[MOD] LOTS of Build.prop edits!


Last Updated:

  1. LexusBrian400

    LexusBrian400 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2010
    Messages:
    699
    Likes Received:
    154
    UPDATED 9/4



    9/8 Update - These are available through Rom Manager now​



    Ok, so I went through the build.prop tonight and tried a few things out. I figured I'd just post all of my edits for you guys to try and use also. Here goes...

    I am listing the changes one by one w/ descriptions, as well as providing all the mods rolled up into a single build.prop which will be posted at the end of these directions. Enjoy :)

    To make the phone ring faster when dialing out, I changed

    ro.telephony.call_ring.delay=3000

    to

    ro.telephony.call_ring.delay=1000

    Now the phone rings pretty much instantly when dialing out.


    To enable better scrolling speed through lists, I changed

    windowsmgr.max_events_per_sec=55

    to

    windowsmgr.max_events_per_sec=60

    Scrolling through the app drawer and contacts and any lists really is now smoother


    Now, to save battery by decreasing the amount of time Wifi looks for an access point, I changed

    wifi.supplicant_scan_interval = 60

    to

    wifi.supplicant_scan_interval = 90

    Now wifi will scan once every 1.5 minutes when not around a known location instead of once every minute which will save battery.


    I also changed the Dalvik VM heap size from

    dalvik.vm.heapsize=30m

    to

    dalvik.vm.heapsize=32m


    I remember doing this on my Eris and I was able to run JIT w/ sense enabled (which was a major hassle at the time) It helps with stability and gives apps more room to run afaik


    To change LCD Density (How much is displayed on screen) visit my other build.prop mod page

    Here -- Droid Life Forum • View topic - [MOD] LCD Density - DIY! - Droid X


    And To fix your 2.2 market to display all apps Go

    Here -- Droid Life Forum • View topic - [FIX] - 2.2 Market Issues - Show All Apps


    Now for everything listed here all rolled up into one single build.prop, download this
    build.prop

    Install using any method of your choice
    Method 1 - ADB

    1. Download
    2. Put the build.prop in your android-sdk\tools folder
    3. Connect your phone via usb, make sure it shows up with adb devices
    4. adb remount (or whichever way u prefer to mount ur system)
    5. adb push build.prop /system/build.prop
    6. adb reboot


    Method 2 - Root Explorer

    1. Copy the build.prop to the root of your SD card
    2. Long press on build.prop
    3. Select "Copy"
    4. Navigate to /system
    5. Click R/W in the top right corner
    6. Paste, and overwrite
    7. Reboot

    My results
    [​IMG]


    If you do not like or want to use the LCD Density mod, use this build.prop. Everything else is included.
    build.prop

    -----------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    UPDATED BUILD.PROP


    Ok here are a few updates.

    To enable the hard key lights to stay on while the screen is on and not timeout, I changed

    ro.mot.buttonlight.timeout=1
    to
    ro.mot.buttonlight.timeout=0


    To make the phone come off of the "black screen" in the middle of, or the end of phone calls when you pull the phone away from your face, I changed

    mot.proximity.delay=450
    to
    mot.proximity.delay=150

    The delay is almost no longer NOTICEABLE at all. (It was very annoying to me personally)

    *Note - this will not include the lcd density mod, but everything else mentioned on this post included. Thanks guys! Enjoy

    UPDATED Build.Prop


    Follow me on Twitter

    Donations would mean a lot to me right now! Even seeing a dollar is a nice boost of confidence to spread out and do more than build.props! Thank you guys
     

    Advertisement
  2. soapinmouth

    soapinmouth Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2010
    Messages:
    321
    Likes Received:
    56
    What is dalvik vm heap? Any increase in quadrant or mflops it anything?
     
  3. LexusBrian400

    LexusBrian400 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2010
    Messages:
    699
    Likes Received:
    154
    Its more of a stability edit. I dont know for sure though, i'll run a quadrant real quick.
     
    chrlswltrs likes this.
  4. soapinmouth

    soapinmouth Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2010
    Messages:
    321
    Likes Received:
    56
    Hmmm just found this on the subject so it could be helpful or harmful.

     
  5. LexusBrian400

    LexusBrian400 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2010
    Messages:
    699
    Likes Received:
    154
    We have high density devices, that statement above may be true for lesser phones, but 2m isn't going to do anything detrimental

    Just ran my quadrant

    1484

    [​IMG]
     
    chrlswltrs likes this.
  6. LexusBrian400

    LexusBrian400 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2010
    Messages:
    699
    Likes Received:
    154
    chrlswltrs likes this.
  7. Airmaxx23

    Airmaxx23 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010
    Messages:
    3,142
    Likes Received:
    1,039
    My setting was: wifi.supplicant_scan_interval = 45, I changed it to 120 since I only use wifi at home.
     
  8. Mojorisen

    Mojorisen Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Messages:
    151
    Likes Received:
    12
    Way off topic...but where did you get that framework-res file?
     
  9. brackett5

    brackett5 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    162
    Likes Received:
    3
    You use root explorer for this???
     
  10. LexusBrian400

    LexusBrian400 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2010
    Messages:
    699
    Likes Received:
    154
    Does anyone actually read the OP's anymore?


    Yes.
     
    chrlswltrs likes this.
  11. brackett5

    brackett5 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    162
    Likes Received:
    3
    Actualluy I was being sarcastic. There was more to my post but everytime I move my damn wrist on this laptop hit the pad and cause it to send. Sorry. My actual question was going to be; is there a free version of this cause I currently dont have a way to purchase in the app market.
     
  12. LexusBrian400

    LexusBrian400 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2010
    Messages:
    699
    Likes Received:
    154

    A free version of what? lol There is no app here.

    These are build.prop edits. And yes, they are free. :)
     
  13. brackett5

    brackett5 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    162
    Likes Received:
    3
    Root explorer. The whole thing was kinda ruined by the separation of the original post nevermind.
     
  14. LexusBrian400

    LexusBrian400 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2010
    Messages:
    699
    Likes Received:
    154
    ADB is free. Root Explorer is not.

    Or if you download ROM Manager, you can install it from there.
     
  15. jroc

    jroc Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Messages:
    2,614
    Likes Received:
    358
    I hope I'm not wrong....but I think this helped with the unlock screen...I havent tried yet but I wonder will this help with the stock launcher screen scrolling...

    Thanks for this post. And its funny, on the Droid changing the ring delay helped the phone ring faster for incoming calls...lol
     
  16. HalfFrozen

    HalfFrozen Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010
    Messages:
    638
    Likes Received:
    48
    Installing now, will post up what happens.. :D

    Well Alot has changed...

    Screen looks as if its the wrong resolution...

    My Pure Calendar Widget is all messed.
    Beautiful Widget's Clock doesn't match the BG.
    Lock screen...for me is no different, still smooth, maybe a tad bit more smooth now.
    Everything just kind of shrunk and doesn't look right... :(
    Also, Status/Notification bar up top is kind of tiny...
     
  17. chrlswltrs

    chrlswltrs Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    6,728
    Likes Received:
    1,790
    Thanks for this post. I applied the first 2 and I already had the LCD density changed. Everything is working great.
     
  18. LexusBrian400

    LexusBrian400 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2010
    Messages:
    699
    Likes Received:
    154

    Yes, that was part of the LCD Density mod. If you dont like it, just change the value

    ro.sf.lcd_density=200
    to
    ro.sf.lcd_density=240

    and everything will be back to normal. I'll post an edit without the LCD mod in a few moments.

    Edit: Here is the version with everything above, minus the LCD Density hack.
    http://www.mediafire.com/?w4860c0fddw4ao2
     
  19. WishinItWas

    WishinItWas Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010
    Messages:
    167
    Likes Received:
    29
    What happens if we change the ro.telephony.sms_segment_size=160 to something like 200 will it allow for more characters to be sent per sms?
     
  20. LexusBrian400

    LexusBrian400 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2010
    Messages:
    699
    Likes Received:
    154
    I'm pretty sure that is limited on verizons side. I thought about that also. If you feel like testing/reporting, i'll give u credit in the post.
     
  21. WishinItWas

    WishinItWas Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010
    Messages:
    167
    Likes Received:
    29
    EDIT: I had someone on AT&T txt me over 160char (I sent them one too) and it split into 2 sms on my and theirs even with the split option disable in handcent.... The text I sent to a VZW customer had the same results .....it was worth a shot


    I changed the ro.telephony.sms_segment_size=160 to 200 saved and rebooted. I don't think it had an effect but its touch to figure out how to test this.

    Handcent still had a 160/160 counter when typing up a text, after i reached 160 it switched to 153/153 (2) like it usually dose, I disabled the "split 160" settings in Handcent and when i sent the message it displayed as one text bubble (I sent 200 characters).

    I dont know if this is just because i disable the split option. If anyone cares to add any ideas/input feel free. Im going to leave the setting modified just because its working fine at the moment
     
  22. LexusBrian400

    LexusBrian400 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2010
    Messages:
    699
    Likes Received:
    154
    You need to try and test it with someone thats on verizon, and someone thats not on verizon before I would recommend putting this in for good. :) Thanks so far though.
     
  23. WishinItWas

    WishinItWas Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010
    Messages:
    167
    Likes Received:
    29
    See my Edit above your post... no go :(
     
  24. LexusBrian400

    LexusBrian400 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2010
    Messages:
    699
    Likes Received:
    154
    Yeah it was def worth a shot. Thanks for trying!
     
  25. cashmonkey

    cashmonkey Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    3
    Well here are my results. Droid X 2.2 Leak using update.zip (bloatware removed manually)

    Before: had only the stagefright mod for Market to work


    [​IMG]



    After: Using your build.prop without the Density change


    [​IMG]
     

Share This Page

Loading...