mobile network


Last Updated:

  1. Trito

    Trito Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2010
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello, so I have this phone since mid October and I used only wi fi till now. I have 200mb mobile network for month but I really dont know how to work with it. First of all how to turn it on or it turns on himself when there is no wi-fi? When I turn my wi fi off it seams that mobile network turns on and in notification bar it does not show 3g but E with two arrows up and down, what kind of network connection is that? How to turn 3g on?
    Is there widget or sometging to turn on/off 3G?
     

    Advertisement
  2. Harry2

    Harry2 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010
    Messages:
    5,186
    Likes Received:
    1,347
    First of all place the on/off widgets for Mobile Network and Wi-Fi on your home screen.
    > + (or long press on the home screen) > Widget > Settings > ...

    Harry
     
  3. Trito

    Trito Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2010
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    0
    yes I placed this widget, thanks. But what kind of network is E and H with two arrows up and down?
     
  4. Hadron

    Hadron VIP Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010
    Messages:
    17,805
    Likes Received:
    10,727
    E will be EDGE - faster variety of GPRS (i.e. 2G data).

    H is HSDPA, which is the fastest variety of 3G.

    So if you are seeing H then you have 3G enabled already.
     
  5. Trito

    Trito Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2010
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    0
    It swiches from E to H and back, why?
    Also, why it just dont show 3g?
     
  6. Harry2

    Harry2 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010
    Messages:
    5,186
    Likes Received:
    1,347
    If it change between E (G) and H (3G), I think the signal strenght of H (3G) is weak at you area and so it switched back to E.
    When I drive with my car I see this changing too (areas have different signal strengts).

    The arrows with E and H shows when you have data transmission e.g. with email.

    Theoretically the arrows could show with G, E, 3G and H.
    But i see the arrows only with E nd H too :)
    Have look in the DHD manual page 18 (Status Icons).

    Harry
     
  7. Hadron

    Hadron VIP Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010
    Messages:
    17,805
    Likes Received:
    10,727
    Why you only see E and H is likely down to your network and perhaps your firmware. I've seen G, E, 3G and H one mine, though E is the one I see least often. I read that Orange UK handsets show "3G+" rather than H - I did use that radio firmware for a few days, but can't remember for sure whether I saw this.
     

Share This Page

Loading...