More noob questionsSupport

Last Updated:

1. rubthemtogether

rubthemtogether New Member This Topic's Starter

Hi everyone. I've just recently got a Desire Z, and I'm wondering if you can answer some of my questions.

I'm going to buy a backup battery. Do I need to use the same one? Does anyone know a good UK-based place to buy it from?

I can't seem to find a widget to turn 3G on and off, am I missing something?

Some apps and the home screen only rotate to landscape when I pull out my...keyboard. Is there a way to get them to rotate when I just turn the phone?

Apologies if these are obvious questions, I'm new to all this. Thanks in advance

Advertisement
  2. meadway

meadway Member

Everyone's a newbie with the Z.

I've used batteries-man.co.uk in the past. Haven't looked myself as I don't want to remove the Z battery do get the part no, but they might be worth a try.

I've found the display sometimes doesn't move into landscape unless the keyboard is deployed. I'm keeping a note of mini-bugs to pass to HTC next week some time.

The phone will work with whatever it can find: GSM, EDGE, 3G, whatever.

HTC's support people are extremely helpful in my experience; they got me set up wirelessly syncing my Outlook calendar, for instance. Don't be frightened to contact them.

Have you looked at the full manual? It's on the HTC website and on the Z. Just fire up the Adobe reader and hit the PDF tab.

HTH
    John

3. Menddles

Menddles Guest

For the replacement battery you can try play.com? I think the "Genuine" batteries are made by HTC, but do some more research into that because I'm not too sure. I'm always feel a bit weird about buying 3rd party batteries.

To get a 3G widget on your home screen go to Add Widget>Settings>Mobile Network.

As for how to rotate the home screen....I haven't got a clue and would like to know myself lol.

4. Stuntman

Stuntman Well-Known Member