MMS problems with T-mobile.Support


Last Updated:

  1. wildkardde

    wildkardde Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Had my DHD for a week now, but haven't been able to recieve or send MMS messages. That seems to include messages containing settings from T-mobile too.

    Tried my SIM in my old C905 and could send MMS message fine. The support lady from T-mobile said that i've got to take it to the T-mobile shop as it could be a hardware problem.

    Anyone had similar issues or has managed to fix them?
     

    Advertisement
  2. Krimian

    Krimian Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2010
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    3
    Ive only tried sending one MMS and it didnt go through, But i was using ChompSMS and i heard it doesn't support them. Not really had a look at that half of the phone yet :)
     
  3. Sereniity

    Sereniity Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2010
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    6
    Check the APN settings:

    ~Settings > Wireless & networks > Mobile network > Access Point Names

    Once you're here click on whatever carrier you're using and then check the settings for the server/password etc with T-mobile settings.
     
  4. Lalaland

    Lalaland Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2010
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    13
    Have you tried sending yourself an MMS?

    I know when my DHD arrived I couldn't send or receive MMS messages until I sent myself a photo via MMS, from my DHD to my DHD. This sorted it all out and worked within minutes for both sending and receiving.
     
  5. wildkardde

    wildkardde Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi,

    Went through the APN settings with someone from T-mobile yesterday and also tried sending myself an MMS, both of which haven't solved the problem unfortunately.

    Thanks for the advice, keep it coming :)
     
  6. gazlyon

    gazlyon Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2010
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    1
    I would contact T-Mobile again. I had the exact same problem with my DHD on T-Mobile and had to speak to a couple of people before they talked me through configuring the correct data service. The sending a MMS to myself method did not work for me until they gave me the correct APN settings.
     
  7. wildkardde

    wildkardde Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks gazlyon. They gave me the APN settings when i spoke to them last time, but still no joy. Maybe they gave me the wrongs ones (if that's possible).

    They have been saying that they don't have a "manual" for the DHD yet. Don't know whether this is hampering there ability to fix stuff.

    Can someone with working MMS let me know what the APN settings they've got are so i can check them against mine.

    Cheers :)
     
  8. l_jonez

    l_jonez Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    1
    when mine arrived it had a note from tmobile saying they are experiencing problems with mms and an a OTA update will be available in the next few weeks
     
  9. Lalaland

    Lalaland Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2010
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    13
    The update that fixes MMS issues is already available for non-branded handsets so if your handset isn't branded try a software update.
     
  10. wildkardde

    wildkardde Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Apologies for my newbieness. What do you mean by branded?
     
  11. Lalaland

    Lalaland Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2010
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    13
    Branded = A handset that has been altered (vandalised) by a network service provider to run on their own version of the original software.

    If I turn on my HTC Desire HD I get the original software but someone who buys a DHD from Three in the coming weeks now they have their branded handsets on the way will get a three branded handset. It will look slightly different and take longer to get updates, sometimes months and on some occasions - never.

    Branded phones in my view are a nightmare and should be avoided at all costs.
     
  12. wildkardde

    wildkardde Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Cheers Lalaland.

    Think mine is un-branded so i'll try an update
     
  13. wildkardde

    wildkardde Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Tried an update (1.32.405.6), but no joy.

    Still no MMS messages going through :(
     
  14. wildkardde

    wildkardde Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Just spoken to someone from T-mobile about this (again) and apprently there will be a software update to resolve this issue.

    However it won't be for a while. Guy was a bit vague but it could be anything from a couple of days to a couple of weeks:mad:
     
  15. Lalaland

    Lalaland Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2010
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    13
    Yep, that's a common problem with branded handsets. You have to wait a while for updates that the rest of us with non-branded handsets get straight away.
     
  16. wildkardde

    wildkardde Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Still no update on the MMS front.
     
  17. jockdee

    jockdee Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2010
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    same for me too. tried to phone t-mobile earlier but offices were closed.
    had phone a few weeks now. never knew i had a problem till i recieved a pic message earlier and had to view it online, not ideal.
    get the finger out t-mobile!!
     
  18. jockdee

    jockdee Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2010
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    anybody on tmobile had any joy with this?
     
  19. Lalaland

    Lalaland Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2010
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    13
    I'm on TMobile and have a DHD.

    Picture messages send fine to and from my handset.

    I have an unbranded handset, not sim locked.
     
  20. wildkardde

    wildkardde Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    If we're both on T-Mobile shouldn't we both have unbranded handsets?
     
  21. Lalaland

    Lalaland Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2010
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    13
    No. It depends where you bought your handset from.

    If you bought from Carphonewarehouse for example, they sell their DHD handsets on TMobile unbranded. If you buy from TMobile directly on the website or via a TMobile shop then it's branded.

    There are huge advantages to having unbranded handsets over branded ones.
     
  22. wildkardde

    wildkardde Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    That'll give me something to bear in mind when i get a new phone.

    Still not been able to rectify the issue. After speaking to the helpline again they told me to take the phone into a T-mobile store so they could take a look.

    This wasn't a great piece of advice as the stores can't do anything other than put me in touch with the helpline again. They changed some of the APN settings, but still no joy.

    I thought i read somewhere that you could re-boot or re-start the phone which might resolve the issue. It had worked for someone on this forum, but i can't find the thread now.

    Anyone tried anything like this to solve this problem, if so did it work?
     
  23. wildkardde

    wildkardde Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    I seem to have fixed the problem without having to send the phone away.

    Turned the phone off, took out the SIM card and memory card, turned phone back on, reset the phone to factory settings, popped the SIM and memory back in, went through set up procedure on the phone and all seems fine.

    Sent myself an MMS message, which i recieved, so it now seems to be working. Wish i'd tried that a month or so back :)
     
  24. jockdee

    jockdee Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2010
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi. Having problems only sometimes with mine when sending mms.
    Did you have to do a backup before the factory reset?

    Cheers
     

Share This Page

Loading...