Moment Only Rings 1/2 of Incoming Calls If Lucky? WTF!?Support


Last Updated:

  1. sinjinkarch

    sinjinkarch Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    1
    I love my Moment (1.5 Firmware S:M900.8.OS.CL14)...despite all the glitches. Put up with Airplane Mode problem. Put up with slow processor. Put up with old texts popping up in notification bar after I have read them weeks ago. Put up with not recognizing USB every time.

    But I can't continue to have my phone ring only half the time it's called. Yes, I have checked all my settings multiple times. Ringer is turned on and full volume. The number calling me hasn't been set to "send to voicemail" or "Ignore" or anything of the sort.

    My wife can call me at 2:55pm from her Blackberry (same service provider), and my Moment won't even ring. Goes straight to voice mail. She can call back at 2:56pm and my phone rings as normal.

    I have ran tests by calling from my work phone to my Moment with the same results. One time, it rings like it should. The next...straight to voicemail. Just tested it again while typing...STRAIGHT TO VOICEMAIL (no ring at all). &*^!

    Some tests have been completed while I am using a market app....others the phone had nothing running at all. Sometimes the call with interrupt the app I am in....other times, no ring at all.

    I made the jump to a better phone (Moment) back in January and decided to ditch the home phone line. How good is the Moment when it won't even function properly as a phone?

    HELP! Not receiving calls is really getting frustrating for all those involved. Anyone else have this problem?

    Thank you for your concerned and insightful responses.
     

    Advertisement
    ovrrdrive likes this.
  2. dibba

    dibba Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2010
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    6
    What's the airplane mode problem you're talking about?

    Mine rings all the time it's called, as far as I know anyway. May be obvious, but you do have a strong signal right?

    And while you're at it, why don't you upgrade to 2.1, it really made a BIG difference to me on battery life!
     
  3. kiddk1

    kiddk1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    Messages:
    363
    Likes Received:
    15
    I was just going to ask, why are you still on 1.5? My moment rings but after 3-4 rings on the callers end.
     
  4. mrmojoz

    mrmojoz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2010
    Messages:
    591
    Likes Received:
    63
    I'm more concerned about someone still running 1.5 than I am about your situation. Also, straight to voice mail usually points to your phone not having good connectivity to the cell network which can be caused by multiple things.
     
  5. dntesinfrno

    dntesinfrno Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    Messages:
    376
    Likes Received:
    71
    Sounds to me like a faulty device, take it back to sprint to swap with a new one
     
  6. sinjinkarch

    sinjinkarch Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    1
    Without rooting my phone....is the 2.1 update officially out yet. The last update, an update popped up on my phone. It hasn't done that yet.

    All the bugs I have heard from people on the forums with 2.1 has made me hesitate to updating.
     
  7. Keybeeetsss

    Keybeeetsss Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    459
    Likes Received:
    48
    It has been officially out for well over a month & a half or so...
     
  8. mrmojoz

    mrmojoz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2010
    Messages:
    591
    Likes Received:
    63
    Joke post?
     
  9. sinjinkarch

    sinjinkarch Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    1
    Not a joke at all.

    Maybe I missed something on the update. When I go into Settings; About Phone, System Updates....

    Update Android = Already up to date
    Update PRL = updated
    Update Profile = says updating data for about 1 minute, then goes back to the system updates screen
    Update Firmware = Checking for System Update, Please Wait = "No software update is available at this time. Your current software is up to date."

    Yet...my Firmware Version is clearly listed as 1.5. So....what did I miss?
     
  10. Keybeeetsss

    Keybeeetsss Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    459
    Likes Received:
    48
    The update isn't OTA...
     
  11. ovrrdrive

    ovrrdrive Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    1,215
    Likes Received:
    389
    You have to download the update tool from sprint that has the 2.1 rom in it and follow the instructions. It's safe, it's easy, and by using the official tool if by chance you screw up the phone (almost impossible) they'll give you a new one.

    Sprint Software Downloads - Smartphones - Samsung Moment with Google

    Btw, if everyone that asked for help gave the info you did in the first sentence this place would be so much less frustrating. Thanks.
     
    sinjinkarch likes this.

Share This Page

Loading...