. andrewcgrimm

andrewcgrimm Well-Known Member

Technically your not paying for different tiered speeds. All phones no matter what web access they have all have the same MRC.