MMS Setup


Last Updated:

  1. kujars

    kujars Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2010
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    2
    Hi,
    I was wanting to get my MMS working on my Ntelos HTC Hero (CDMA) and have got it rooted and it is now running flipz fresh rom 2.0b. Where do I go to change the MMS Settings. If you go into EPST using ##000000# it only lets you change the MIN and MDN. If anyone would happen to have Ntelos's MMS setting that would also save me some time but is not needed as I can pull them from another phone.

    Thanks!
     

    Advertisement
    huedawg likes this.
  2. mysticmead

    mysticmead Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    1,348
    Likes Received:
    175

    sorry... wish I knew where to even look for the settings you need..I'd look on my phone but I have a Sprint phone.. if you do pull it from another phone please post it here for others that may have a similar phone.
     
  3. kujars

    kujars Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2010
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    2
    The place in the phone where I put the mms setting should be the same no matter what CDMA carrier it is as long as its running flipz freshrom 2.0b which is android 2.1 I most definatly will post the Ntelos MMS info when i get it. I need to find myself a motorola phone from ntelos and those setting will be mine. Ntelos doesn't want to release that info to me so I am going to use MOTO PST and pull all carrier settings from it.
     
  4. Spikemonkey

    Spikemonkey Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    How, oh how, did you root your Ntelos Hero? I have one myself, and all I've seen on rooting them is flashing to a Sprint rom and then going from there; which makes you irreversably lose everything. I hope that is not what you did, because now that the END OF APRIL is being rumored for 2.1; I am losing patience very quickly. Thanks.
     
  5. kujars

    kujars Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2010
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    2
    I decided to take the chance by making the gold card and flashing the sprint rom. The reason we can't revert to our old ntelos android 1.5 is because they have not released a rom as of yet. When you get it rooted with the sprint rom, that sprint rom is gone when you reflash with 2.1.
    We should have no prob applying a rom update from our carrier till. But it is very true, I can not go back to Ntelos 1.5 and I don't look back. The new flipz 2.0b2 is awesome. So far i am not having one problem with it. Everything works well. If you would like I will keep you up to date. Im thinking about making a guide for the Ntelos Hero as poor ole ntelos gets left outta everything. xD
     
  6. Spikemonkey

    Spikemonkey Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sounds good on the guide. I love modding, but I am a bit of a wuss when stuff is still under warranty. :) Tell you what, if 2.1 isn't out by the end of April, I will bite the bullet and root it with the Sprint rom. BTW, how do you get the carrier settings off the Moto phones? I have my old Razr and I can pull them for you if it's not too hard.
     
  7. kujars

    kujars Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2010
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    2
    I have located the update ntelos released for the HTC touch to allow mms so I am gonna poke around with it. I have located a few things and am trying to get mine working. When I have my phone in an ntelos area I plan on trying what I found and release a guide on howto do it. It will unfortunately require a rooted phone though
     
  8. Spikemonkey

    Spikemonkey Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Good stuff! Keep me updated.
     
  9. kujars

    kujars Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2010
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    2
    I got a few settings. No luck yet though
     
  10. Spikemonkey

    Spikemonkey Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well, I took a stab at callling Ntelos about the 2.1 update. the guy I spoke with didn't have a clue. I then e-mailed HTC and this is what I got back this morning:

    Hello Dustin,

    Thank you for contacting HTC Technical Support by E-Mail about the HTC Hero on the nTelos network and if an update will be available for the device.

    I know importance of keeping the device updated. Unfortunately, HTC tech support does not have information about software updates or release dates for updates. Our Research & Development team work with the service providers (nTelos or other) to create software updates for the devices.

    You can find other self-help and information about our devices at HTC - Mobile Phones, Smartphones, Cell Phones, PDAs. You may also wish to follow HTC on our Twitter page for new device release information and software updates for our devices. Our Twitter page can be found at HTC (htc) on Twitter. There is also a customer survey that you can take as well at HTC Online Survey.

    Sincerely,

    Kay
    HTC Technical Support

    So nothing new there. The funny thing is, the name at the top of the page says Cheryl, not Kay.

    Oh well, keep up the good fight.
     
  11. etbrandt

    etbrandt Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009
    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    20
    Are you talking about the mms server url? Have you tried ##DATA#
     
  12. kujars

    kujars Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2010
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    2
    I was able to get the settings changed now I just am now in the process of trying to aquire the login name and password used by ntelos phones to send mms. That is my hurdle at the moment. They don't wanna voluntary give me the info i need. :/ Im going to try to pull the data off another ntelos phone with PST software.
     
  13. kujars

    kujars Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2010
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    2
    Oh. For reference though I have found out that the MMS Server is mms.ntelospcs.net and the port is 80
     
  14. meanngreen04

    meanngreen04 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
  15. meanngreen04

    meanngreen04 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    I need the link to the touch ntelos cab.
     
  16. kujars

    kujars Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2010
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    2
    I will try that info and see what happens. Here's the ntelos touch cab I have been going through trying to make sense of the info. LOL. I had to zip it so the fourm server would let me upload it.
     

    Attached Files:

  17. Inferno865

    Inferno865 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    PM me and I will send you a file that will work as long as you are using a sprint based ROM. Mine works great.
     
  18. meanngreen04

    meanngreen04 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Inferno...you're the same guy that said you had it working on htc...but it never did.
     
  19. meanngreen04

    meanngreen04 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    I can confirm receiving on Moto Droid, Hero, and Eris on nTelos. No sending though.
     
  20. kujars

    kujars Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2010
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    2
    I haven't heard anything back from inferno unless there was a script error or something when i pmed him. Same here can recieve mms but can't send. I just can't get the right credientials to make it work. I am trying to con the local store into helping me out.
     
  21. Spikemonkey

    Spikemonkey Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well, I just talked to Ntelos tech support about the 2.1 update. They said the "end of April" is looking unlikely, they said more like the end of June. I'll take it with a grain of salt, but for now, this is making a me a sad panda.
     
  22. meanngreen04

    meanngreen04 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    I highly doubt they'll get 2.1...they never updated any htc phone up to this point.

    Problem with the android phone is simple. We have the mmsc but I think the useragent is where we're lacking on. Something going up in the header of the mms is not allowing the ntelos mms server to send it correctly. I'm working on this now. I'll update with more information when I have some.

    And, I turned in my hero and go the droid. It's sick on nTelos. Nice to have prepay with a droid on it...lol....

    I had the same problem with Inferno on the HTCs. He posted a solution, but it never worked. Not saying he intentionally did it, but he never came back to say what he had working. So, my theory is it never did.
     
  23. Spikemonkey

    Spikemonkey Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    How exactly are you using a Droid on the Ntelos network?
     
  24. meanngreen04

    meanngreen04 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    My company specializes in cdma programming...I have most solutions for ntelos flashing, We have the sprint hero, eris, moment, and droid solutions, not to mention other cdma solutions.
     
  25. Spikemonkey

    Spikemonkey Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well then any chance you could make a copy of the stock Ntelos ROM for the Hero so I can flash to Sprint's and root this thing without worrying? (Half joke/half real statement) :)
     

Share This Page

Loading...