mobile dataplan on laptop?


Last Updated:

  1. _ivo_

    _ivo_ Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2009
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi!

    I have 1gb/month data traffic on my network :D

    Is it possible somehow to connect this on my laptop? Over USB cable to use this traffic on lap or something like that?
    This would be good for me when I'm out of office and need Internet, it is always better on lap :)

    Regards,
    Ivo
     

    Advertisement
  2. Xyro

    Xyro 4 8 15 16 23 42 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    12,757
    Likes Received:
    8,888
    I think it's possible, although I haven't used it myself.

    I'd check with your network too first; apparently my network (T-Mobile UK) don't allow tethering, yours might not either.
     
  3. peterc10

    peterc10 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    Messages:
    711
    Likes Received:
    80
    Yep - it is dead easy (unless you have a CDMA phone - i.e. in the USA).

    Make sure you have HTC Sync installed on your PC. Then do the following , which has been copied from manual:

    Make sure your phone
     
  4. lekky

    lekky Lover VIP Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    5,252
    Likes Received:
    1,266
    Or download the pdanet app from the market.
     
  5. thefley

    thefley Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2009
    Messages:
    346
    Likes Received:
    26
    Like he said, download this and use your phone as modem.

    I have used my other HTC windows mobile phones as a modem, sprint wanted to charge $30.+ month for "phone as modem" but it was easy to crack that in the reg and get it free. but not as easy as downloading an app for this on my HERO!!.
     
  6. peterc10

    peterc10 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    Messages:
    711
    Likes Received:
    80
    Does pdanet have any advantages over the standard way of tethering set out in the Hero manual, and if so what are they please?

    Also looking at the comments in the market I am a little confused. Is pdanet time limited after which you have to pay $30 to continue using it?

    Has anybody used the proxdroid app and is that any better than pdanet?
     
  7. _ivo_

    _ivo_ Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2009
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
     
  8. _ivo_

    _ivo_ Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2009
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have tried both solutions and for me it is better and easier to use this first suggestion (original HTC possibility)

    Thanks for help!

    Regards,
    Ivo
     
  9. lekky

    lekky Lover VIP Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    5,252
    Likes Received:
    1,266
    You're right, my trial period just ended. Turns out it is much quicker and simpler to use the built in method!
     

Share This Page

Loading...