Support MMS messages come through anonymous / message not found

1. yayme

yayme New Member

Hello, I'm new to android having recently left my iphone for the S3, and I'm hoping to get some help from the hive mind. I have an AT&T S3 (U.S)

When someone sends me a picture it comes through as anonymous sender and in the message itself "message not found". This happens whether its from an iphone user or an android user.. I have already unregistered my old iphone, tried sms apps (they freeze or crash) and compared my settings to my husbands s3 (He rarely has this happen) none have fixed the issue.

(I would post a screenshot, but its not allowing it since I'm new.)

Any ideas/suggestions before I give up and just reset the phone, start from scratch and pray it works?

Thanks!

Advertisement
  2. MonkikiX

MonkikiX New Member

I have the same exact issue with the stock Messages app, ChompSMS and Go SMS Pro. I can only get maybe 2 out of 10 MMS messages. Just switched from iOS (since the original iPhone in 2007) to Android via Galaxy Note 2 on AT&T. Enjoying the switch so far aside from this annoying MMS issue. I've Googled the crap out of it and nobody seems to have a definitive solution.

I have tried disabling auto-retrieve and receiving with and without text included. There doesn't seem to be a specific pattern.
  3. MonkikiX

MonkikiX New Member

Oooh! May have found the culprit. Just spent the last hour testing. Using ChompSMS, I disabled the auto-retrieve for MMS then left the default Messaging app to auto-retrieve. I had my fiance send 10 MMS (5 with text and 5 without) and all came through when I had it set this way.

I also tried with auto-retrieve enabled for Chomp, while disabling it for Messaging and would get the message not found error. So far I haven't had any issues but time will tell. Most SMS/MMS apps tell you to disable the native app's auto-retrieve and enable theirs, seems that this may cause the issue.
  4. pilotalexander

pilotalexander New Member