Mobile Internet on Orange Network


Last Updated:

  1. steve12345

    steve12345 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2010
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    3
    Hi,

    Excuse me if this is due to my poor understanding of mobile internet.

    When in my office at work the signal bars on my phone will be either 2 or 3 out of 4. The 3G icon is also present.

    When, For example, I try to go onto the Market the connection seems very poor. The 3G icon will get the arrows showing that 3G data is being transferred and sometimes it will drop down to a H icon.

    I then get the message "A network error has occurred, retry, or cancel and return to the previous screen"


    This happens with all other apps, internet etc as well.

    I bought the phone with a orange PAYG from Carphone warehouse and put my Orange Monthly pay sim in.

    When I am outside or even in a different area of the office the internet works fine.

    If my phone was showing 1 bar and no 3G icon I would accept that it is just too bad signal in the office but as I have nearly full signal and the 3G icon is there another problem?

    Thanks for any help! :)
     

    Advertisement
  2. antipesto93

    antipesto93 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    480
    Likes Received:
    35
    H is better than 3g
    GPRS (G) and 2G are even worse than 3g
     
  3. nx1977

    nx1977 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010
    Messages:
    2,419
    Likes Received:
    172
    Or you may see E which is 2g/GPRS data.

    Did you set up the Orange APN settings correctly?
     
  4. lekky

    lekky Lover VIP Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    5,252
    Likes Received:
    1,266
    You don't need to manually set anything for it to work.


    steve12345, you said it works everywhere except a certain part of your office. It really sounds like that area just cannot pick up a good signal for some reason. The fact that you said elsewhere in your office works ok also kinda backs this up.

    As it works elsewhere it won't be to do with your settings or the phone.
     
  5. nx1977

    nx1977 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010
    Messages:
    2,419
    Likes Received:
    172
    Ah, missed that part.
     
  6. steve12345

    steve12345 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2010
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    3
    Hi,

    Thanks for your replies.

    I did suspect that it was due to poor signal but I just thought it was strange that it had 3 bars of signal and a 3G icon but the internet wouldn't work.

    Off to test out the GPS on the phone today and do a bit of Geocaching!

    Cheers
     
  7. rasobey

    rasobey Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010
    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    6
    I get the network error message too, but that happens when I'm on WiFi or mobile internet. Very odd, and I was thinking maybe my phone was faulty but since you're getting the same problem, it's more likely to be software/network.
     

Share This Page

Loading...