[MOD] LCD Density - DIY!


Last Updated:

  1. LexusBrian400

    LexusBrian400 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2010
    Messages:
    699
    Likes Received:
    154
    Ok guys, people seem to be having problems using the LCD Density changer app, so I am making this write up to help you out :)

    If you would like to make your Droid X look like this...

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    Then follow these steps.

    Method 1 - ADB

    1. Download LCD Density w/ 2.2 market Fix - This also contains the 2.2 market fix (without the stagefright)
    2. Put the build.prop in your android-sdk\tools folder
    3. Connect your phone via usb, make sure it shows up with adb devices
    4. adb remount
    5. adb push build.prop /system/build.prop
    6. adb reboot


    Method 2 - Root Explorer

    1. Copy the build.prop to the root of your SD card
    2. Long press on build.prop
    3. Select "Copy"
    4. Navigate to /system
    5. Click R/W in the top right corner
    6. Paste, and overwrite
    7. Reboot

    Your screen will now look like this, giving you much more space. And If using ADW launcher, you can use 6 X 5 rows of icons!!

    Now if you really like to do things yourself, in the build.prop..
    Change
    ro.sf.lcd_density=240
    to
    ro.sf.lcd_density=200

    push, reboot.
    If you want to revert back, just push this Stock Build prop back into place.

    Credit to appelflap
    who made LCD Density app, but it did not work with Droid X phone and koush's recovery installed. People had to SBF, so this post was necessary.
    Check out his thread -- http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=765639
     

    Advertisement
    tiWonggg, chrlswltrs and appelflap like this.
  2. blink

    blink Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2010
    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    5
    Do you or anyone else have or know a link to the 2.1 stock build.prop? I think LCD Density Changer app really effed my phone. It rebooted into a perpetual black screen. I have it fixed after a sbf flash, but my Engadget app is still looking like its changed.
     
  3. Airmaxx23

    Airmaxx23 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010
    Messages:
    3,142
    Likes Received:
    1,039
    The only problem is that this build.prop does not have the market fix or I would use it.
     
  4. LexusBrian400

    LexusBrian400 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2010
    Messages:
    699
    Likes Received:
    154
    Yes it does. It is included.
     
  5. LexusBrian400

    LexusBrian400 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2010
    Messages:
    699
    Likes Received:
    154
    Did you even read the post? The link is at the bottom.
     
  6. Mojorisen

    Mojorisen Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Messages:
    151
    Likes Received:
    12
    What needs to be changed for this to work properly? I have mine edited to keep the market working as it should, and would rather just change the necessary code...

    Ha! Nevermind; that was posted as I posted this...
     
  7. blink

    blink Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2010
    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    5
    Why yes thank you, I did. Did you read mine? I said 2.1. That is for 2.2.
     
  8. Airmaxx23

    Airmaxx23 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010
    Messages:
    3,142
    Likes Received:
    1,039
    When I search for "history eraser" it does not show up. It did with the fixed market build.prop but not this one. Searching for "us bank" only gives 4 results instead of 10 also.
     
  9. LexusBrian400

    LexusBrian400 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2010
    Messages:
    699
    Likes Received:
    154
    Well then post your question in the correct thread please. Thank you.
     
  10. LexusBrian400

    LexusBrian400 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2010
    Messages:
    699
    Likes Received:
    154
    One second, I will edit it.
     
  11. Airmaxx23

    Airmaxx23 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010
    Messages:
    3,142
    Likes Received:
    1,039
    Thanks, since I already have it installed could you tell me what needs to be edited?
     
  12. Mojorisen

    Mojorisen Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Messages:
    151
    Likes Received:
    12
    +1

    Comparing the 2 (this vs stock) files, I didn't see any differences. However, I could have just overlooked it...
     
  13. Mojorisen

    Mojorisen Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Messages:
    151
    Likes Received:
    12
    ro.sf.lcd_density=240

    Same value in both files...Both downloaded from the OP. Are you changing another value?

    Never mind, I see yours is 200, stock is 240.
     
  14. LexusBrian400

    LexusBrian400 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2010
    Messages:
    699
    Likes Received:
    154

    Congrats, you got it :) I edited the OP for the REAL DIY'ers. Hope it works good for you guys :)
     
  15. Mojorisen

    Mojorisen Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Messages:
    151
    Likes Received:
    12
    I didn't realize it was APK wasn't working on the X due to koush's recovery... I saw a bunch of X-users complaining about it not working and SBFing everywhere. Simple edit via adb; good stuff! Yes, I found the value to change here. :)
     
  16. LexusBrian400

    LexusBrian400 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2010
    Messages:
    699
    Likes Received:
    154
    Yeah it is pretty neat. Especially if you use ADW. Now we can really make use of our huge screens!
     
  17. Mojorisen

    Mojorisen Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Messages:
    151
    Likes Received:
    12
    220 seemed to be a better value for me. Not sure if most everyone is using 200 or not. 220 made everything a bit smaller and cleaner, but not too small :)
     
  18. LexusBrian400

    LexusBrian400 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2010
    Messages:
    699
    Likes Received:
    154
    Yup, you can play around with the numbers using root explorer. Always nice to find what works for you :)
     
  19. aholeinthewor1d

    aholeinthewor1d Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    2
    I just came across this mod and im a bit confused...do we need to use the lcd density app or is it as simple as the directions in the link i quoted...just edit one number in the build.prob with root explore...maybe im confused about something...
     
  20. MaxxVE

    MaxxVE Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2010
    Messages:
    110
    Likes Received:
    3
    I am curious too. I'd much rather edit the value myself instead of letting some program do something that may force us to use the sbf file to restore.

    Just tried it via Boot Explorer and get an error "You cannot edit this file because the file system is read-only" I'm rooted, deodexed and themed.. or at least I thought I was. What gives?
     
  21. aholeinthewor1d

    aholeinthewor1d Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    2
    I think u might just have to click the read/write tab in root explorer.....so does anyone know....are we supposed to use the program and also edit the build.prob with root explorer...or is it one or the other
     
  22. MaxxVE

    MaxxVE Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2010
    Messages:
    110
    Likes Received:
    3
    From what I've read you can do it either way. I guess whatever you feel comfortable with.

    I'll tell you for sure if I can figure out how to get root explorer working.
     
  23. LexusBrian400

    LexusBrian400 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2010
    Messages:
    699
    Likes Received:
    154
    Did you read the post? You don't need any app. This is a build.prop edit.
     
  24. MaxxVE

    MaxxVE Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2010
    Messages:
    110
    Likes Received:
    3
    Okay.. That was the problem with Root Explorer, Just had to click Mount R/W and all was good. Editing the file did do the trick. I tried 200 and 220, and stuck with 220.

    This seemed more straight forward to me.. I know what it's doing and how to change it back. No need for an app.
     
  25. aholeinthewor1d

    aholeinthewor1d Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    2
    I can confirm that this works..no app needed...just click mount r/w...long press build.prop....scroll down and choose edit with text editor...find the line with lcd density in it...change to whatever u want...reboot and see if u like the size...

    How come there has not been a step by step for this...i haven't heard about it until the app....seems like a very usefull mod
     

Share This Page

Loading...